We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in Vienna, you have to eat Schnitzel @ least once and this is the place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Figlmueller

Figlmueller
Ranked #65 of 4,076 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old University Quarter
Description: Auf die Speisekarte des Figlmüller Wollzeile gehören auch andere Klassiker der österreichischen Küche wie Wiener Tafelspitz mit Schnittlauchsauce, Apfelkren und Rösterdäpfel oder Kalbsrahmgulasch mit Butternockerln. Von den 13 Gerichten auf der Karte wird aber meistens nur eins geordert. Das Figlmüller Schnitzel ist ausschließlich von der Karreerose, wird auf einen Durchmesser von etwa 30 cm geklopft und in Brösel von der Kaisersemmel paniert.
Toronto
Level Contributor
203 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“When in Vienna, you have to eat Schnitzel @ least once and this is the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Felt like a tourist restaurant however the food was good, plentiful and well priced. We were lucky and got a table without a reservation. Saw lots of people being turned away so either make a reservation, come early or late. It isn't a restaurant where people linger so lots of turnover.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,544
    2,117
    708
    208
    165
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best Schnitzel we've had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

The best Schnitzel we had on the whole trip. We tried both the chicken and the pork Schnitzel and were sad to see it finished. The potato soup was also delicious. If your looking for a good schnitzel you won't find a better one in Vienna.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dxb
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Awesome! !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We can understand why reservations are needed....The most divine schnitzels we have tasted throughout our travels and our son reckoned it was the best gulash he's tasted. Quick and attentive waiters. Excellent atmosphere would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank TanjaDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“The best butter dumplings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by the owner of our rental accommodation. We arrived early for dinner at 5.45 and the place was already full. We were told that they would have a table soon so we waited. After 6.00 people started queuing and the waiters had to turn lots of people away. My advice book ahead as this place is very popular. I think word has gotten out on trip advisor and guide books.

The reason most people eat here is the enormous Schnitzels (as big as a plate). They would be the biggest I have ever seen. Some reviews have suggested to share one but where is the fun in that. I have a teenage son and he is always hungry and one of these filled him up. I tried the veal goulash and butter dumplings. This was a real winner for me.

This restaurant is not a place where you want to relax over your meal for a few hours. The staff here get you in and out quickly. We were pushed out quickly after we finished our meal in about one hour tops. Once you order the meal it is in front of you within 10 minutes. They needed our table for the people waiting in the queue.

However, after the huge amount of food you really need to get moving quickly afterwards.
Note this restaurant does not serve beer only wine.

Probably the best meal I have had in the Czech Republic and Austria.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Arrived there with family and were seated right away eventhough we hadn't made a reservation. Food was tradititional and delicious. The place is cosy and charming. Staff were a bit overwhelmed though. Still, a restaurant worthwile visiting!

Helpful?
2 Thank Theodoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Figlmueller also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Figlmueller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing