We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pension Bosch
Ranked #96 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Hotel was not close to old town sights and a bit hard to find. It took about 20-30 minutes to get to on street car. The building is old, which I typically like, the room was adequate but not great. The beds were awful, thin mattress which was caved in & not comfortable. Bathroom was small and shower was cramped. Breakfast room was quaint while the breakfast was simple and OK, but not great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clogtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 257 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2010

Hotel: We've spent 4 nights in pension Bosch in september 2009. Pension is located in an old building in typical viennese apartment. Our room was very clean, spacious filled with old furniture: two big beds, a sofa, dressing table and wardrobe. The bathroom was "added" in the corner of our room with lower ceiling: very very small. Brekfast was average: typical continental. The biggest fault was that our towels, quite worn out, were not changed during our stay.

Location: is perfect if you travel by train. 10 minute walk from the SudBanhof and very close to Belveder Palace. Metro station was 5 minute walk- nice connection to the historical center.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_klein13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is not a pension for people with disabilities. It was a good value for your money, especially in view of the dollar to euro. Breakfast was reasonable and plentiful. The room was clean. The pension is a reasonably short walk from the underground. Frau Bosch was very helpful and hard working. If we were to visit Vienna again, we would stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanook780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed at Pension Bosch for 2 nights in early August 2009. A great location, in a quiet residential street, easily accessed from the airport, walking distance to Belvedere and only a few tram stops from the centre. It has been established by converting a number of apartments in a building shared with local families. There are a dozen steps from the street to the entrance – but a lift (elevator) from there.
Frau Bosch was kind and helpful although a little disorganised about our bookings. We arrived at 7:00 in the morning after a long flight and she let us into our room and invited us for breakfast (all without charge).
The room was clean and tidy and quite large by European standards, the beds were comfortable. There was a small fridge that could be locked and which we used as a safe. The bathroom was clean, but the shower was only hand held and was in a bathtub, with dangers of slipping on getting out, together with a wet floor.
Breakfast was served in a pleasant dining room. The coffee was excellent and the food was simple but adequate.
Payment is by cash (no credit cards). .
WiFi was available free on a secure network with access code provided on application.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed here twice in the last month and booked to go back again in June. The building is of the old Viennese design (parquet floors and high ceilings etc). Rooms are single, double and triple, some en-suite and others with shared shower/bath/toilet. All rooms seem to have at least a wash basin in them. Spotlessly clean everywhere. Good breakfast with a selection of meats, boiled eggs, bread, two cereals and six different jams etc. Coffee is served to the table at breakfast (8am to 10am) and it's strong so you'll be using most of the hot milk that comes with it. I've had no problems with Barbara, the owner or her dog. My first stay was in the big triple on the second floor and my last stay was in a single on the first floor with shared facilities both were 37 Euros in May. Owner speaks reasonable English. I can understand the "TV left on" or "light left on" mentality as she's in a business and does not want to be paying bills for nothing so later in the evening expect only night lights to be on in the halls. I walked to Schwarzenbergplatz (Russian soldier memorial) in 7 minutes. Lots of small restaurants and bars in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

From the website I thought that I would be staying in an old fashioned room with deep mahogany furniture. Instead it was dark brown chipboard straight from the 70s. I was disappointed with the room and the breakfast too, which was clearly done very cheaply.

I’m afraid that I couldn’t help but feel conned, as the room was nothing like what I was led to expect and the breakfast was clearly made with profit in mind rather than the guest. Unfortunately not worth what I paid. The review ‘Rooms good, cheap owner’ doesn’t surprise me either. Oh, and credit cards not accepted - cash only.

Likes
The room was clean

Dislikes
Think it’s quite profit-orientated
Bad value for money
No Internet

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jesse1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

The rooms are ok and also the location but an experience with miss Bosch puts the rating down. When i asked her to refill the soapdispencer in the bathroom, she came into the room and was shocked to see that the tv was on altough i wasn't watching at that moment, then she complaned that the light in the bathroom was on. She treated me like a child and as if i was staying there for free instead as a paying costumer and it isnt that cheap. I never heard of such a thing and as a tourist you stay only a short while in a hotelroom anyway so....
In the morning you could also hear het screaming at the help.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank straussHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#124 of 359 in Vienna
422 reviews
Landstraße
JUFA Hotel Wien City
JUFA Hotel Wien City
#67 of 359 in Vienna
824 reviews
Landstraße
Enziana Hotel Vienna
Enziana Hotel Vienna
#153 of 359 in Vienna
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
magdas HOTEL
magdas HOTEL
#79 of 359 in Vienna
314 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#39 of 359 in Vienna
757 reviews
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#36 of 359 in Vienna
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Bosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Bosch

Address: Keilgasse 13 | 1030 Wien, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#37 Business Hotel in Vienna
#52 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $86 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Bosch 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a Jugendstil house from the 19. Century in close proximity to the Botanical Gardens and the famous Belvedere Palace with its magnificent Barock garden. The city center, with some of Viennas most well known sights such as the state opera, the Burgtheater, museums, concert houses and the Ringstrasse, one of the most beautiful streets in the world, is reachable by foot in only 15 minutes. Every morning an extensive breakfast buffet awaits you in our comfortable Jugenstil breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pension Bosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosch Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing