We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from the centre, but in walking distance”
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #218 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Away from the centre, but in walking distance”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Hilton design is a comfortable one, but not glizzy. The rooms are of good size and light...and you can part open the window. The location is away from the centre and you would need 15 minutes to get to the centre if you wish to walk. Of course there is the underground close to it and you can go anywhere.

Room Tip: A room to the front will make it noisy with an open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    118
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
91
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It suited my needs. A clean shower. A good bed. A desk to work. Decent price. Close to the train.

The lady was friendly at the checking counter. The room was small but designed in a way where I had exactly what I needed. The shower pressure was good.

Bathroom door is glass, so I wouldn't recommend staying in the room I stayed in for two people traveling together. However, they likely have two person rooms as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arong866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Considering the fact that most hotels in Innenstadt are either overbooked or overpriced, Hotel Vienna is a good option. Around 130 meters from Praterstern and the Prater amusement park , you can spend late nights in the city center and come back without any worries. The rooms are all contemporary in design and spacious. The only drawback is that if you are a conventional person, you may feel uncomfortable with the idea of a glassdoor in the bathroom. Breakfast served had variety and filling enough to make you skip lunch. The staff were very polite .All in all , we would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Vienna

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBasuSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, which I did for 5 nights. It's in a quiet back street location and yet close to the Prater with it's amusement park and good travel facilities (Praterstern station). The hotel was very clean with smart modern contemporary style rooms. The hotel had a nice bar area and a nice restaurant for breakfast, which was also very good. If I return to Vienna, I wouldn't hesitate staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you ask the hotel to recommend a restaurant in the evening, they will likely suggest Mostlandl wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithJSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Good location near public transport, or only 30 minute walk to city centre. Friendly, helpful staff. Room was larger and more comfortable than I expected. Standard room had 2 rooms, both with flat-screen TVs. Bathroom door is glass... not much privacy, but very modern. Large room keys that need to be returned to hotel reception every time you leave. Priced well considering it's Vienna. Breakfast included was excellent: large choice of breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, coffees, teas, juices, etc. Coffee was fantastic. Breakfast also included champagne if desired. Connection of wifi in the room was a little slow, but functional. No heat/air conditioning control, thankfully when we went the weather was perfect, otherwise this could be a problem. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days on my first visit to Vienna. The location is perfect, you are a few moments walk from Stephansplatz metro, city center, & trams on the river so no problem with luggage (I arrived at Westbaunhopf on a train from Germany). The room is well appointed. No tub in bathroom but stand up shower. I paid a rate of about 120 euros/night. The only problem was there was no air conditioner (a fan) and all of Austria was in the midst of a 90 degree plus heat wave. It made sleeping very difficult. The staff was consistently excellent & attentive--they mailed my postcards, sent out laundry for a reasonable fee, etc. Included breakfast was also extensive with eggs, sausages, breads, fruits. There is a large grocery store a half a block down the street and a very good traditional restaurant/pub on the corner. I would stay here again when it's cooler out. My favorite part was library-you could leave finished novels/books & trade for new ones. I'm a voracious reader and since i was traveling for 5 wks I appreciated the opportunity to replenish my arsenal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TodoElMundo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Very good location near the Praterstern metrostation. Nice and clean reception. Friendly staff. Very big and modern room. Very large bathroom but the bathroom door is glass. The door looks good but it is not practical. Room decorations are nice. Breakfast is good, but not best. Very much breads, good juices, good coffee and tea. I hoped for more meats and local foods. When I come back to Vienna I consider staying again in this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel KUNSThof
Hotel KUNSThof
#155 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Imlauer Vienna
Imlauer Vienna
#144 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Nestroy
Hotel Nestroy
#178 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Odeon
Hotel Odeon
#271 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#30 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: Grosse Stadtgutgasse 31 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typically Viennese - charming, comfortable and tasteful - the Hotel Vienna. A modern bar - only open to guests - combines age-old tradition with contemporary chic. We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel. The Hotel Vienna has been run with passion and dedication as a family-owned company for the past 50 years. This sense of consistency is immediately noticeable as soon as you enter the reception area. As a valued guest of the Hotel Vienna you can rest assured that we will do our utmost to make you feel at home. It is our aim to make your visit to Vienna as pleasant as possible. That's why a friendly, helpful employee is available at Reception around the clock - 24/7. Hotel Vienna is conveniently located in Leopoldstadt ( Second District), an historical part of the city, between St. Stephen's Cathedral in the City and the Prater. The Prater is Vienna's largest recreational area, with many open spaces and an amusement park. The excellent public transport connections allow you to easily and quickly reach your day-trip and business destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing