We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy but not as good as Demel”
Review of Cafe Sacher Wien

Cafe Sacher Wien
Ranked #5 of 75 Coffee & Tea in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Austrian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: Cafe Sacher Vienna offers the perfect chance to sample a typical Viennese coffee-house atmosphere and - of course - to treat yourself to a slice of the legendary Original Sacher-Torte. The Cafe Sacher, directly opposite the Opera House, is a popular meeting place in the center of Vienna. The windows of the conservatory fold away in the summer to make an open terrace that is the perfect place to soak up the sights and sounds of the city.
Israel
Level Contributor
194 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Yummy but not as good as Demel”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had been the day before at Demel's famous cafe and so we found this place quite a disappointment in comparison. Whereas Demel's cafe had lots of different cakes to chose from, each one more delicious from the next, Sacher's had only a few cakes on display.... The cafe itself is very elegant and of the 'old' European style.... I loved the setting... However, if I had to chose between one of the two cafes, we would definately recommend Demels over Sacher.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,665
    3,666
    1,981
    652
    336
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel. Haifa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice history place in the center of Vienna. Nothing special. The famous cake is not something WOW, as you can expect. Just to say " been there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felshyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
687 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Luxury, expencive but it is worth to try it at least once!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Expencive place, but if you are in Wien you have to try it! It is an experience to do. I ve personaly been only for tea and cake, but the ambiance is so warm, comfortable elegant. The cake depends on the day...sometimes it s too dry, but other times simply gorgeous. At the corner you find the shop wich is much cheaper but not so beautiful..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sciopina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barakaldo, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best cake in a great place”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

First of all I admit that I am not the kind of person that goes to these places (maybe I would do if I would have a bigger budget haha). But when I traveled to Wien, I decided to make me a present with my fovourite cake in its place of born.
The hotel Sacher is incredible and the atmosphere reminds being so many years ago in a private club with the "higher class" aroud in their social and business themes.
And regarding to the food and drink, I ordered a piece of cake Sacher (of course) and the special tee. It was not as expensive as I thoungt at the beggining. I think that I paid around 8 euros for everything and the service is excellent. The best of one bar in one of the most famous hotels in Wien.
It is an experience to life if you want to feel a different way of life.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
145 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just had cakes and coffee after along day walking around the palaces in Vinna and the parks around. We were "under-dressed" for such a place as the Sacher Cafe. But we received the best 5 stars service that one could imagine.
The cakes were fantastic, each a piece of art and the Vienna coffee melange is a great fir to go along with.
The sitting was very comfortable, the toilets clean, the entire place well lit, service was fantastic and we received answers to some of our wierd questions about the design of the place.
Will be happy to visit again one in Vienna. Don't miss it, it's a MUST!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sacher Wien also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing