We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Austrian Food”
Review of Schnitzelwirt

Schnitzelwirt
Ranked #74 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Neubau
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Austrian Food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant for schnitzel. We were not disappointed. The place was full of local people. The schnitzels were massive and delicious. We declined the offer to take our left-overs home!! Simple rustic food, a shared table with a lovely Austrian couple who were very informative about the area. This is an excellent "local" restaurant. House wine was delicious. All in all a delightful evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony130258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    353
    95
    42
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Cheap and delicious”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We order wien schnitzel which is 6.7euro and the other unbread with cheese and ham schnitzl which is 11.9 eu. It's very cheap and delicious!!!! I recommend here!!!

Helpful?
Thank Wan-Chen H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“ate so much I got sick”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Being in VIenna, I had to have a schnitzel and the guidebook recommended this restaurant. I ordered the schnitzle and for 6.95 Euros I got the biggest portion that I have ever received in any restaurant. While I didn't get sick because the food was of a poor quality, I should never have tried to eat that much because I was miserable for most of the night. It was very good though and it is quite a charming place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hoosierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good cheap food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Found this place by chance and saw the reviews were good. Obviously a place frequented by the locals. Portions are enormous and very cheap. Service is mostly efficient though waiters are quite brusque and not especially friendly. Worth a visit though uf you are starving. Tou will definitly leave full!

Helpful?
Thank virginboy747
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zuentersbach, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Only Schnitzel nothing else”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went to this restaurant because of all the positive review. We went there friday evening and it was really busy and full. Service was McDonalds style but we didn't mind and because it was very busy it was ok. I don't like Schnitzel but we went there because our friends love it. Unfortunately they did not have anything else but Schnitzel, Fries and patato salad...every other item on the menu was not available. (which is stupid, why do you have a menu then?) So be aware that if you go there on a busy night they probably don't have anything else. The Schnitzel was huge and our friends loved it. So if you want to eat Schnitzel go there, if you want something else (like Gulasch etc.) don't go there because they might don't have it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julu j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schnitzelwirt also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Schnitzelwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing