We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opera Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Opera Suites
Ranked #4 of 114 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Location, location, location...This hotel is across the street from the Sacher Hotel and the Opera House. It is within walking distance to almost all attractions. While they hotel did not have a business center, they did have a computer for guest use - and it was free! The room was lovely, clean, well maintained, and very quiet. It also had a Nespresso coffee machine (with coffee) which was a great way to start the day. I cannot say enough good things about the staff, especially Marcus. He took great care in recommending restaurants, coached us through our first ride on the U-Bahn and told us to buy our tickets at the Tabac shop because they were cheaper than at the station and gave us insider tips and insights to enhance our stay and experience in Vienna. Note: I booked this hotel through Expedia and got an even better price than the Internet price by phoning their customer service number.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    81
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
66
122
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

The hotel is right on the main pedestrian shopping street and very close to museums, restaurants and other attractions. The hop on hop off bus is very convenient as well. Markus at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly and did his best to ensure our stay was a positive experience.

The room was spacious and nicely decorated and while in a busy area, it was generally quiet. We didn't try breakfast there as there were so many other choices nearby, but it was available.

We chose this hotel due to Trip Advisor reviews and as usual, the reviews were spot on. We highly recommend Opera Suites.

A great attraction "The House of Music" is very close to the hotel. It's good for kids and adults and we really enjoyed the evening we spent there. There are both interactive and educational exhibits. We each got a shot at virtually conducting the Vienna Symphony which was lots of fun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDL999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Location: could not ask for a better location, across from the Sacher hotel/Opera house, walking distance to most points of interest, plenty of restaurants, cafes, shopping

Room: nice size, nicely decorated, remote control climate control (ac/heating), super comfy bed with luxurious linens, small but modern bathroom with good shower, we had no view but you could pay more for a room with a view, has a nice flat screen tv but no satellite so no english channels, the free wi fi was very nice since we brought our netbook, there is a small kitchenette hidden in a closet that has a fridge, mini stove, sink, some plates, a coffee maker

Service/Staff: we didn't deal with them much as we were out during the times they are there but any interaction we did have was friendly and helpful (ie: they recommended some restaurants/directions, etc.)

Overall Value: excellent. Vienna accomodations can be quite pricey, this place offers fabulous comfort in a great location for half the price. If you don't mind not having a large lobby with 24 hour staff I highly recommend the opera suites. We would stay here again if we revisit vienna.

MISC. INFO AND TIPS

- there is a "billa" grocery store at a shopping centre just left of the hotel where you can get anything you want and store in your room fridge (we bought stuff for breakfast so we didn't have to buy it everyday from the hotel or a restaurant), you can also get wine/beer at the grocery stores at good prices

-there is a great restaurant called the Mozart Cafe just behind the sacher hotel (they are always open - breakfast/lunch/dinner and always high quality stuff and fantastic service

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGrrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

The Opera Suites Hotel is in an excellent location! It is right on a very busy pedestrian area full of shops and cafes, and isn't a far walk from many other sites. The price is very reasonable for the location. With all the noise and hustle and bustle outside, you couldn't really hear any of it in the room. I heard the occasional horn or clanking in my room when the windows were open.

The room was very clean and comfortable. I stayed 2 nights for a bit of vacation time after a buisiness trip and was in room 226 at the end of the hall on the 2nd (3rd) floor. The staff were very helpful and really care about making sure you are taken care of. The WiFi signal at that end is a little weak and would drop out every now and then, but it was fine for what I needed.

I don't have any cons about the hotel, but there are things to keep in mind if you stay here:
1. It can be a bit difficult to find because it is not a large hotel entrance. The easiest way to find it is to look for the street numbers on the buildings. Luckily for me, the taxi drive pointed me in the correct direction. As another person mentioned, the entrance can seem a bit "shady", but it's fine.
2. It's a small run hotel, so the reception desk is only open 8am to 6pm. You may be able to reach them on the phone at other times (I didn't try), but if you need something, catch them during those times. As an example for me, I was checking out to go to the airport at 6am, so I needed to checkout the night before and have a taxi reserved.
3. Breakfast does cost extra. I didn't have it, so I can't comment on how it was.
4. Similar to many other European hotels I have stayed in, you use a regular key for your room, not a key card. In some hotels you can check the key in when you leave and get it back when you return, so you don't have to carry it around with you. You can't do that at the Opera Suites because you will need the key to get into the building and the hotel after hours.
5. Not really about the hotel, but worth knowing, a taxi to the airport will be about 35-40 euros.

Overall, I had a very nice stay and would recommend staying at the Opera Suites Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anonymous97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

The Opera Suites was nicer than I expected. Three of us stayed in a room with a small kitchen and newly remodeled bathroom. The hotel is entirely non-smoking and very clean. The room had air conditioning. The rate was good; we booked through Expedia and prepaid our entire stay. The beds were very comfortable. I emailed the hotel before our trip and got prompt, accurate information from the staff by return email.
The location is perfect, a short walk from the Staatsoper, tram stops, and the underground. It is on Kaertner Strasse, a pedestrian shopping area. Although our windows overlooked the street, we couldn't hear the street noise with the windows closed; they must be windows with good soundproofing. The hotel is close to the Hapsburg palace complex and several museums.
Desk staff speak good English and were helpful. We had free wireless in the room. There was a laptop available in the hallway to be shared by the occupants of about six rooms, but I had a hard time getting used to the German keyboard.
The hotel is small, on the second and third floors of a building. The desk is open from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm. They serve breakfast for 5 euro, if you order it the day before. We never ordered breakfast while we were there.
If I go to Vienna again I will definitely stay here.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lizgabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

What a great find. Absolutely right in the middle of everything, a few steps from the Opera House, 5 minutes to St Stephens Square with lots of cafes restaurants and shopping right outside. The staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating, the rooms were beautifully furnished and immaculately clean. As and when we go back to Vienna we will stay here!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durdhamlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

We spent a most enjoyable short break in January snow in wonderful Vienna staying at the highly recommended Opera Suites. Located right in the central district above a jewellery / watch shop in the Kaerntner Strasse (Vienna’s Oxford Street) near the Opera House, the entrance is less than imposing and belies the standard of accommodation within.
A couple of floors up are the Opera Suites offering a generous size bedroom with highly equipped on-suite bathroom and all mod cons including kettle/coffee maker and even providing tea for Brits abroad like us. The bed was very comfortable and, unlike many other European hotels, we had plumptuous pillows. Sweets on the pillows and dressing gowns were added touches that you would normally find only in quality luxury hotels.
What was Vienna like in sub-zero temperatures? Very pretty in the snow but pretty cold. At minus 5 by day and minus 15 at night, we were glad of some layers to keep warm. But the Viennese do know how to keep out the cold. The hotel, cafes, even public transport are well-heated. And the coffee shops with their delicious and generously sized pastries supply the essential calories!
What were we doing there in the middle of winter you may ask? Well, it was to celebrate my sixtieth birthday, which coincides with Mozart’s. So we decided to head for Mozart city – Vienna has Mozart mugs, Café Mozart (recommended) around the corner from the hotel, Mostly Mozart shops on the Kaerntner Strasse, and of course Mozart concerts pretty much every day of the year.
So we went to see the Magic Flute, not at the Opera House, but at the Volksoper, which is the equivalent of the ENO. The standard at the Volksoper didn’t disappoint and was great value. We pre-booked best seats at 80 Euros in the front row of the balcony. The theatre is not so large that you need opera glasses, and from our position we had a very good view of both stage and orchestra. Afterwards, we had an evening snack in the Café Weimar round the corner, frequented by the musicians, and duly found the conductor and his entourage. Returning to our room, we were delighted and surprised to find a bottle of wine and chocolates left by Markus to round off a perfect day.
On the day of our return, we watched one of the ‘morning exercise’ sessions at the Spanish Riding School. Watching these beautiful horses and skilful riders within a palace, complete with huge chandeliers hanging from the ceiling, is a truly surreal experience! From the hotel we took the tube from Karlsplatz to Wien Mitte-Landstrasse to pick up the CAT express train back to the Airport. We had booked with Austrian Airlines (recommended) and found we could check in at the station before boarding the train.
When we next return to Vienna (I’m sure we’ll be back) we’ll definitely stay at the Opera Suites, offering the highest standards at an affordable price. Like other reviewers, we found Markus the proprietor very friendly, obliging and informative and just added to our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Suites

Property: Opera Suites
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 47, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opera Suites is ideally located in the heart of Vienna opposite the Vienna State Opera and Hotel Sacher on Kärntner Straße 47. All Rooms are designed with the guests comfort in mind and feature flat screen satellite TV, radio, direct dial phone, Minibar, Nespresso Coffee Machine, safe, central heating and air conditioning. The Apartments also feature kitchenettes. Our guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access in the rooms and the complimentary use of our guest laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Opera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing