We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearly Gates to Hell in four days!”
Review of North Cape

North Cape
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pearly Gates to Hell in four days!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just got back from a 16 day coach holiday with Leger Silver Service Holidays, which included a stayover in the Rica Hotel in Honninsvag, from where we watched the Midnight Sun at the North Cape - spectacular! We had a free day in this city - yes, it is the most northerly and smallest city in Norway! No cathedral but the church is well worth a visit. Come coffee time we found a newly opened cafe called Perleporten (Pearly Gates), situated on the main street with views over the harbour, and run by a friendly husband and wife team who as usual in Norway, spoke excellent English. Freshly made cakes, etc and as many cups of coffee as you like for the price of one (a definite advantage in highly priced Norway). Internet facilities, and down below is Erica from America with her art and craft shop - well worth a visit. Four days later we were in Hell. Nothing to do with the holiday, but a little railway junction in Norway, with the Rica hotel there an excellent place to stay. Overall, a wonderful coach holiday and well worth the cost. However, quite tiring, but scenery and places visited couldn't be bettered, and throughout all the hotels were excellent and included evening meals - another cost consideration whilst in Norway. Most entrances and all road tolls and ferries included in the cost of the holiday. Optional trips if you wished them. Drivers Barny and Andy were the icing on the cake.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Honsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    174
    47
    23
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palatka, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Travel to the ends of the earth”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Sailed with Hurtigruten from Kirkenes south to Bergen in May. Norway has a stark beauty. One icy, rocky mountain after another. We took the excursion to the North Cape on the bus. They have arranged for a snow plow to assist the buses make the last part of the ascent to the Cape. The Cape itself is windswept and even in May was pretty chilly. There is an excellent visitor center with some interesting exhibits. I was stunned to find a small museum honoring the visit of King Chulalongkorn of Thailand, one of the first tourists to visit North Cape (he was the prince in the story of Anna and the King). We also were able to see many reindeer and visit a Sami house. A great trip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jce1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit with a motor home, but expensive road tolls”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We rented a motor home from http://bobilportal.no and drove from Stavanger to the North Cape.
Must be one of the worlds great drives for camers and rv`s. Buetiful views all the way but the road toll and ferries can get expencive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank brentmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Expectations Fulfilled”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I visted the North Cape in February 2012 and booked with Hurtigruten. I'm not really sure what the other reviewers expected however Norway is very remote and what you see is what you get! Unspoilt beauty and peace and quiet!! Not a Starbucks or McDonalds in sight. That in itself is a bonus. It was busy when we first arrived as everybody made a beeline for the globe, however we just stood back and enjoyed the big view until everybody had taken their photo's and moved on. OK geographically it isn't the most northerly point of Europe, however it is the most northerly point that you can walk on! That's good enough for me. The visitor centre was warm and welcoming and the film was the correct way up when we saw it. I have to say that I was glad to have visited in the snow.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Chanksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Winter visit. Splendid and not too difficult”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

You may visit North Cape mid-winter. As I did on February 19th 2012. Made I flight by Finnair to Ivalo and went by rental car to the northcape: around 450km. I did it with a cheap car, VW Golf 1.2 (Hertz: 80 euro a day, unlimited km). All rental cars in Northern Finland are equiped with spikes. It take around 6 hours driving time and you will pass a splendid landscape with terrific views. On my way to the North Cape I had a kind of snowstorm. On the way back I had splendid sunny weather.
The last part to the cape you will need to join a convoy. It leaves at 11.30 and 12.30 from Skarsvag. I stayed one night near the North Cape in a cheap cabin (www.northcapecabins.no, 450 NOK or around 50 euro).
You will have to pass Northcapetunnelen (2x 145 NOK) and Nortcape will cost you around 235 NOK.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Cape also viewed

Honningsvag, Nordkapp Municipality
Nordkapp Municipality, Finnmark
 
Nordkapp Municipality, Finnmark
 

Been to North Cape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing