We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, smart and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern, smart and clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed for one night. The personnel were nice and helpful, the rooms were very modern and clean and the breakfast was fresh and very good to be served at a "hostel". Not as many choices as in a big hotel, but still, it is really good. Also it has a really good location, and also parking for only 20KR per night, close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorEgilFjalestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    58
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
18
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is one of several Norwegian hostels that also provide good hotel-level accommodation (private room with bath and breakfast). Very helpful staff. Located in the heart of town in the old railway station. Pretty good value.
On the downside, the doors close at 10pm so if you're arriving later you should call, and know the backup plan that the hotel uses (they leave a key at the hotel across the plaza).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNextHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed three nights here would only stay one max. Room is large but badly decorated with thin curtains and awful pictures promoting the Olympic stadium. Bathroom smelt and the room wasn't cleaned once in three days. Staff nice and helpful. Handy location but my room faced onto the railway so I was woken up by the trains.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzannedublin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was traveling alone and put into a 2 beds room even though I had booked a 4 beds. I was not very happy about that the first night, being not very comfortable with spending the night with only 1 other person. The following two nights, I got the room to myself which I think compensated for getting a different room that the one I had booked. The room itself was clean and quite nice for a hostel. It looked more like a 2-star hotel than a hostel so I was pleasantly surprised. However, the bathroom had a terrible stench (it smelled like sewers). Additionally, the room did not have lockers so I had to carry my valuables with me whenever I left the room (as a precaution. I doubt anything would have happened but I prefer having access to a locker when staying in a hostel). The location was very convenient (inside the train station). I could hear the trains and the buses passing but I already knew that when I reserved the bed. Breakfast was very cheap (only 40 NOK!) and slightly better than most hostels.
The kitchen was also clean (after having been cleaned that is) and didn't seem to be used much. However, I did not like the atmosphere of the hostel. I was expecting a hostel feeling (warm, friendly and inviting especially since I was traveling alone) and was greeted with a cold hotel experience. Thankfully I had a TV in my room.
Overall, the location is excellent and my experience would've been better if I was traveling with other people. The bathroom smell was horrible but the room was good. I would recommend it to people traveling in groups.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationtriptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hostel IS the train-station, so you don't need to go far from the train for your hostel! I had a single room and even though my next neightbour was the train, it wasn't as annoying as I would expect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobVoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

A super well renovated hostel in the heart of the town. You can walk to the museum, do lots of shopping and even go to the Olympic Park. The place is quiet. There's a pretty restaurant-cafeteria and a small convenience store on the first step of the hostel. You can also take, the train and the bus right there, this is the Station, so you don't have to walk miles with your backpack. A bit expensive but this is Norway!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabineDumais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Great stay. So convenient and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Free wifi and basic but comfortable rooms. Good night sleep. Arrived on the train and it was so easy just to go straight into the hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lillehammer hotels
0.5 mi away
Lillehammer Hotel
Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Breiseth
First Hotel Breiseth
#5 of 8 in Lillehammer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
#8 of 8 in Lillehammer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel

Property: Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel
Address: Jernbanetorget 2, Lillehammer 2609, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lillehammer Hostel is located at the bus- and train station (above the station) in the centre of Lillehammer. The shopping street, Storgata, is only 100 meters from the hostel, and the area also offers a wide choice of cafés and restaurants. Most of the sights in Lillehammer are within walking distance. The hostel offers modern facilities and an informal atmosphere. All rooms have en-suite facilities, TV and Wi-Fi. We offer free parking and self-catering kitchen. Breakfast buffet, bed linen and towels are included in the overnight price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing