We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated. Cigarette smoke. Long wait & confused/disorganised seating arrangement.”
Review of Demel

Demel
Ranked #7 of 105 Coffee & Tea in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overrated. Cigarette smoke. Long wait & confused/disorganised seating arrangement.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived picked out cake and were given a ticket. No issue then told to take a seat. We then went into the restaurant and found the rest of the hoardes alternatively waiting for a table or trying to elbow the fellow diners out of the way in a survival of the fittest attempt to get a table.
To be fair after getting a table Frau Monica was very good as a waitress.( service rated down due to the disorganised approach to getting a table.) We unfortunately and unwittingly got a table in the smoking section...

The famous "tort" tasted dry and ordinary to us. The coffee was alright. The wood panelling and old world atmosphere was very nice. The smoke and the chaotic arrangement for getting a table really put us off though and this is reflected in the ratings.

My advice for non smokers who MUST come here is sit upstairs in the non-smoking section otherwise give it a miss.

Smokers will probably over being able to smoke inside but there are plenty of place to do this in Vienna without the wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,195
    1,707
    879
    343
    205
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The shortest visit of my life”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We have heard of Demel Bakery for years. It is a well known Bakery in the very heart of Vienna. Its pasticery is known by the whole city. Yet our experience was very short. To many clients and no room to sit and no incentives to stay. That is what shocked me.

Full at the ground floor. The first floor had a large room but all the tables were taken. Next to it, there was an empty room with several tables. They refused to open that second room. I went to the cashier and asked why, but it was as they did not care to open this section nor to apologise.

I wish I could have received a very compassionate look instead I received a very indifferent look and no longer logical reason. The pasticery looked so great and delicious but we could not sit anywhere.

So I directly left the place. We were seven of us. It was indeed the shortest visit of my life in such a renowned place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Donato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ignore the comments about rude staff (they really were not rude) and just enjoy the wonderful cakes.

The Esterhaz Torte is excelnnet as is their Sacher Torte

If you are as keen as we were you can also try the Demel Torte (also made from chocolate)

Enjoy !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeMike1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go up to the Main Hall in the Second Floor”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

On your way up stop by the kitchen and watch them work at their famous bakery and desserts, it's inspiring! If you truly want one of he best tables by the windows, call ahead and make a reservation. We never did and think that all their tables are good specially if Nina is attending them; she's efficient, thoughtful and makes great suggestions. We went to Demel both for breakfast and lunch and they were simply superb. Eventhough we did not go to the Demel for their outstanding desserts, they looked inviting and everyone around us seemed to be enjoying them a lot. Old world charm!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chiariport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Give this one a miss.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We tried both this and Sacher Café when in Vienna. Both charge about the same (€4.90 for a piece of cake) but the choice and product in Demel were so inferior, we cannot imagine why anyone would come here. It is a nightmare to get a table, the waiting staff were rude with chaotic and patchy service. The cakes were stale, dry and, frankly, very cheap tasting. Priority is given to favoured customers of the waitresses (possibly their family). The washrooms were dirty and very basic. Smoking of a cigarette is allowed, but not pipes or cigars!?! Dogs are also allowed, and not just assistance dogs. Go in, look at the beautiful old fashioned chandeliers, the fabulous dark wood furnishings and the pastry chefs at work and then go somewhere else to eat - unless you have a dog or want to smoke!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheValients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Demel also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Demel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing