We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, room & service”
Review of The Ring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ring Hotel
Ranked #26 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
dubai
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect location, room & service”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Ring is 5mins (max) walking distance from Karlsplatz station and State Opera house. The hotel is centrally located however in a peaceful corner.
Stayed with my wife for 2 days in July. Staff was friendly and welcoming. We initially got a room (special)on the 5th floor with windows facing inwards. We requested to change the view and the reception lady immediately moved us onto 3rd floor with a bigger room and windows looking out to the side street. We were happy with the new room.
We got good recommendations for restaurants, sight-seeing from the hotel staff.
We will certainly stay at The Ring in Vienna on our next trip as it undoubtedly had the best blend of location, room quality and service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, General Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear Asim B, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about The Ring, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel. We are happy to hear that everything went perfect. And we hope to see you soon when you return to Vienna.

Kind regards,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    225
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
124
517
74
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Martin, Slovakia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night.

The rooms are extremely spacious and the ceiling is high, giving the rooms a very "open" and nice feeling. The bathroom was separate from the toilet, I found this to be very convenient when sharing room with someone else!
The beds were super soft and I slept so well there, even with the traffic outside! Because this is in the city center, you will hear a little traffic outside (not the cars but the tram - but i cant recall hearing it during night time, only during the day), but it wasnt anything that bothered me.
The hotel was spotless and so clean that you could probably eat from the toilet.

The location is great, close to Kärntner strasse where all the nice shops are, metro and tram right outside, plenty of restaurants, etc.

A little nice gesture: the housekeeping comes by with chocolate in the evening :) The service was excellent! Highly recommend it, worth the price. Will come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, General Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Christina F, thank you for this nice review, we are happy to hear that we met your expectations in every matter. Feel free to contact let us know if you return to Vienna, we would be delighted to welcome you again at The Ring, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel.

Best regards,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The lobby is not palacios but adequate, we recently stayed in Prague at Alchymist novacova palace which had a most impala cial I impressive lobby of less than 4 square meters ! Ring hotel lobby is like a palace by way of comparison.
Room very large for Europe with very comfortable beds. Separate toilet is a bonus. Bathroom clean and modern. Turn down everyday refreshed towels and toiletries which were of good quality.
Excellent location opposite main shopping area in vienna we walked almost everywhere. Metro 2 minutes walk away. 2 supermarkets very close as is McDonalds for those so inclined. We did not pay for breakfast so can not comment. We did eat at restaurant downstairs which was very nice. Staff all very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marellalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, General Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Marellalouise, thank you for staying at The Ring Hotel, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel. We are glad to hear that you liked the experience while staying at our hotel. We hope to have you back next time you come to Vienna.

Best regards,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The sign above the door says Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel. the casual part is correct, the luxury part far from it. The lobby is as simple as it gets and what one would expect in a 3 star hotel. The rooms are well appointed yet not in any way luxurious or above standard.
The service in the restaurant during breakfast was lacklustre and I felt I was more a burden than a guest. Ordering a cappuccino and recieving a white coffee which tasted burnt was not a great start. The food was mediocre to go with the service. Overall if you are looking for a 5 star experience do not stay here. If however you are looking to overpay for 3 stars then this is right on the money!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonLiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, General Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear SimonLiebel, thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are a boutique hotel with only 68 rooms, people come here because it is small, cozy and more personal than a big five star palace. Even though our service standards correspond to those of a five star hotel. It is true that our hotel doesn't reflect the classic rococo style, but a rather minimalist design where the quality of the fabric for the curtains matters, the sleeping quality with top of the notch mattresses from Salzburg and of course the prime location as we are right across the street from the state opera. We are sorry that the milk in your cappuccino was burned, this is something that usually doesn’t happen and we recently made a reminder training with our staff on how to make a cappuccino, after we read your review. We are sorry that we didn’t hit your taste in some aspects, but that doesn’t make us a three star equivalent hotel. If you return to Vienna, we would be happy to be able to take care of you and surprise you positively.

Best regards,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

we stayed for 5 nights in this hotel bed and breakfast. the hotel was spotless including the room. casual but modern with up to date facilities. The staff were friendly and very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.It was nice sitting out for a drink and then a meal afterwards in the seating area at the front of the hotel watching the world go by. The food in the restaurant was excellent and presented very well and considering how expensive Vienna is as a whole we found 41 eur for the dinner 3 course option good value.It is close to all the attractions and the U bahn is just a short stroll away. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Vienna.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor in the extraordinary room. was first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric9621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, General Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear eric 9621, thank you for this lovely review, we feel very pleased that you enjoyed the casual luxury experience at The Ring Hotel. Thank you also for detailing the dining experience at our restaurant “at eight”, we are sure that many guests will be glad to know that they always have a great dinning possibility in house. We will be happy to have you back in the future and remain with,

Kind regards,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had the pleasure of 1 night at this hotel at the end of our European vacation and i have to say were not disappointed! The service you receive is excellent from the greating by the bell staff helping you get your luiggage to the front desk staff that take care of you checking in. The rooms are fantastic and once you are settled in the phone rings and the hotel staff are wondering if they can do anything for you to make the room better. Later in the evening while you are out for dinner the staff returns to clean your room and to refresh any towels and turn down your bed with a nice chocolate treat left on your pillows. Overall a wonderful experience and a hotel i would tell anyone to make sure they try!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, General Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Hawaiilovers50, thank you for staying at the ring hotel. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the experience and we are happy that our staff made you feel home here. The little chocolates you were finding on your pillows are something typically Viennese and its called “Pischinger Ecken”. We hope to see you again when you return to Vienna and remain with

Best regards,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our second trip to Vienna and The Ring hotel was wonderful. The lobby area does not represent the modern feel of the rooms, but the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable with turn down service and all the amenities one would expect from this caliber of a hotel. Location is perfect and the onsite restaurant "at eight" is a dining experience. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Presently the courtyard is under construction. I would request a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, General Manager at The Ring Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Carol S, thank you for writing such a pleasing review. We are happy that you found our rooms comfortable and the staff friendly. Thank you for mentioning our restaurant “at eight”, this year once again our chef Fabian Philler, has been once more rewarded with two toques by Gault Millau. We hope to see you returning to The Ring Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel, in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#27 of 360 in Vienna
1,108 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 360 in Vienna
1,358 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 360 in Vienna
1,110 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring Hotel

Property: The Ring Hotel
Address: Kaerntner Ring 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Business Hotel in Vienna
#37 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring - Relais & Châteaux is one of Vienna's most hip City- and Lifestyle hotels. Since its opening in November 2007 it pampers its guests with outstanding comfort and casual luxury in every detail. You find the hotel best located, in the middle of the centre of Vienna, the famous art-, culture and shopping mile Wiener Ringstraße in front of the door. At Kärntner Ring number 8 the historic façade has been lovingly renovated. Inside guests are welcomed by a modern, straight and nevertheless sensual interior. New elements were merged with old ones - for example the 100-year old elevator and the plastered walls of the "Ring Suite", combined with modern design. The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, has 68 rooms and suites available, all luxuriously equipped and made of an inspiring mix of contemporary and classic design. Guests can choose between Casual-, Special, and X-ordinary rooms, as well as Cosmopolitan suites or the unique Ring Suite. The innovative illumination concept and the exquisitely made bathrooms complete the extensive feeling of living. The concept of warm brown and beige colors, refreshing pistachio and fiery red makes the hotel an amazing place. At the stylish hotelbar "Drings" by Le Zefire guests can expect the atmosphere of a French Club, great drinks, international music and cool people. On a regular basis live DJs will be contributing to the party feeling. The restaurant "at eight" is located on the ground floor and pampers the guests with outstanding international, toque winning seasonal aroma cuisine. Apart from the cuisine awarded with two toques, the innovative design concept impresses the guests. "Dressing up for the evening" - the restaurant at eight changes its clothes every afternoon and suits up to be the perfect evening restaurant for its guests. At The Ring Day Spa guests can shake off their stress from all-day life. The Spa, located on the 7th floor, offers an amazing view over the rooftops of Vienna. A fitness area with most modern training equipment and entertainment centre is available for the guests. Fresh fruit and water are on disposal for free. Changing rooms, safe deposit boxes, shower rooms and towels are available on location. For guests of the hotel, the fitness area is opened around the clock. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing