We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I know which is the best restaurant”
Review of Steirereck

Steirereck
Ranked #23 of 4,234 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: One of the most famous gourmet restaurants of the city can be found in one of the most beautiful parts of Vienna, in the middle of the Stadtpark and on the banks of the river: the Steiereck and its sister establishment, the Meierei next door.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Now I know which is the best restaurant”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you get the question: What is the best restaurant you've been in, it may be difficult to answer. Not any more. The food is veeery good, but what makes the restaurant outstanding is the service. We had 7-8 persons serving us (party of 3) and the were not annoying just perfect. The restaurant is a bit more expensive, but not overpriced. Do not forget to check out the toilets, even that is an experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Predrag P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,042
    189
    121
    50
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great (more than 5) service! Great food!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We enjoy a lot during our lunch!
Great service! Great food! Great desert!
Tips:
1) Take metro line U1 to Stadtpark
2) Visit Stadtpark before the restaurant

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBestMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb. If I could rate higher than "5" I would!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

There are many fine restaurants in the major cities of the world which can only aspire to this level. What Steirereck has done with their service, presentation and cuisine is to create something very, very special that is not to be missed.

Over the course of my 3+ hour, five course lunch I was treated in a manner which, candidly, took some moments to adjust to -- such is the level professionalism and competence with which Steirereck presents their art.

In retrospect, my previous evening's concert with one of Vienna's finest orchestras was mere entertainment; my meal at Steirereck was the true performance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Terrific lunch”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had a chance to have a two course lunch here.

This place is less of a meal and more of an experience. It was amongst the best meals I have had. It is also very good value for the quality of food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrywesterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“fantastic lunch experience”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having enjoyed many breakfasts, lunches and dinners at their informal "Meierei" in the lower floor countless times, we finally made it to the much acclaimed gourmet restaurant for lunch.
Our expectations were set high, but this was one of the best meals we have ever had and compared to other restaurants of this calibre, especially in France or Italy, our lunch (set price for 2 starters, a main dish, cheese and/or dessert, all from the à la carte menu) was even outstanding value for money.
Food was wonderful, light and inventive (but not too much so), service was perfectly choreographed, unobtrusive and very well informed. The atmosphere is elegant (men wear jackets). We particularly liked the little cards placed in front of you explaining the dish you are about to be served. We took those home as a souvenir and for some dishes, you can even find the recipe online at their website.
Our lunch (12.30 until almost 4pm) was very relaxed and better suited for us than an endless dinner. I hope we will be back soon again (maybe in the summer, when the terrace in the shade of the old trees of Stadtpark is open) but my wife says we should restrict ourselves to one visit per year to make sure this stays a very special treat for us.
Reserve well in advance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steirereck also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Steirereck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing