We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location-Great breakfast”
Review of Molla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Molla Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location-Great breakfast”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed in Lillehammer for one night and wished I could have stayed longer. Flew into Oslo and then drove to Lillehammer, 2 1/4 hour drive. Slept off the jet lag and then went exploring. We did not realize how close we were to main shopping areas and the Olympic Stadium. Everything is within walking distance in Lillehammer, it's a very quaint town. The Egon restaurant is connected to the hotel and it is top notch. The continental breakfast is excellent, hot and cold items. The hotel has a a top floor bar which overlooks the town. We happened to be there when the town opened the dam and released water into the river, the town was packed with people to watch. It was amazing! We could here the water racing down the river while in our room, it was so relaxing. The room was perfect, stay at Hotel Molla, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room where you can hear the water in the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcscbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    52
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
33
35
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stay only 1 night in this hotel. We were 3 (2 adults and 1 girl) and we got tiny room(but relatively expansive), with extremely limited place. Service was good, the hotel and the room were clean and wellcoming, breakfast was good.
Take into account, that you will pay for hotel's parking. Another option - to park on the street from 7 PM till 9 AM for free.
Generally, we were not so impressed by the hotel, it's just OK.But Lillehammer is very nice town with good ethnographic museum.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank grenadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Great service! And when our friends overslept, they made us reserve breakfast for them:)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamarbolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We were ten people at a work seminar. Was met with freshly made rolls and coffee / tea and got fresh fruit in the breaks. The meals took place in the very charming restaurant Egon. The first day we got served a big portion of club sandwich with strawberry cake for dessert. The second day we had pizzabuffét and ice. Both very good! The breakfast was everything you needed. The employees could also recommend good restaurants in the city, and reserved a table for us. The sky bar on the top floor is worth a visit - fantastic view!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisbethW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The room was a fair size and quiet. The motel is on the edge of town so you are a short walk from everything. The restuarant is actually an Egon which is attached. Good view from the top floor bar.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Reserved a single room. The single bed was really narrow. They were kind enough to move me to the room next door with a double bed without any charge the next day. The hotel is one block from the downtown square. Breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was good. There was a fee for parking. There is really not very much to do in Lillehammer.
I visited the Maihaugen Open Air Museum which was open but had not started the summer program.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fullprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Regarding to the fact that this hotel is an upgraded watermill, it is a perfect choice for a weekend or even more. The old watermill gave it's place to a modern, cosy hotel during the Winter Olympic Games 1994 in Lillehammer. They have kept everything that reminds the past of the mill. Even the stones that were used to smash the wheat are now part of the decoration.
Really friendly and helpful staff, cosy and clean rooms, nice facilities. Free parking (although a bit smaller than expected), nice restaurant and perfect bar at the top of it.
Totally recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XriLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lillehammer hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
0.5 mi away
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lillehammer
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
#8 of 8 in Lillehammer
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HI Lillehammer -Stasjonen Hotel
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Breiseth
First Hotel Breiseth
#4 of 8 in Lillehammer
315 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molla Hotel

Property: Molla Hotel
Address: Elvegata 12, Lillehammer 2609, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Molla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a complete restoration and facelift the historic Lillehammer mill house has been transformed into one of the world’s most unusual hotels! Mølla Hotel has 58 rooms and conference facilities for 60 persons.Staying at Mølla Hotel, you are surrounded by the original architecture and machinery of the historic mill – along with photographs and memorabilia from 1994 Lillehammer Winter Olympics. It’s an unforgettable experience!Mølla Hotel is located in the heart of Lillehammer, just steps away from Lillehammer’s lively "Gågata" and not far from Maihaugen Museum and Bjerkebæk, Sigrid Undset's home. Skiing and family fun are just 15 km away in Hafjell Ski Arena and Hunderfossen Family Park.High atop the grain silo you'll find our bar – the Toppen Bar – with a fantastic view of the city. And in the mill’s old grinding house from 1863 – our restaurant, Egon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Molla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Lillehammer
Lillehammer Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing