We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to try something different”
Review of Flanagan's

Flanagan's
Ranked #630 of 4,193 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Rolesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
265 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wanted to try something different”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We found Flanagan's as we were walking the streets late one night and decided we'd get it a try. The first thing I did was read some of the reviews on TripAdvisor. While the reviews were mixed some we red were very good so we decided we'd see for ourselves. There were four of us and three of us were dying for a hamburger. One had the Irish stew. The beer was good. The hamburgers were good but a little salty. The Irish stew was good except for a little gristle in one of the pieces of meat. The atmosphere was great. The real let down was the service. We got our menus right away but then it took a long time to get our drink orders and a little longer still to give our food orders. I should have known we were in trouble when our waitress kept saying "sure" to everything. When the food finally came we each were served hamburgers. It took a little while but they finally exchanged a hamburger for the stew originally ordered. Then as the waitress was going off duty she wanted us to settle our bill before we were halfway thru our meal. Not my idea of super service. I'm not sure if she was new or what. Bottom line is as the reviews tell you, it may be great or it may not be so great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    77
    33
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What you expect from an Irish Bar”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We travelled from Slovenia to Vienna to find a TV for the Cork v Dublin All-Ireland Hurling semi-final. Had a fry up which was delicious. Warm friendly staff. Had a bit of craic with the staff and the owner. Even though cork won he was a great sport for a DUB :) thanks for the hospitality and the Guinness.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bad, Bad,Bad”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stopped by with a colleague for a beer and a bite to eat, Service does not exist here, staff while under some pressure look at new guest as they enter with contempt. ie... oh no more work for me, Im sure its fine if you were a regular there as we noticed that there seemed to be a few, who had no trouble getting served, when we eventually got served, food took forever to come, total rubbish, cremated burgers, dident have a chance to complain as when the waitress came to clear the plates.. which we hadent really touched , was too busy laughing with a guest on the next table, just grabbed the plates and went, very unprofessional we thought,

Sadly this place is not to be recommended, it has nothing to do with an Irish pub, it just trades on that for marketing purposes, if you like rubbish food and non-existant service, then maybe its for you,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gjarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A good example of the genre”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Am something of a connoisseur of this type of place.Usually an "Irish pub"
outside Ireland is just a home produced interpretation meant merely to signify
an acceptance of increased informality but this is the "real" thing.Please forgive
the arch inverted comas but as soon as you mention Irish pubs questions of
authenticity, simulacra and kitsch amongst other questions inevitably pop up.
People who generally like Irish pubs abroad are more accepting of the fact that
the world is in flux being made and unmade constantly,life is a great churning
constant experiment where all permanence is an illusion. Scratch the surface of an
anti irishpub person and you will find a deranged conservative who is one unfortunate
run in with an "other" from turning fascist.
This pub is worth a visit.Consider these issues as you sip a beer while staring out
towards the bourgeois frenzy of Karlsplatz ...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BordeauxHerzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An Irish bar better than in Ireland”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere ,good drink and with a surprisingly good Bar food menu,that as well as being tasty is very reasonably priced. a nice place to chill after a hard day of hitting the sights.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank billybeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flanagan's also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Flanagan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing