We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YOU MUST PAY A VISIT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Landtmann

Cafe Landtmann
Ranked #71 of 4,070 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: International, German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: The epitome of a Viennese coffee house In 1873 Franz Landtmann opened “Vienna’s most elegant cafe location“. Even today, the Landtmann ist the epitome of Viennese coffee house culture and one of the last grand cafes along Vienna’s Ringstraße. Come and enjoy the wonderful world of Viennese hospitality and tradition, as have numerous prominent guest over the decades, from Sigmund Freud to Gustav Mahler or Hillary Clinton.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“YOU MUST PAY A VISIT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We wen for just a quick hot chocolate and and apple strudel, but it was well worthwhile. This is one of Vienna's must do places. It's a real treat. It's not cheap, but treats often aren't. Very polite staff, lovely, relaxed surrounding, and nowhere in Vienna is hard to reach. I'm sure this would have been 5 stars for me if I had stayed for a meal. Next time I certainly will!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerryld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    693
    248
    88
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A VIENNA INSTITUTION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Smart waiters neatly attired. Nice furnishings and decor with outdoor seating to keep the tourists away from the serious aficionados. Cakes and pastries to die for - plus a full menu for a proper meal. What more could anyone want.

We arrived just before 13.00 and were welcomed by the waiters, seated side by side at a neat little table with a view over the whole proceedings. The full menu for a lunch meal was provided and after a short perusal we opted for a main course to share as a starter - Asparagus with Hollandaise and Parsley New Potatos. Delicious Asparagus and a well made Hollandaise.

For mains we had Chicken Breast coated in breadcrumbs in a Viennese style with New Potatos and Salad. The Chicken portions were generous consisting of an entire breast with the wing bone intact plus two more pieces of Chicken all coated in a wonderful crisp coating which must have inspired the birds in Kentucky to dress in a similar way albeit without the aspirations to haut couture in the Vienna version.

A whole bottle of Gruner Veltliner soon disappeared even though this was supplemented with a large carafe of Tapolina.

Great coffee to follow and a bill which was very reasonable considering the excellent quality of the whole meal.

The restaurant was very busy and yet service was spot on even though one of the more senior waiters appeared to be on the verge of a nervous breakdown. I will head here again at any time of day next time I am in Vienna.

Costa and Starbucks would be under serious threat if the concept of Cafe Landtmann ever came to the UK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I picked this restaurant on a whim as I was out and about early and didn't fancy paying twenty euro for a generic hotel breakfast. Good choice. I had fresh fruit, cheese and ham platter, yoghurt and compote and jam with fresh brioche rolls, all for less than the hotel and it was lovely to eat in a 'proper' Viennese coffeeshop, with style and character. I know where I'll be going the next time I'm in Vienna.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alun75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen aan Zee, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxed cafe, good dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

A nice and relaxed place to have a good dinner. Good and friendly service. Mid price. We did reserve in advance, as advised, but that was not really needed. According to the story, this was Freud's favourite place to eat. The Freud museum is nearby.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
278 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Nothing Special / It's Vienna not Emirates”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Ladies & Gentlemen. Unfortunately I'm born in Vienna and I feel extremely ashamed of the restaurant business of my own country. What you are going to expect in Vienna is very simple: the best service is self-service or rather: you pay for nothing. Just yesterday I have been to Cafe Landtmann and back ten-fifteen years ago went there as well. In the past decade++ it has only gotten worse and the pricing in such place is completely unacceptable. A breakfast for three people is EUR 73.90, without anything special: ham and eggs, orange juice and coffee, one hot chocolate. Don't order butter or ketchup, it is charged extra. If someone takes a bread-basket to your table, be aware that each piece of bread will be charged EUR 1,50, one small 0.25l EUR 6. The environment reminds me on the second world-war, the seats and tables are probably from back-then. At least for that price I would expect that the member of staff would be true gentlemen and assist taking a seat / taking off jackets and place it in a wardrobe, a waiter should remember which meal and orders gets to the appropriate person, not having to ask, "who ordered hot chocolate" and "who ordered the coffee", same thing for the dishes. For EUR 73.90 I expect leather seats and a far more pleasant environment from the second world-war, I and my friends actually felt like in the war-time. Truth to be told, I'm extremely disappointed and ashamed what Cafe Landtmann has become and hope that someone would buy this place, shut it down and renovates it on it's highest standards, but in the end: the people make the city / environment, not only the construction. It is probably not only about the Cafe itself, but Austria in particular and this is the reason why I left Europe / especially Austria in particular: it is a tax-country, as you can see on the invoice: it is being charged with 10% and 20% tax, EUR 9.33 out of EUR 73.90. For the same amount I can sit in the Emirates 8 Star Palace for breakfast / or have a lunch-package at the Burj Al Arab 7 Star Hotel, or even at the tallest building in the world, Burj Khalifa and enjoy an afternoon-tea-package at the 122nd floor / or eat lunch at 123rd floor, which can be directly accessed through the Armani Hotel. The Cafe Landtmann's location is not that bad, it is in the first-district, yes, but in fact it is next to the ring road; busy road, with tram and loads of cars, not to mention that the Cafe is next to a car-park. Especially Austria, famous for it's high taxes and self-service the best service there are loads of DIESEL cars, which makes the Cafe's athmosphere even better: let's have EUR 5,50 coffee without sugar, ask the waiter for sugar and have some DIESEL cars making this stay more pleasant; "TRRRRTRRRA GRRRRR TRRRRRRR". I'm actually surprised the waiter wouldn't charge me for sugar as well, you never know. If you would like to have a breakfast and coffee for a decent price in Vienna, Cafe Landtmann is not the best / first-choice: get to the St. Stephan's Cathedral directly, look for places to sit outside (without cars, it is a pedestrian road only) and have breakfast starting from EUR 3,90 / I'm sure they would offer you a great deal for ham and eggs. (in front of the IWC and Paul & Shark Shop is a great spot you probably don't want to miss). Last but not least, this is the most crazy part here: I just went with my wife to Milan (Italy) and spent one night in a five star hotel, one night was EUR 72, for a private suite with 45 square meters, including welcome-gift, sauna, fitness, swimming-pool, plus all-you-can-eat-breakfast. How could you possibly compare one breakfast to a whole night in a five-start hotel, that even includes breakfast in a more pleasant environment?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SQUALO85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Landtmann also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Landtmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing