We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Landtmann

Cafe Landtmann
Ranked #71 of 4,075 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: International, German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: The epitome of a Viennese coffee house In 1873 Franz Landtmann opened “Vienna’s most elegant cafe location“. Even today, the Landtmann ist the epitome of Viennese coffee house culture and one of the last grand cafes along Vienna’s Ringstraße. Come and enjoy the wonderful world of Viennese hospitality and tradition, as have numerous prominent guest over the decades, from Sigmund Freud to Gustav Mahler or Hillary Clinton.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The food is very good, but the service could be slightly improved. Also the sweets are very tasty. The terrace is easy to spot when walking in the area, nice view.

Helpful?
Thank Iulia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    694
    248
    88
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok place with horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I would say you do not go to this institution on principle. The cakes are not bad but you can find exactly the same in cafe museum as they supply to them. Unfortunately due to their location this has become a tourist trap, they are charging apart from their already inflated prices 1.5 euro to serve you water that comes from the tap for free. This is really wrong as people already pay for this through taxes and no other establishment charges this vienna water fee.

This disgrace to the vienna restaurant circle should be shunned. Take your custom to more friendly and quaint cafés like cafe central.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidSymms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Querfeld, Inhaber at Cafe Landtmann, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Google Translation
Dear DavidSymms,
I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations.
Yes, our Café Landtmann is an institution since 1873. It is part of the social life of Vienna. The “Landtmann” is on the list of the UNESCO for living Viennese coffee house culture. We are proud of that. About 60 percent of our guests are regulars. We welcome guests from Vienna, Austria and around the world visiting Vienna and our coffeehouse. A Viennese coffee house is a place where guests often stay for hours, sitting comfortably and often spending time with smallest consumptions, enjoying the additional supply of e.g. free newspapers and free Wi-Fi. This is what we offer. Our Patisserie produces handmade fine Viennese pastries, and we are proud of being count to one of the most renowned pastry shops of Vienna. We as well supply the Café Museum also owned by our family. We do not trap our guests. On the contrary, we give our best to offer perfect service and transparency to avoid misunderstandings. I regret that we weren’t successful with you. All prices including all taxes are shown in our menu (including those of water) which ist laid out on all tables and can be viewed before ordering. Traditionally we do of course serve a glass of free tap water with every coffee, hot chocolate and ice cream. We serve as - as beverage of your choice - Viennese tap water as an alternative to still mineral water, charging a low contribution margin for the general costs including tax. Setting or cover or any other taxes mentioned by you, which include tap water, are not charged by us. By the way, tap water is not free in Vienna. It is charged to us by the City Council on consumption together with sewage charges and taxes.
Berndt Querfeld

Sehr geehrte/r DavidSymms,
ich bedaure sehr, dass wir Ihre Erwartungen nicht erfüllen konnten.Ja, das Café Landtmann ist eine Institution seit 1873. Es ist Teil des gesellschaftlichen Lebens in Wien. Das Landtmann steht unter Denkmalschutz und ist auf der Liste der UNESCO für gelebte Wiener Kaffeehauskultur. Wir sind stolz darauf. Über 60 Prozent unserer Gäste sind Stammgäste. Wir freuen uns über Gäste aus Wien, Österreich und aus aller Welt, die Wien und uns besuchen. Ein Wiener Kaffeehaus ist ein Ort, in dem Gäste oft stundenlang, bei oftmals kleinster Konsumation gemütlich sitzen, Zeit verbringen und das Zusatzangebot von Zeitungen bis gratis WLAN genießen. Das ist unser Angebot. Unsere Patisserie erzeugt in Handarbeit feine Wiener Mehlspeisen, und wir freuen uns zu einer der renommiertesten Patisserien Wiens zu zählen. Wir beliefern auch das zum Familienunternehmen gehörende Café Museum. Wir stellen unseren Gäste keine Fallen. Im Gegenteil, wir sind bedacht darauf, bestes Service zu bieten und unser Angebot transparent zu legen, um Missverständnisse zu vermeiden. Ich bedaure, dass uns dies bei Ihnen nicht geglückt ist. Alle Preise inklusive aller Abgaben sind in unseren Karten ausgewiesen (auch die für Wasser), welche auf allen Tischen aufliegen und vor Bestellung eingesehen werden können. Traditionell servieren wir im Landtmann selbstverständlich zu jedem Kaffee, Schokolade und Eis ein Glas Wasser als kostenloses Beigetränk. Gerne servieren wir Ihnen als Getränk ihrer Wahl, alternativ zu stillem Mineralwasser, Wiener Wasser und verrechnen dafür einen geringen Deckungsbeitrag für die allgemeinen Kosten, die Dienstleistung zuzüglich Steuer. Gedeck oder Couvert oder sonstige von Ihnen genannte Steuern, welche Tischwasser inkludieren, werden bei uns nicht verrechnet. Übrigens: Wasser kommt in Wien nicht kostenlos aus der Leitung. Es wird uns von der Stadtverwaltung nach Verbrauch gemeinsam mit Abwassergebühren und Steuern verrechnet.
Berndt Querfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
268 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Well deserved reputation...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Cafe Landtmann has a reputation based on years good food and service in the fashion of a landmark Vienna Cafe and being a haunt of famous people over those years. I selected the sausages plate with 3 types of sausage, mustards and a side of pomme frites,the best I had in Vienna. Their special Lemmonade was amazing, excellent service in an outdoor venue directly across from performance venues.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreyfus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not as good as they said”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We visited the cafe after locals recommendation but for sure is not as good as they said. It is better to say that it doesn't offer anything special. There are a lot better cafes than Landtmann.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Varnavas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Apfelstrudel (apple strudel)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We literally stumbled upon this place because we were walking around the city and needed to stop somewhere for a quick snack and to give our feet a rest. My husband and friend both had a beer and we all shared the apfelstrudel. It was AMAZING or rather "supa"! It was moist, sweet, and fresh. I've had apple strudel before in Vienna and it was dry and stale at cafe sacher of all places. This was definitely the best strudel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyous_Health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Landtmann also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Landtmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing