We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bar!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ring
Ranked #28 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Bar!!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I were staying at the Grand Hotel Wien and not ready for bed we were looking for a late night spot to have drinks and were sent to The Ring's Bar. There we met Alex who was so friendly, made lovely drinks and easy conversation. We went both nights in our stay in Vienna and I have to say it was the nicest, low key bar my husband and I visited on our trip. We would definitely visit again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'Staylee', thks for your great review on our Drings Bar, I already commented your review as to your stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.....hope you discovered and enjoyed our unique selection of vodka at our bar.....absolutely worth trying! Hope to see you soon, either at the Grand Hotel Wien or@ The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    217
    51
    14
    14
See reviews for
113
499
72
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

After reading the reviews I decided to book this hotel, I am glad I did, very quiet, across the street from the Opera and walking distance from most locations. I was particularly amazed on the size of the room very large room and modern decor. one toilette room and one bathroom is a plus, I will definitely stay at the Ring next time I am in Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'RachelMNewYork', great review, happy to read that you discovered and booked us.....we say thank you for that! Thanks also for the great comments, much appreciated! Hope to see you soon@The Ring, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I just got back from Vienna and we had a delightful stay at The Ring. Before we got there, Silvana from the hotel was so helpful offering suggestions for our trip. There was a slight hiccup when we arrived as the car from the hotel wasn't there to receive us (seems the driver didnt find us - nor us him), so we just hopped in a cab and headed to the hotel.

The staff were so welcoming, and the doorman very sweet. The lobby is small and not what one would expect - but it fits with the overall feel of the place. We got a room upgrade, and while the room was still relatively small as compared to most rooms in Asia or the US, it had everything we needed, including a Nespresso machine! The shower was superb - the best i have experienced at any hotel.

The one thing that wasnt great was the TV selection - being on holiday one does welcome the option of spending an afternoon or evening watching a movie or some nonsense TV. The paid movies were all old and the one we wanted to watch wouldn't play, and the english channels on the TV were only news. There was no DVD player as with most hotels so we didn't really have the option of watching our own films either.

Fortunately though, in a city with that much to do, one doesn't spend too much time in the room. The location was amazing, and we had everything at our doorstep, from the Opera, to shopping, to the parks and a Spar on our block to buy supplies.

The breakfast was great - but the rest of the food quite average.

Overall though we loved the hotel - everyone was friendly, we had all the privacy we wanted, and the location was superb. I would definitely recommend you try it if you are alone or a couple - not necessarily the best place with children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowlifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'sixsensesjunkie', great review! You described your stay@The ring so well and so full of great comments, thank you! Looking forward seeing you again@The Ring in the very near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent three nights at The Ring. Quiet, well appointed, spacious rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. The location is perfect for sightseeing and the Opera. The hotel has all amenities one may want or need. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaFKyiv_Ukraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'OlgaFKyiv_Ukraine', great review, happy to read that you would highly recommend us, that is what we are aiming at........hope to see you soon@The Ring, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked this hotel throught their website for 2 nights (3-5 September 2011) and paid EUR598 for a package which included the room, 1 dinner and 1 hour massage. Email enquiries before arrival were answered promptly.

Arrived by train at Wien Westbahnof and took a cab to the hotel which as the hotel advised, took around 15 minutes and around 15 Euros.

The room is up to standard, very spacious and super clean. Very comfortable mattress and pillows and absolutely love the bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries. Basically can't find flaws with the room itself. Location is also great and hotel staff is friendly. There is a computer in lobby with printer which I found to be handy as I needed to print train tickets and maps for the next leg.

As for the dinner, it was nice but the portions were a bit small and I would imagine guys would probably still starve after dinner.

My only complaint lies with the massage. I guess it is more of an Asian thing, I'm addicted to massages and get one in Hong Kong every week and also had massages in Thailand, Vietnam, Bali, China, London and New York before. On walking into a tiny 'spa room', a guy with a little braided ponytail was waiting (not sure whether he's still working there as I stayed last year). I don't have a problem with male masseur but.. how do I put it in a less blunt way.. he tried really hard but he had absolutely no idea what he was doing although he probably thinks he does. The massage is the worst I ever had and I was not relieved of muscle tension in any way afterwards. I tried explaining what I wanted but gave up fairly quickly as I knew it wouldn't go anywhere. So all I can say is, don't get the massage!

Otherwise, the hotel itself is superb.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missvontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'YvonneAu', great review, thank you very much! I deeply appreciate your comments on the hotel, room, overall services and the restaurant. As to your comments on our spa and the treatment you had, I already informed our spa facilitator, actions have been set to avoid such issues in the future. I would be happy to welcome you again@The Ring in the near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel back in February for my birthday. The hotel is wonderful, rooms are large and clean, with comfy beds, free wifi and a very handy nespresso maker. The location of the hotel is excellent too, it's a short walk to the centre of Vienna and the metro is close by. If you get chance, check out Einstein's Bar by the University, great atmosphere.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'Sarah G', this is a great review for which we say : Thank you! Good to read that you liked the hotel, the staff, the facilities and the location, hopefully we can say welcome again in the very near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great hotel in excellent location couple blocks from the Opera house and within walking distance of shopping and other attractions. Quiet, well appointed, spacious rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has all amenities one may want or need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 98765432111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear '98765432111', wonderful review, great comments, thank you very much! Apparently all went up to your expectations@The Ring, the way it should be! Looking forward seeing you again, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 362 in Vienna
1,061 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
749 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 362 in Vienna
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,299 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 362 in Vienna
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring

Property: The Ring
Address: Kaerntner Ring 8, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Business Hotel in Vienna
#37 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel is one of Vienna's most hip City- and Lifestyle hotels. Since its opening in November 2007 it pampers its guests with outstanding comfort and casual luxury in every detail. You find the hotel best located, in the middle of the centre of Vienna, the famous art-, culture and shopping mile Wiener Ringstraße in front of the door. At Kärntner Ring number 8 the historic façade has been lovingly renovated. Inside guests are welcomed by a modern, straight and nevertheless sensual interior. New elements were merged with old ones - for example the 100-year old elevator and the plastered walls of the "Ring Suite", combined with modern design. The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, has 68 rooms and suites available, all luxuriously equipped and made of an inspiring mix of contemporary and classic design. Guests can choose between Casual-, Special, and X-ordinary rooms, as well as Cosmopolitan suites or the unique Ring Suite. The innovative illumination concept and the exquisitely made bathrooms complete the extensive feeling of living. The concept of warm brown and beige colors, refreshing pistachio and fiery red makes the hotel an amazing place. At the stylish hotelbar "Drings" by Le Zefire guests can expect the atmosphere of a French Club, great drinks, international music and cool people. On a regular basis live DJs will be contributing to the party feeling. The restaurant "at eight" is located on the ground floor and pampers the guests with outstanding international, toque winning seasonal aroma cuisine. Apart from the cuisine awarded with two toques, the innovative design concept impresses the guests. "Dressing up for the evening" - the restaurant at eight changes its clothes every afternoon and suits up to be the perfect evening restaurant for its guests. At The Ring Day Spa guests can shake off their stress from all-day life. The Spa, located on the 7th floor, offers an amazing view over the rooftops of Vienna. A fitness area with most modern training equipment and entertainment centre is available for the guests. Fresh fruit and water are on disposal for free. Changing rooms, safe deposit boxes, shower rooms and towels are available on location. For guests of the hotel, the fitness area is opened around the clock. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing