We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hot Chocolate and Cakes were Excellent, service poor!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Demel

Demel
Ranked #6 of 104 Coffee & Tea in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The Hot Chocolate and Cakes were Excellent, service poor!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a tourist destination, it,'s extremely crowded. And you have a long wait. And you are rushed to eat and leave. But the hot chocolate was excellent and the assortment of cakes we had at our table was a chocoholic (which I am) delight. I also stopped downstairs and purchase a box of chocolates that were amazing, still thinking about them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Locure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,140
    1,654
    851
    328
    193
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Smokey and very busy”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I went in for their famous Sachertorte, however, the cafe was smokey. Even though they had a non-smoking room upstairs the smoke on the way up there just ruined my appetite. I don't see why the entire cafe is not non-smoking - the Austrians appear a decade or two behind other cities with non-smoking laws. I did however take a small slice of Sachertorte to go. It was OK, I'm sure I would have enjoyed it a lot more with a coffee service. Otherwise, since Demel caters to tourists it is expensive. If you are a non-smoker I recommend you take something to go and avoid eating in the cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea_613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The back rooms are way over crowded, so we sat at the coffee bar. An excellent choice! The waitress there was very helpful and friendly. Our pastries were very good as were our coffee drinks.
Please note that when I rated the bar scene in this restaurant that it refers to the coffee bar!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sussrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rude service”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I would stay away from there. It's very crowded. They have a display of the cakes they have on the entrance, I ordered something and was given a number which I had to ask what do with it. I was told to sit first. And then I had to ask where to sit...
Then I waited to be seated by the host which didn't even ask for the number I was given and I had to give it too her, so I waited and waited...when I finally got the cake the waitress expected me to order another thing from the menu when all I wanted to do is to get out there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_ISR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte FL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great place to watch the bakers through the window as they make the assortment of pastries and cakes. I try to stop by this place everytime I'm in Vienna. Get there early as it tends to get busy towards noon. I've never been disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janej565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Demel also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Demel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing