We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, large, cheap, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
GAL Apartments Vienna
Ranked #11 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
294 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Spacious, large, cheap, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I went to the GAL apartments for a hen (bachelorette) party. There were 11 of us and we had three apartments, one for five, one for four people and one for two people. Couldn't have chosen a better place. I received excellent service from the minute I booked it to the minute we left.

We arrived around midday and two of the apartments were ready which was great as they shouldn't have been until 2.00pm. We were given free bottles of prosecco by Nazed (hopefully spelt his name correctly) - just because we were on a party!

The apartments were decorated and kitted out to an excellent standard.

In the larger rooms there was a separate double bedroom with drawers and wardrobes. The beds were really comfortable having those memory foam mattresses. The other double bed was in the main living area along with a large sofa bed and another large wardrobe. Despite this you didn't feel like you were in a 'bedsit' - the room was very large so even with 11 people in it (as we were on one of the nights) you didn't feel like you were on top of eachother.

The kitchen was fully fitted out with everything you would need. The venue also leaves a bottle of wine, chocolate for you free of charge. There's a good sized fridge and the cooker is fine too. There were lots of glasses and cups and as there is a supermarket around the corner it's quite easy to stock up for what you need.

In the larger room the bathroom had a bath and a shower, the smaller room just a shower. There were plenty of towels for everyone and there was also a hairdryer.

The apartments were really good value - for 11 people for two nights it cost 628 euros. The people at the apartments also sorted out our taxi transfer from the airport which again for 11 people so two cars cost 69 euros.

Location wise you are literally 10 minutes walk from bars and restaurants and maybe 15 - 20 mins walk from all the main sights of Vienna. There is also a train station quite close by if you want to use the underground. You're just the other side of the river - and there's a fabulous 'beach' bar to spend an afternoon about 5 mins away.

Overall - a great place to stay and if I went back to Vienna I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were good so don't think there would be a specific tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    31
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed at this apartment of GAL ( Category A: one-bedroom apartment (Weintraubengasse 24, apt. 40, 1020 Vienna) June 2012. Originally, I booked another apartment of GAL on the web. Later on, I found out that it was not equipped with washer / dishwasher. (The photos on the web may be a bit misleading). Luckily, the manager was kind enough to let me change to the above mentioned one. It was fully equipped with both washer and dishwasher.

However, initially, they required me to walk to their main office to collect the key and then back to the apartment that was a bit more than 500 m away. It could be quite difficult for a traveller with heavy suitcase like me and without a car.

Upon request, the manager agreed to send a staff member to get a key to me at the apartment without the need of me walking to and fro. So, please be aware of this if you book the above mentioned apartment.

Apart from the above mentioned points, the apartment was brilliant. It was just about 3 minutes walk from metro. There was a supermarket just across the road. The apartment actually looked even better than what the photo shown. It was very new, spotlessly clean and tidy. The manager was also very helpful in preparing extra linen for the third person.

I have no complaint at all. It was a lovely stay and I will definitely recommend to any persons.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Silvia777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Other reviewers have said the same. asad could not be more helpful, apartment was just as described absolutely perfect for three of us. We had two friends join us in a second apartment and we were right next door to each other. The five of us could have breakfast together and even dinner one night. Location great, just near underground, two supermarkets near by, can't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leonemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We arrived very early from our Poland trip (at 6 - 7am) with hardly any sleep the night before and was completely exhausted on arrival in vienna.

Thankfully,the manager, Clemens was nice enough to allow us to check in as soon as we arrived, for which i was very grateful, especially when travelling with elderly parents.

We also booked two apartments and as one apartment was not available, we were upgraded to a bigger apartment immediately. That was good.

We didn't have any problems during our stay, though i did realise that the kitchen utensils available in both apartments are a little different.
but it was not a problem for us as we only made breakfast indoors and the kitchen/kitchenette are fairly well equipped.
Also washing machine is available in the bigger apartment but not in smaller category apartments.
.
Overall, the apartment is spacious, comfortable, clean and located within walking distance to a metro station.

Would definitely recommend it whether u are in Vienna for a short or long term stay !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcrossContinents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

Arrived from Prague, we parked outside to offload our luggage a GAL apartments and Azad came outside to greet us! He's a real swell guy and very helpful. Provided us all the necessary information to show us around. After that were left alone to be the locals.

Vienna is fantastic and a very modern, cosmopolitan city with quite a bit of diversity and atmosphere. I didn't know what to expect from Vienna, but it provided a better atmosphere and impression than Prague. I guess this has to do with it being more modern and tourist friendly.

So, if you are heading to Vienna and want a clean, efficient, comfy and affordable accommodation look no further. Its a great place to stay.

P.S. There is a nice supermarket just around the corner and across the river is tons and tons of cafes and restaurants. Walk a little further and you are in Stephansplatz (central shopping area). Also around the corner is the metro station very close by.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digi051669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

the apartment is well located and clean. the only inconvenience was toilet paper, there was lack of supply in the apartment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemadbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzellia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Me and my friends were staying in Vienna for the EPT there. We stumbled upon Gal Apartments by mistake and it was the best mistake ever!

The apartments are amazing! Simply amazing! Especially compared to the low price. A lot of space, even for 4 friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trilokHerzellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#25 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GAL Apartments Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GAL Apartments Vienna

Property: GAL Apartments Vienna
Address: Grosse Mohrengasse 29 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GAL Apartments Vienna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-quality 3-star vacation rentals and business apartments in the city center of Vienna!Our apartment rental service offers short and long term rental flats for demanding tourists and business travellers who desire high quality services.The rental apartments are located in walking distance to the center of Vienna with its most favorite sights and close to the world-famous Viennese parks Wiener Prater and Augarten.The comfortable setting of our holiday flats includes a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living and sleeping areas and Internet access included in the price. Being located in the Leopoldstadt, the second municipal district of Vienna and less than fifteen walking minutes from the city center, the history of our building starts back in 1848. Built in the architectural style of the Biedermeier period, a complete renovation took place 150 years later between 1998 and 1999 which resulted in a perfect combination of traditional Viennese architecture and modern functionality.Since the year 2000 the Gal family rents fully equipped apartments to tourists and business travellers. Our guests shall enjoy the calm and anonymity of a comfortable apartment while at the same time be assured of the affectionate service that only a family business can offer. Whether the ball season in spring, the famous Viennese festival in summer, international events and conferences in autumn or the harmonic Christmas period and new years eve in winter...GAL Apartments Vienna is Your Home in the Heart of Vienna in any season! Let the breathtaking city of Vienna, its hospitality and splendid cultural heritage capture and surprise you. Enjoy our cozy and exclusive apartments and be spoiled by our helpful and skilled staff. Experience yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GAL Apartments Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing