We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and not too expensive”
Review of Rosenberger

Rosenberger
Ranked #342 of 4,158 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $2 - $22
Cuisines: International, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Inner City
Ottawa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty and not too expensive”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This cafeteria-style restaurant came recommended by our local tour guide (who we caught eating there during her lunch break from us). It's about two storeys down from their shop, close to the main square and St. Stephen's. The first storey down contains extra seating and their clean restrooms, so it's a good place to use the bathroom for free!
The food was well-priced for Vienna and it's location (I paid about 12 euro for roast chicken and potatoes, and about 3 euro 70 for a coffee, but it came with a free mug), but not cheap. The food was tasty, and looked fresh and appetizing, but it wasn't anything special. Made to order food had specific foods, or you could pay for a variety of salads and cold food by the size of your plate, or some combination. We ended up returning for a mid-afternoon snack of pastries and coffee. Wifi was free but not very strong.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurrerE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    174
    91
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A cost-effective place to have dinner in Vienna”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We ate dinner at Rosenberger twice this past September during our visit to Vienna. If you're visiting Vienna and don't want to splurge on dinner at the expensive restaurants there, you need to be aware of this place. It is self-service -- closer to what I'd call a cafeteria than a restaurant -- but the food is quite adequate, and the staff all appear to speak English. There is a good selection of foods; we never left hungry, and never spent what seemed like a lot of money. If you want unforgettable, gourmet Wiener schnitzel, you better go to a more upscale restaurant and shell out more euros. But if you're happy with a satisfying meal that doesn't break the budget, Rosenberger is a place that you should check out.

It is conveniently located one block south of the Albertina (or just north of the Vienna Opera House) on Mayserder gasse, toward the south end of the Kärntner strasse pedestrian mall. After dinner, it was a comfortable walk up past the Hofburg to our hotel on Schottenring.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChapelHillBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean & friendly ”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is in the basement of their shop. Tucked away near the Cathedral, out of season it's a nice quiet space. I searched it out after husband & sister-in-law visited previously. Some food is cooked to order by friendly chefs who can speak enough English to help, other food sits looking inviting & seems to be refreshed frequently. Free wifi means this is a good place to lunch & plan your days. Not cheap, but what do you expect for this quality in this position (McDonald's this is NOT!). I think it'll get busy in season & at weekends.

Helpful?
Thank J_W_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“My favorite good self-service restaurant with delicious food”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a my favorite restaurant in Vienna. It has a great location just a few blocks from Opera. I like it because is a self-service restaurant with delicious food for all occasions, for the lunch, branch, dinner or just for cup of coffee with a cake. There is a big offers of different kind of salads, a side dishes, two kinds of freshly prepared pasta, meat, fresh juices or desserts. It's not cheap, but not very expensive. Also I like two floors with big choice of seating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Only location !!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

First of all, it was very very expensive.
Even worse not delicious, unkindly staffs, unclear price and not clean the tables at all...
We will never visit again !

Helpful?
1 Thank Oilmoney0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosenberger also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Rosenberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing