We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Vienna
Post
Inbox
Search

“Unpleasant and costly experience”

Santos Wieden I Mexican Grill & Bar
Ranked #209 of 5,260 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Wieden
Description: Santos Mexican Grill & Bar stands for mexican cuisine with the spirit of the age and modern bar culture. We estimate the traditional mexican cuisine and merge it with culinary influences all over the world.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We walked for ages to find a Mexican restaurant and were very relieved on arrival as it looked nice. The nachos we got to share were fine. We ordered a bottle of wine and 2 vegan enchiladas. The enchiladas were below average and the wine was awful. We asked the waiter to taste the wine to make sure that it wasn’t bad at first, he said it was normal for Austrian wine to taste this way. Eventually, we resorted to ordering a bottle of Diet Coke to mix the wine with (as they do in the Basque Country), we were given ordinary coke. Eventually, the bill came to €70,00. Surprisingly this is the most expensive meal we’ve had in Vienna so far but also the worst meal we have had.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank sineadnichonail66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosII, Manager at Santos Wieden I Mexican Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sineadnichonail66,
thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the nachos!
In that regard, we are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the wine and the enchiladas and that your order of coke got mixed up. We can assure you that both, the quality of our service and the quality of our meals are very important to us. To be able to discuss this with our crew we would like to ask you to send us an email with more information about your stay and the time you vistited us to office@santos-bar.com.
All the best, the Santos-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Totally recommended! The food is really tasty and nicely presented, they have beautiful cocktails (micheladas are the best), the place is full of character and with a great atmosphere.
The staff is very efficient even if it is busy, specially the hostess, she was so kind and attentive!
We went without a reservation, so we had to wait for a table at the bar as the restaurant was so full, but still they made us feel really welcome and did everything they could to make our wait enjoyable.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank DanAl7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Went here during our weekend trip to Vienna! Food is great and atmosphere is perfect. Make sure you make a reservation for a Saturday night, because usually they are fully booked.

Would definitely go here again and order the Fajitas Supremas again :)

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Badpak020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

I ordered a Fajita with chicken and I received a plate of grilled onion and semi-raw colored peppers. There were only few micro pieces of chicken in the whole dish.
Also there were 3 tortillas in total.

Besides that it is a quite expensive place so I would have expected a little bit more attention to these basic details.

Not really recommended, unless you like raw pepper salad for 16 euros

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank Ajn9972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

It was a very busy period of the year. Christmas. We have visited our friends in Vienna together our 11month daughter. They proposed us this restaurant. And I can say, it was good choice. Even the place was very crowded they were very nice and friendly. We have to wait 15-20mins and there is a free table. Food 5stars. Cocktails 5stars (try any of them bravely). Service 5stars. Stongly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Tmarci1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santos Wieden I Mexican Grill & Bar also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Santos Wieden I Mexican Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing