We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good”
Review of Hotel Berger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Berger
Ranked #90 of 117 Vienna B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for just one night, but it was not good. The facility is rather old and very different from what you can see on the pictures. The price was too high for the service, it is far from the center.Tha bathrooms were dirty. Does not worth for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

A group of is stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of March -early April.
We were attending a big event in Kahlenberg.
Our first morning there we asked if we could have breakfast before 6.30 and we were totally refused . We were told under no circumstances was breakfast being served before 6.30.
The hotel does not have a kettle in the room and i knew we would not have a meal till lunch time. We were told to stop at the garage on our way to the venue .!!
It says on the website that the owners value their personal service. I found this to absolutely not at all be the case. They did not seem to have any interest at all in us and 3 members of our party were told to leave the hotel due to a minor disagreement and this was most distressing for them considering their daughter was in a wheelchair, they were in a strange city and did not speak the language.. Luckily a kind taxi driver found them accommodation elsewhere but it was a frightening experience for them.
I was most disappointed as i had personally organised the accomodation for the group and did not expect this treatment.
The lift does not operate after 10 o clock at night which is important to know if one has any mobility issues..
There are very little eating establishments near the hotel and the hotel itself does not have a restaurant.

I have visited many hotels in my time and I have never come across the treatment we received in this hotel.
Because Vienna was very busy the week we were there, we had no choice but to stay. But I would never return to this hotel.
I think because of our experience at this hotel, I would be very slow to return to Vienna.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelberger, Inhaber at Hotel Berger, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Breakfast:

the reception is duty between 6:00 - 22:00 o´clock, it takes 30 minutes to prepare breakfast which is offered from us beginning at 6:30, Bread delivery is at 6:15...how should we offer it earlier?

- after we where asked when the breakfast starts and if we could offer it earlier (we explained why not) we where told that they will not come for it then. At 6:30 15 persons in white (sekt members) where looting the buffet and left a mess, spilled on the carpet floor and made them selves litte take away snacks . We had to replace the entire buffet.

Kettle: It is nowhere mentioned that we offer a Kettle at our hotel?! We also dont offer footmassages - is this the next complain? We offer hot and cold drinks at the hotel - she could have ordered a huge pot of tea for € 2,60 which is a bargain.

Wheelchair:

When the reservation was made, we informed the guests that our hotel is not suitable for wheelchairs. We where told that the wheelchair is not always necessary.So the room was booked. After ckeck-in the guests complained immediately about the room. We offered a higher category where it would have been easier for their doughter - the upgrade would have cost € 10,- more per night...they refused and didnt want to pay the price.

In those few days before we asked them to leave the hotel they terrorised the entire staff and made our lives difficult. That was the reason why we asked them to check-out.

When we did so i was cursed and threatened by the father of the girl in the wheelchair.

We informed the rest of the group and the other guest who where about to arrive about the situation and offered them eather to stay, if they still feel comfortable, or to cancel the room free of charge.

By the way: There are excellent heurigen and restaurants in the near surroundings they just should have asked for the way.

Since that incident this lady makes us a bad reputation wherever she can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Great hotel. Nice service. Friendly persons. There are some shops and eating places in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Showma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALXSNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hgdkzdzkdfjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sellact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,603 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,962 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berger

Address: Brunner Strasse 126, Vienna 1210, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berger 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Berger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing