We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Degustation with an amusing breadman in attendance”
Review of Steirereck

Steirereck
Ranked #22 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: One of the most famous gourmet restaurants of the city can be found in one of the most beautiful parts of Vienna, in the middle of the Stadtpark and on the banks of the river: the Steiereck and its sister establishment, the Meierei next door.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Degustation with an amusing breadman in attendance”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The degustation was excellent but us being Asians with small stomach had some leftovers that prompted repeated questions of "Is there something wrong with the ......." The breadman was definitely a legend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WLCHONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,008
    182
    118
    49
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The most incredible gourmet experience of my life”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Steirereck im Stadtpark is simply an incredible and amazing gourmet experience and exceed all expectations. While expensive, it was worth every cent and more not only for the incredible food and wine but also for the atmosphere. I went for the 6 course degustation with matching wines and a lovely glass of Austrian sekt to start with. The 6 courses end up as 9 courses (three amuse-buche to start with) as well as breads from a cart laden with a wide variety of different breads.

The matching wines were spot on to enhance and complement the flavours and textures of the food and included wines from Austria and other regions of Europe.

The staff were very attentive and all excelled at their job including the ease with which they moved from German to English to service the customers.

This is molecular gastronomy at its best and well deserves its 2 Michelon stars and the rating of Austria's best restaurant.

I did this on my own (with my IPad) and did not feel out of place - solo or large party - this is an experience of a lifetime and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank babyaisiebarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not at the expected level”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

At first, just let me say that this review is based comparison with other two star michelin restaurants, and the high expectations that such an award sets. This is a beautiful place with highly competent people, but they simply did not deliver and need to work on improving both in the front and kitchen:

- Service was imprecise, not very friendly, occasionally amateur style. Not close to the experiences I've had other places. Sloppy serving (spilling water all the time), bad presenting, little explanations, and just not the good feeling you need in a place like this.
- Food presentation replaced by little paper pieces, nice to get documentation, but if feels a bit industrialized to save time for each table. Impersonal.
- The same with wine. The sommelier did a good job with wine matching, but serving it was not very impressive. Carrying several bottles in each hand, lining up glasses by the table. It just no give that feeling of being in a 2x star.
- Finally, the most important: Food. It feels like Steirereck has gotten its 2 stars for the genuine impressive and inventive creations in the kitchen, and I have never gotten so many things that I've never seen on a meny before. But, in the end, taste rules all, and it was a continuous disappointment taste-wise (felt by both me an my partner). I have never been at a place at this standard, and ended up with amazing looking dishes that basically had little taste (or not very pleasant).

So, sorry this was simply not good enough. This was the my 5th 2 star restaurant this year, and by far the most disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ketil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Eating Experience but Poor Service”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Unique experience - amazing combination of top irgendients with wonderful results, perfect food portions... the best venison steak and even steak ever! The staff, however, a bit cold, hardly smiling and somehow always in a rush, apart from the main waiter who was taking care of our table.

It was our first time in Steiereck so we expected and we also asked for being introduced how things work and how we can enjoy our 7-courses menu. Instead, straight from the beginning we were receiving small surprises from the kitchen which was nice but we felt somehow lost and unguided. The waitress serving us the meals did not pay much attention to our request what made us a bit angry. We hoped to talk to the manager and share our feedback when leaving the restaurant but here the rush again - he gave us our jackets, said bye and then he quickly turned around and was gone. Disappointing.

All meals were great. If the restaurant is reading the reviews - I would just recommend not to use the cooked/steamed romain lettuce with the nicely prepared duck. It tastes 'cheap' in the form as prepared and does not fit so well with the rest of the meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maju5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

What is not to like- had the degustation and matched wines and the food was compelling, the staff brilliant and good value too.
It is the best restaurant in the city.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steirereck also viewed

 

Been to Steirereck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing