We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #26 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I booked this hotel as I have previously stayed at The Grand and this hotel is under the same ownership. Whilst the Grand is a traditional luxury hotel The Ring is a modern Luxury hotel. I was a bit concerned about some of the reviews and wondered if I should have booked The Grand again but I needn't have worried. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
Our room wasn't huge but the separate dressing area, large bathroom and separate WC made it feel much bigger. The room was really well maintained and clean and had everything we needed. the White Company toiletries were topped up each day.
There was a well stocked mini bar and complimentary bottled water on the first day, this was not refreshed each day but the tap water was completely safe to drink.
The location is brilliant, right by the Opera House and the Museum Quarter and a short walk from the cathedral. There is a subway station (Karlsplatz) very close by which got me to my meetings near Praterstern in 20 mins max.
The breakfast was pricey but the a la carte option meant you only paid for what you had, if you wanted a cheaper option there is a cafe right opposite where you can get breakfast for approx 5 Euro.
i would definitely return to The Ring and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bupsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Bupsy,

thank you for this lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed staying at The Ring Vienna’s, Casual Luxury Hotel. We would be very grateful to see returning on your next trip to Vienna.

Kind Regards,

Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    231
    53
    15
    15
See reviews for
129
536
76
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I spent 3 nights here last week and have to say I had a great stay.

From walking in to reception to the day we checked out, all the staff were very helpful and courteous at all times.

Great central location, positioned just a few meters from a subway stop, tram stop and shops.
Most things are all within walking distance or 2 or 3 subway stops if you don't want to walk and see what a beautiful city Vienna is.

The room (511) was very spacious with large bathroom (there are shaver points next to the mirror), separate WC, separate dressing room and good coffee making facilities (Nespresso machine in the room). The bed and bedding was very soft and comfy and turned down each evening.

Everything was restocked in the room each day and the Free wi-fi signal we got was great both on our phones, tablet and laptop.

Would not hesitate to go back.

(just a note. Our room looked out onto the inner courtyard as requested but there was some building work going on so it was very occasionally a little noisy. Never early or late though and nothing to prevent me recommending it or going back to stay again.)

Room Tip: Some reviews say they "feel the rumbling of the trams" on lower floors. we were on the fif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippebeaulieu, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Pattdiver,

We are happy that you enjoyed staying at The Ring, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel. Thank you for this nice review, we are sure that many guests will find your it very helpful. We hope to have you back soon and remain with,

Kind regards,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Even though the lobby is underwhelming, to say the least, our Special category room was spacious with a comfortable bed. By the way, I had forgotten to request a non-smoking room when I made the reservation so the first room that we were given smelled too much of cigarette smoke for our taste. However, the staff was lovely, and without a fuss, found us another room, quickly.

The Ring Hotel bills itself as a “casual luxury” hotel, and it did offer some nice little “luxury” touches that the other boutique hotels we stayed at did not offer. These include the Nespresso coffemaker (now replaced with a Julius Meinl coffee machine), a complimentary bottle of mineral water each day, chocolates with the turndown service and, most importantly, enough towels without having to call housekeeping.

The location was excellent, right on the ring of the city center, a half block from the Karlsplatz subway station and a block away from the Vienna State Opera. There is also a Spar market around the corner for snacks and other essentials.

The only small negative was that we could occasionally feel the rumbling of the tram or subway since our room was on a lower floor. I don’t think this would even be noticeable on higher floor. This would not keep me from recommending this hotel, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kagey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippebeaulieu, Guest Relations Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Kagey44,

Thank you for staying at The Ring, we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and its details. We would like to thank you also for sharing your experience by writing a review. We hope to see you returning soon to Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel.

Best regards,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Ambient room, nice amenities, best lit room ever. The beds and duvet covers are so soft and huggable. Staff is completely service oriented. Location is perfect. On the Ringstrasse across the street from the Opera house. Definitely recommendable.

Room Tip: Loved room 35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippebeaulieu, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Donnajill,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Ring with others by writing such a pleasing review. Thank you for mentioning our bed covers and duvets and the service oriented staff. We will be happy to see you returning to The Ring, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I selected this hotel based on other reviews. We loved our room very large and the staff was very helpful. We enjoyed the location the best because all the main attractions were walking distance. Also to get on the hop on hop off bus it was right across the street. I would recommend this hotel for anyone. It's not a large hotel it's more of a boutique type which I prefer.
Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: As for a room with a view. The city is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippebeaulieu, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Jaime R,

Thank you for staying at The Ring Hotel. We are glad that we met your expectations in terms of staff and location, we are also very happy that you would recommend our Hotel to others. We would be happy to see you returning to The Ring Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The room was larger than our apartment in Rome. Well appointed. Every luxury soap and goop that you could require. Amazing towels, large white and fluffy; with many varieties and were elevating by. The bed sheets were soft and the bed large and comfortable. The television seemed too centrally located for my tastes, but I am more of a streaming and iPad guy. Now my tolerance for expanding this review is coming to an end as I sit in the illy cafe across the street from the hotel.
I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bagelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippebeaulieu, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear bagelx,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about The Ring, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be happy to see you returning in the future, when you come to Vienna.

Best regards,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcullen, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I booked a stay in The Ring hotel for a romantic getaway for my girlfriend's birthday over the Christmas period. Our room was spacious, quiet and very clean. The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was very nice too. The hotel left a birthday card and chocolate treats for my girlfriend in the room to celebrate her occasion which was a lovely touch. A huge advantage to this hotel is its central location. While I enjoy using public transport when abroad, there is great convenience to being so close to many attractions. There is also a tram and metro line nearby if you'd like to go further afield to places like Schonbrunn. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. They recommended some nice restaurants and helped explain how to get to certain attractions. I would definitely stay here again and would encourage others to do the same!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POC-CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippebeaulieu, General Manager at The Ring, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear POC-CW,

Thank you for this lovely review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Ring in every aspect. Thank you also for recommending us to others, we will be very happy to see you again when you return to Vienna.

Yours sincerely,
Horst Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 361 in Vienna
1,128 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#6 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#21 of 361 in Vienna
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 361 in Vienna
1,140 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring, Relais & Chateaux

Property: The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Address: Kaerntner Ring 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Business Hotel in Vienna
#37 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring, Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring - Relais & Châteaux is one of Vienna's most hip City- and Lifestyle hotels. Since its opening in November 2007 it pampers its guests with outstanding comfort and casual luxury in every detail. You find the hotel best located, in the middle of the centre of Vienna, the famous art-, culture and shopping mile Wiener Ringstraße in front of the door. At Kärntner Ring number 8 the historic façade has been lovingly renovated. Inside guests are welcomed by a modern, straight and nevertheless sensual interior. New elements were merged with old ones - for example the 100-year old elevator and the plastered walls of the "Ring Suite", combined with modern design. The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, has 68 rooms and suites available, all luxuriously equipped and made of an inspiring mix of contemporary and classic design. Guests can choose between Casual-, Special, and X-ordinary rooms, as well as Cosmopolitan suites or the unique Ring Suite. The innovative illumination concept and the exquisitely made bathrooms complete the extensive feeling of living. The concept of warm brown and beige colors, refreshing pistachio and fiery red makes the hotel an amazing place. At the stylish hotelbar "Drings" by Le Zefire guests can expect the atmosphere of a French Club, great drinks, international music and cool people. On a regular basis live DJs will be contributing to the party feeling. The restaurant "at eight" is located on the ground floor and pampers the guests with outstanding international, toque winning seasonal aroma cuisine. Apart from the cuisine awarded with two toques, the innovative design concept impresses the guests. "Dressing up for the evening" - the restaurant at eight changes its clothes every afternoon and suits up to be the perfect evening restaurant for its guests. At The Ring Day Spa guests can shake off their stress from all-day life. The Spa, located on the 7th floor, offers an amazing view over the rooftops of Vienna. A fitness area with most modern training equipment and entertainment centre is available for the guests. Fresh fruit and water are on disposal for free. Changing rooms, safe deposit boxes, shower rooms and towels are available on location. For guests of the hotel, the fitness area is opened around the clock. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ring, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing