We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We just checked in. Unlike our hotels in voss and Laerdal where everyone from reception to kitchen were gracious and helpful, in this hotel they are lazy to even care for customers. They are just adamant that since it's a sunday tomorrow they take it slow even at the expense of paying clients!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Maan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 321 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband & I came for 3 nights to Lilliehammer to visit an old friend, we chose the Rica Victoria Hotel after reading reports on Tripadvisor.
This hotel is situated smack bang centre of this very small town, it is close to Train station, shops & restaurants, everything is within easy walking distance.
The hotel is very welcoming, staff are friendly, it's warm, and easy to get around, our bed was beautiful & clean & we chose our own pillows which was really nice, we had breakfast every morning of which there was a wide variety and lots of choice, food was always nice, restaurant was spacious with large windows so we could eat snugly and warm inside watching the beautiful snow fall outside.
We will return to this hotel without hesitation.
Thank you very much Trip advisor for guiding us to this hotel and thank you Rica Victoria for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladyjmacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I understand why the hotel gets a range of reviews but in my experience the location is excellent with free parking and the largest choice for breakfast you will see almost anywhere. I had a nice room on the front which was very modern and spacious. My friends room however, was smaller, a little dated and nowhere near as nice as mine...hence some of the negative reviews I think of the rooms. Staff very helpful and friendly...

Room Tip: Get a room on the front of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newboldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited in mid December for a couple of days of Nordic snow based fun and found the hotel to be in a good central position for the town, bars and restaurants as well as the activities we accessed by coach. The breakfast room was open and spacious and the hotel even bought two new toasters and modified the breakfast menu to support the choice of the group. The bedrooms were at the slightly better level of what one expects in a ski resort. The bar in the hotel stayed open as was needed by the group - although it is undoubtedly true to say that the prices were unexpectedly high. The staff were also generally helpful. It is a little strange for door to open outwards onto the corridors, but this is just unusual for the British and made no difference.

Room Tip: Try for anything above a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arcadian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from16th to 18th December. Excellent location near the main shopping area and close to the railway station, a 5 minute walk as taxis are expensive here.
Good size rooms although a little dated with a bathroom heater which looked as though it was a museum piece! Oddly the room doors open outwards into the corridor so you have to be careful not to hit anyone walking along the corridor with your door. Good breakfast with a good choice and very good waiter/waitress service. Staff were exceptionally friendly and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brufsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night, rooms were very spacious and the beds were separated not together like most other hotels I had been in. The rooms had everything we needed, luckily there was a big tourist group in so they were having dinner that evening - normally not on a Sunday. Had a buffet dinner which was reasonably priced and the next morning the breakfast was fantastic - everything I could have wished for and more (the best for the whole trip)! Right in the heart of town, close to the railway station - about 100 metres away. The staff were cordial, the rooms neat and tidy and maintenance/ repairs were readily addressed - noted by a guy coming to fix something in my room that I hadn't even asked for to be fixed! The atmosphere of the hotel was very nice and the foyer spacious.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I recently stayed here for a week when in town for work at the hospital, and while it was ok during the week, I was not impressed with the weekend nights. After finishing a long shift on Friday, I came back to a big party on my floor. I used to love the dorm parties as a student, and this was exactly the same, except that the people were grown up men, and I was there for work and could't escape. I asked for another room, but the front desk did a "computer says no" and told me the hotel was fully booked. The pre party went on for a couple hours, and at 3am, the boys came back and the afterparty started. I called the front desk twice, still it took until 5am until it got more quiet.

The rooms are dated and it takes a few minutes before there is hot water in the shower in the mornings.

On the flip side, the breakfast is excellent, and the waiters are superb. I was also impressed by how well they put up with the party people that kept asking for beer instead of coffee during breakfast.

To sum up, this hotel was ok during the week, but would not consider it if coming back on a weekend (unless looking to sing, dance and party all night long!)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank jones0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lillehammer hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
0.2 mi away
HI Lillehammer -Stasjonen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Breiseth
First Hotel Breiseth
#5 of 8 in Lillehammer
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Molla Hotel
Molla Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lillehammer
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Victoria Lillehammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Victoria Lillehammer

Address: Storgata 84 B | Nymosvingen 13, Lillehammer 2609, Norway (Formerly Rica Victoria Hotel Lillehammer)
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range: $113 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Victoria Lillehammer 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Victoria is centrally located in the Olympic town of Lillehammer on the main pedestrian street within walking distance to the bus and train station. Our restaurant Victoriastuen serves a generous breakfast buffet. We have well-equipped conference facilities that can host small meetings or large conferences for up to 200 participants. Free outdoor parking is available and our fitness facilities help you stay in shape. As a guest you have access to free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Victoria Lillehammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Victoria Hotel Lillehammer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing