We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service and nice athmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Friendly service and nice athmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is an older building right in the middle of the town - just a half of a block from the pedestrian zone. The building is tastefully and finely maintained though and feels all modern inside. Friendly reception.
The room is technically speaking a three star room. Basic bed which is a bit too soft, an old tv, bathroom basic as well. However everything is again well maintained and clean.
There's a good feeling in this hotel.
Our window faced to the back yard parking lot. On the other side of that there's a Norwegian Post's truck point. They started their noisy work with the trucks at 5am. While sleeping our window open the noise disturbed me. Though my wife did not find that an issue at all and slept well.

Room Tip: Select a room on the street side where the main entrance is. On the other side, if you have light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaatinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your very good and detailed review. We are sorry you did not sleep so good in the morning, but still glad that your wife did.
Next time on Lillehammer - we will take even a bit better care of you too :-)
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    204
    50
    16
    10
See reviews for
119
186
28
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here on numerous occasions with my wife and two small children. Always happy with the service and the receptionists are constantly keen on providing good and valuable help and advice. The Choice franchise is known for its food, and this hotel makes no exception. A huge plus is the evening supper from 6pm-9pm, which is a great way to finish a long day at Hunderfossen when the children are tired and hungry. A big variety of the meals is also a huge plus.

Would easily recommend this hotel to a friend or a family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jorgenjevne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very very much for giving us such a good review. It is very nice to hear that we could satisfye the whole family.
You are all very much welcome back, on your next visit to Lillehammer.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here with a large group and was surprised at how good the hotel was. The room was a good size with a spotless bathroom. I was glad to have the blackout curtains due to the long period of daylight at this time of year. An ironing board was also provided in the room.

The free evening buffet was a nice surprise and more than adequate, esp if you have had a good lunch. The reception will serve beer for consumption in the small library. Free tea and coffee are available by the reception (saving on the need for kettles in the room).

All in all would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us such a good review. It was very nice of you to use of your time to give us feedback on our stay.
You are all very welcome back at your next visit to Lillehammer.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, gm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel has an evening buffet that had a nice spread of food including hotdogs, different kinds of rice, vegetables, salad, bread and more. They sold wine and beer. Breakfast was also a nice spread of food with fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, sausage, and a griddle to cook your own eggs how you like, a coffee machine that made cappuccino, juices, milk, etc...
The room was small but nice and new, and had a mini-fridge, ironing board and iron, flat screen TV, wireless internet that worked well, blowdryer and soap and shampoo in the bathroom. No clock. We parked on the street out front and that was free between the hours of 3pm and 9am. If you can't park there they have a parking garage that they charge you for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberries4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to give us such a positive response. We are very happy when we see that our guests appreciate our complimentary evening buffet.
Hoping to welcome you back sometime and wishing you a pleasent summer.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM
CCHHammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion Collection Hammer Hotel the first weekend in April. We were celebrating my parent in laws 2 x 90 aniversary so we stayed together with children, children in law and grandchildren. We have stayed at this hotel several times and as usual the stay was very nice. The room are adequat, but the staff i terrific. Especially Aase at the reception desk. The afternoon buffet is nice and the breakfast is very good. We love the atmosphere at this hotel and will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel. We stayed at room nr 333 and there was some noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bisibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Than you very much for giving us such a warm and positive response. I will also, on behalf of Åse, thank you very much.
She is one of our very dedicated employees and we are very proud to have such employees.
Hoping to see you all again sometime.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM
CCHHammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Not a machine, but rather a familydriven style with outstanding personell.
Service in Norway is rare, but this hotel was a big chocker, finding ourselves in an half empty hotel in Lillehammer at Easter?
They might suffer from being a chain lodge but nothing reminds of it.
Prices are low, it includes a great breakfast buffet, waffles for lunch and even a light dinner!
We were positively surprised and will recommend this to anyone:)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larsgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so very much for giving us such a positive review.
We enjoyed having you and are very pleased to find that you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your family or friends some other time.

Your sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, General Manager
CCHHammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Notts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed for two nights in this hotel which is in the centre of Lillehammer. It is true to say that the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. However, the bathrooms are basic and the restaurant was adequate. There is nor something that is recognisably a bar. Good for a short business stay - but that's all

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcadian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for giving us feed-back. We are trying to be the ultimate choice for business travellers, and wil continue to do so. Thanks to respons from travelers like you, we will continue to try to be better, and look into what we can do better.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM
CC Hotel Hammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lillehammer hotels
0.5 mi away
Lillehammer Hotel
Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel
7.0 mi away
Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
#8 of 8 in Lillehammer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Breiseth
First Hotel Breiseth
#5 of 8 in Lillehammer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
Address: Storgata 108B, Lillehammer 2615, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer: the best and most obvious choice for business travellers in Lillehammer. Our hotel comprises 142 rooms, offers indoor parking and is located in the heart of Lillehammer. We serve a delicious breakfast in an informal setting in the dining room. In addition we treat our guests to waffles in the afternoon and an evening buffet, all without any additional charge. Guests can also help themselves to coffee/tea and national newspapers. If you would like to exercise during your stay, we will provide you with a map showing the best routes for running or you can use our indoor compact gym on the 2.nd floor. The hotel has expanded and been renovated in 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Hammer
Clarion Lillehammer
Lillehammer Clarion
Clarion Collection Lillehammer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing