We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Norwegian themed amusement park -- a bit quirky but super fun in a beautiful setting

Very Norwegian amusement park with lots of quirky things but a huge day of fun. The amusement... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2022
JamesJOceanside_CA
,
Oceanside, California
Ver cute park

Very cute park, although there are very limited options for teens. Nevertheless, i recommend going... read more

Reviewed August 20, 2022
Lord_Jade
,
Tel Aviv, Israel
via mobile
Read all 926 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lillehammer
from $777.73
More Info
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveler rating
415
318
138
36
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
415
318
138
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amusement park fairy tale family park beautiful surroundings lots of fun pleasant surprise super fun troll age attractions theme movie summer minus stories school
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 926 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2020 via mobile

Most importantly the children had lots of fun, but from a parent's point of view I'd like to emphasize wonderful and calm surroundings, tasty and healthy food and nice places to sit down and lunch.

Yes, you have to wait in lines and food is not cheap - like in any other popular theme park wherever. Forget about it and enjoy spending time with your kids. And go before they get too old!

Date of experience: July 2020
3  Thank elRolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 26, 2020

This was our second time at Hunderfossen Winter Park. It was an absolutely magical experience and so worth a visit. Each year an incredible ice cathedral is built from scratch, containing ice pews and sculptures, complete with accommodation and a bar serving drinks in ice beakers. It is utterly mesmerising! In the park, there are numerous snow-based activities for kids and adults alike, including sledging and tobogganing. There are skidoos and small cars for younger children, a climbing wall, outdoor musical shows, 4D cinema, a Troll Drop indoor ride, a ride through the castle depicting Norwegian folklore. There are also characters mingling with the guests, in costume. There is just so much to do it completely fills the 2.5 hours. There's a really entertaining fireworks show at the end of the evening. Going to Hunderfossen fits in perfectly as an evening treat after a day of skiing. I had imagined when we first went that it would be crowded, but there is so much to do that we hardly had to queue for anything. It really is an enchanting atmosphere and a unique experience.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank N9790LGcarolineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

Quite interesting park for the kids. The shows are ok. But be aware that you need to pay for parking. And the food are quite expensive at the park. Almost Nok 700 for burger, fries and coke for 2 adults and 2 kids.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Tonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 24, 2019 via mobile

We went here with our (younger) kids and they had a really good time. The park is small to medium-sized and in noway can compete with the larger amusement parks in Europe. If you are expecting an ‘Efteling’ or Disney land, it is not. Not in terms of rides or quality of the rides

But it has a lot of fun stuff to do. Especially for younger kids. With short lines it was easy to go from place to place. And with things being quick and lighthearted its just a nice place to be.

While really recommending this park if you have kids between 6 and 10.. Some tips and things we noticed:
- Rides don’t just have a min height, some of a max as well. Which caused our eldest, who is also tall for her age to not get into all rides. It seemed arbitrary, mainly to keep ‘older kids’ out. The staff was flexible in most cases so she did get in.
- troll drop is more ‘scary’ then you think for small kids. Not the actual drop, which is totally underwhelming. But the walk to it has some more haunted house like scares... Cheap jumps scares. Our youngest cried being so scared due to one.
- Most is in Norwegian and while with the fairytale ride you can ask it to be in English or German (we did, but they forgot), for small kids who don’t speak the languages its a bit boring. Esp as the puppets don’t move. We made up our own stories. In the tractor ride the animations where funny enough for the Norwegian language not to matter.
- They have a lot of what seems sponsored rides: Shell, Volvo, Mercedes, etc.. The tractor ride seemed like a farm animal food commercial not being able to understand Norwegian ;)
- Lots of car driving rides (which our kids love)
- items other (at least Dutch) parks charge additional money for like a shooting gallery and remote controlled cars are all free (sadly many where broken).
- nice vibe. Friendly staff. Lots to do.
- rollercoaster and wild water ride more relaxed and as such suited for smaller kids then with other amusement-parks.

—-> at the end if august not always open! Despite trip advisor listing it as open !! Check the real website!! <—-

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank aquispel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

Like other reviewers says, we felt like the prices was too high for entering the park, especially for adults. I didn't use any of the attractions, and my husband took two trips with the kids. You should be able to choose if you want to use the attractions or not. This is a park for the smaller kids. We have kids on 4, 7 and 12, and the smaller kids had the most fun. Actually, around 7 is a perfect age: you know the fairy tales and you can do most of the rides by your self. Bring water in bottles, and some snacks. We brought our own food for lunch, and bought pizza in the park for dinner.
The park is big and open, which is lovely - it never feels crowded (other than in the lines). We visited a weekend in July, high season, and it never felt crowded. And the surroundings are really beautiful! They have managed to get a fairy tale-feeling everywhere with beautiful views to Hafjell mountains. You can go there by train, they have their own train station. We bought a two day-ticket, and we really needed two days to be able to try all the attractions. The pool area was too crowded for us, we tried it the first day, but felt I lost control because the area was too small for all the kids and adults that were in the area. The kids didn't enjoy themselves either, it just got too crowded too enjoy.
We will definitely come back again, both the grandparents and the kids had two lovely days at this park, and we really recommend it to everyone with smaller kids!

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank hanned2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews