We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austrian cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puerstner

Puerstner
Ranked #42 of 4,104 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Gastropub, German, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Inner City
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Austrian cuisine at its best”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Meal was really good, schnitzel was excellent and pretty big, service was quick and attentive. Very nice place to eat. Authenticly designed indoors (way too much to my taste) but has an outdoor option as well - street isn't crowdy so it'll be a pretty comfortoble. Recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lasgalletas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,147
    773
    174
    45
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Austrian style restaurant”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Restaurant Purstner was recommended by our hotel for good Austrian food and atmosphere. Waiters in lederhosen and decor in old wood and animal heads. The staff was very friendly. We made a reservation in the afternoon and were welcomed as regular customers in the evening. Customers were a mix of Austrian/German and Americans. We both ordered Wiener schnitzel which was very good - best so far on this trip. Good wines and beer, just not a large selection of either. We had a good time, interacted with other customers and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. A restaurant I would easily return to again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wadec3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A fine flavour of Vienna”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A quirky decor and the Austrian garb of the waiters and to the ambience . The food is good and not expensive and the menu interesting . Local house wine was reasonably priced

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TitusT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second best I've seen so far in Vienna”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Second best restaurant I've seen so far in Vienna - that would be the best description of this place. Once inside I've been welcomed by a waiter thematically dressed to blend into the interior of the restaurant, which was decorared as a hunter hut somewhere deep in the woods. Animal heads, birds and a lot of other hunting theme related artefacts were stuck to the walls. All this along with dimmed lights and timber lined walls were setting you in the right mood for better digestion.

Being in Vienna I decided to stick to the local cuiside (again) and ordered Viennese clear beef soup, which was very delicious, and something for the main course. I can't really remember what exactly it was but it was definitely from Viennese section of their menu it I enjoyed it a lot. I was also considering a desert, but once I finished with the main I realised that there's no more room left... So only got a tea to finish it off. Therefore when considering your selection for a dinner take into account the size of portions in Purstner as they are decent in size. Should you forget about this you really risk leaving yourself without desert as I did :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Immotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Viennese Charm”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A very pleasant restaurant with genuine warmth of service and atmosphere:-we found irt difficult to fault. Yes the cuisine is straightforward but that is what you expect in Austria. What you get here is well prepared food,served in a friendly fashion and a welcoming atmosphere-what is fairer than that?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peggyOxfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerstner also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Puerstner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing