We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”
Review of Cafe Hawelka

Cafe Hawelka
Ranked #46 of 77 Coffee & Tea in Vienna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Inner City
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Part of "Coffee Culture". We looked this place up deliberately at reading reviews and we were not disappointed. Excellent service, considering we do not speak German. You can stay as long as you like

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    328
    207
    148
    223
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like being in an old time movie”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The charming old hollywood movies featuring a lot of hustle bustle, old wood, and various emotions. That is what I got reminded of on entering thus Cafe. No sooner had we found a table, the waiter asked us what we would lime to order. No menu was offered as they don't have one. What they had was a few varieites of great Viennaese Cofee and some nice cakes together with a great atmosphere. The limited choice of food items you can order is no great hinderence, if you are in a mood to just enjoy some good coffee and cake without having to choose from a multitude of choices. The service is fast, and you can either browse the free internet on your mobile device or can read from the English and German magazines and newspapers on offer. Of course you are free to read your own book or chat with your frieds. Nobody pressurizes you to pay and leave as soon as you finish your coffee. You can sit back and relax, as I and my friends did.

The clientelle is very mixed and consists of Austrians as well as people from all around the globe. English and German are spoken equally freely, and one can hear other languages being spoken as well.

All in all, a charming place to be and a must visit on a trip to Vienna.

Helpful?
Thank SamP822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very down-to-earth nice atmosphere. Frequented by locals and tourist. I would not recommend taking pictures thoguh: the staff and the locals get somewhat pissed off. Food is ok, beer is nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GermanyJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
193 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Feel the real Vienna”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

the cafe was just next door to our hotel so we could go there every time we felt like it. it is crowded and a little noisy but that is what's this place is all about. the "bouchtle" are amazing, you really should try them.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dundun0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We didn't eat here, but the coffee, the beer and wine are nice if a little pricey. It's a nice place to sit and pass a little time and just off the main square, so a good location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superfly316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hawelka also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Hawelka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing