We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection on a plate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flein

Flein
Ranked #2,157 of 4,109 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Serviten Quarter
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection on a plate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Simply wonderful food, prepared with intelligence and wit. The spartan decor and the minimalist approach to service only serve to provide a stage for the headline act: Schmankerl par excellence

Helpful?
2 Thank seanpatten
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An absolute must for Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We tried this restaurant as it was close to the hotel we stayed in and the guide book recommended it as a good and inexpensive choice. We were not expecting much, but ended up being very pleasantly surprised. The setting is very hidden, just in the lycee francais grounds and the outdoor space is lined with trees and it had fairy lights all around, which gave it a really magical atmosphere. The food was clearly fresh and tasted amazing. We had excellent house wine which was around 2 euros a glass and was very easy drinking. The gentleman who served us was lovely and explained the menu to us in English. The pace wasnjust right and we couldn't believe our luck finding this place. Some of the other waiting staff did seem a bit miserable, but it didn't put us off or affect our night at all. They weren't rude, just not so smily/chatty! Would highly recommend if you appreciate good food and wine at very reasonable prices. We had a 2 and 3 course meal, 6 glasses of wine and bill was 65 euro including tip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Linzey0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Unfortunately we were treated in an extremely rude and agressive way by the waitress. That's really a pity because the garden is very nice and the food is quite good. Nevertheless, I will never go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

First of all, I'd like to point out that this is a wonderful place to hang out in downtown Vienna. They have a wonderful garden and the food is really nice, but when it comes to hospitality - this place is to avoid. We had a rude waitress, not a single friendly word came from her. Given the fact that we are used to the "famous" basically non-existing hospitality in Vienna's restaurants, we didn't expect too much, but this experience topped everything so far. The waitress not only ignored us and was unfriendly, she was actually rude, therefore my friends and I won't come back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patscherkofel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went to flein on our second night in Vienna as it was nearby to our hotel and it was a cold night so we didn't want to go far! I was little wary as the previous reviews on tripadvisor were mixed, however, we were pleasantly surprised! The waiter was welcoming and happy to translate the menu for us. I had a chicken dish with couscous and my brother had steak, both were very delicious! However, I think the menu changes often so that may not always be on offer! The service was fast and polite, and the prices weren't too bad... Our meal came to about €40 including drinks and starters. We would recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flein also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Flein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing