We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brezlg'woelb

Brezlg'woelb
Ranked #219 of 4,076 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have eaten at bwezel und gwolb before and looked forward to it. We arrived and were welcomed and ..,after ordering off the menu sat there for two hours while locals around us got served. Obvious attitude problem.
Be careful of the older waiter. Left without food. Won't ever eat here again be cautious

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    111
    38
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We learnd about this restaurant on a travel guide. It is located on a small street that looks like an alley.
We chose a table outside the restaurant, right on this narrow street.
It was quite late for lunch, over 3 pm, on a holiday but we were very gently served by the kind lady that was taking care of outside tables.
Tipical austrian food was good with big size portions. The pretzels worth their fame and went very nicely with the beer while waiting food.
I will certainly return on a next trip to Vienna.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I, along with a friend, actually stumbled upon this restaurant while searching for places to eat in Vienna. What a find!! We were greeted warmly, seated immediately, and given exquisite service throughout our meal. Our waitress provided perfect recommendations, was neither neglectful nor intrusive, and also gave a bit of history about the food, wine, and location. The food? Incredible. Start with warm, perfect pretzels and chilled Riesling Move on to the house goulash, specialty lentil dish (with the most incredible ham ever) or spaetzle with cheese and herbs. Finish? Don't go for the usual streudel....try the house special. Warm, delicious....unlike any we have ever had. Finish it off with some schnapps, also made on the premises. A wonderful, wonderful meal....in every way!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner on First Night In Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I had just arrived in Vienna and this restaurant was a recommendation from a local as we asked for traditional Austrian food -- and what a find it was. We were seated in the dimly lit cellar for dinner and served a beef broth soup; beef, potatoes and carrots for dinner; and apple strudel for dessert. Everything was delicious! Even the pretzel that was served as an appetizer was scrumptious, as was the red wine that is specially made for this restaurant. Our waitress, a lady from Serbia who spoke five or more languages, made our dining experience even better with her explanations about the cellar, the food, and the countries to the south of Austria. Overall, my wife and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wishing to experience authentic Austrian dining. If we go back to Vienna, we will absolutely go back to this restaurant. It was awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelNJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This building in the heart of downtown Vienna was first mentioned in the 1500s so when our Viennese friend led us into the restaurant, then down, down and down into the cellar, we were blown away! The low curved ceilings, the painted walls, the old eclectic wall-hangings! She had reserved a specific table weeks ahead - it was in the nook of the original baker's oven! It was so unique and charming, that we almost didn't even care if the food was good. But, I must say, the food was amazing! Naturally, I had the schnitzel - it was the size of my plate! My husband had a beef dish that was delicious and our friend had a vegetarian dish that was so incredibly tasty. Our waiter was funny - very droll and sarcastic but he was attentive and good-humoured, so we didn't feel like 'Oh tourists!' Original and very unique. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timber9762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brezlg'woelb also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Brezlg'woelb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing