We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - brilliant staff”
Review of Novotel Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Wien City
Ranked #128 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed October 6, 2013

2013 was the 5th year that I have stayed at this hotel and I keep going back because I find it such an enjoyable experience. The hotel, which is well appointed and cleaned to a good standar, is located just outside the Ring which makes it ideal for sightseeing. The staff are most helpful, speak good English and seem to enjoy their work! I recommend their own website as being a very accurate representation of what they have to offer.

Room Tip: The very best rooms are on the 8th floor I have also stayed in a corner room which was quite adequat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewJ548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
723LindaP, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Andrew,
many thanks for your nice and highly appreciated words! They even have a very special weight, because you stayed already 5 times with us!

We are all very happy, that you enjoyed your stay again and you rated the staffs service attitude in a high level. We promise to go on hosting our guests in the true sense of the word.

Hope your trip home was fine and hope you have a wonderful automn!

Yours sincerly,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

No service/missing food at breakfast whereas you're in a rush, catastrophic wifi, desk on which a 17 inch laptop doesn't stand, no alarm clock except by tv, obstructed shower, ugly furniture... Except that, hotel OK. Good location

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Cedric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
723LindaP, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking your time to write about your impressions after your stay.

In fact I am not sure how to answer your remarks, because we offer big working tables, adjustable and it is possible to place more than one 17 inch lab top on it. We offer alarm clock on the TV, on the telephone - both for self use - and additionally you have the possibility to ask the reception staff for a personal wake up call.

I deeply hope that your remark are based on a misunderstanding and I would be very interested in clearing this.

Besides I hope you had a satisfying stay and we would be very pleased to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerly,
Linda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel Wien City for four nights at the end of September 2013 and would highly recommend it to anyone. The hotel is very clean and has a soft scent throughout, the staff are really helpful and polite. The rooms are very nice, spacious, tastefully decorated and very comfy, the hotel is in a perfect location just off the Danube canal and between the Nestroyplatz and Schwedenplatz underground station, and only a very short trip into Central Vienna. The bar area is very nice and a place to relax after a day in the beautiful city of Vienna.

We can't rate the hotel highly enough but can only say if you are planning a trip to Vienna this is the place to stay, you will not be disappointed.

Thanks to all at the Novotel Wien City.

Luke & Stacey (room 509)
28.09.13 - 02.10.13

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staceyandluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
723LindaP, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Luke and Stacey,
a real big "thank you" for your very nice and highly appreciated words of praise! Our team was really very happy and your review can be found on our info board so every team memeber is able to read it.

We daily try to prepare our guests an unforgettable stay in Vienna, and such a nice feed back is the best motivation to go on giving your best day by day.

We hope that your journey home was pleasant too and you are well back home We would all be very happy to welcoming you again next time.

With kind regards from the autumnal Vienna
Linda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were ok but the WC and the shower were separate and that was quite inconvenient. Hotel staff was very helpful, great breakfast buffet. Location was good in terms of the metro station also hop on hop off bus stop. 2 min away is the Sofitel that had a great rooftop bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
723LindaP, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking your time to write about your travel impressions.

We are happy that you rated our service attitudes in a high level and that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope you had a stress free trip home and we will be very pleased welcoming you again in the future.

With my best regards,
Linda Pokorny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a single night stay for our family of 5. Quality of rooms was great but service quality in the restaurant very poor. Having driven from Prague, we arrived 8.30pm - tired and hungry. On entering the restaurant, I couldn't find any staff. Eventually, saw the waitress chatting in the kitchen to the chef so stood in front of the door until she noticed me.

Breakfast the next morning was worse. A mediocre selection in the buffet, hot food had run out and took a long time to be replenished. Glasses and cereal bowls also ran out - I had to ask for these after 10 minutes of waiting.

As a regular Novotel stayer, this was probably the worst I've seen. They should look at Novotel Berlin to see how to run a breakfast buffet

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Bruce3188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Pokorny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Novotel Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with our Restaurant I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Helmut Kvas
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I read a lot of reviews before choosing this hotel. It was well above my expectations. It's a clean ,quiet and peaceful hotel, at about 15 mins walk from the city center, tram, bus, and metro within 5 mins walking distance. Very courteous, helpful front office.good value for money in an expensive capital city like vienna.

Only thing that sounded weird was that the toilet and bath were separate, but that worked in favour as one of us could bathe while the other used the toilet.

Can't comment on the breakfast as I didn't have one.

Room Tip: We had a road facing room and even that wasn't noisy. Rooms were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Pokorny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Novotel Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Wien City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Helmut Kvas
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I did a lot of research for hotels in the city and decided on this one. I was not disappointed. Everything was as described. The location worked out well for us (close to city central but not in the middle where all the noise and traffic is). The room was clean and quiet...couldn't hear our neighbors or the cars. Breakfast area was good and clean. The toilet is in a separate room from the sink which is a little awkward but not too bad. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. For the price it was definitely worth it. I would recommend it for someone looking for a clean, quiet, hotel that's affordable.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank leecali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
723LindaP, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you that you have given us your impressions gained.

We are delighted that you have felt comfortable in our hotel and you are satisfied with our services.

Finally, we hope that you had a pleasant journey home and thank you again for your effort!

Sincerely,
Linda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Novotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
#97 of 359 in Vienna
112 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#134 of 359 in Vienna
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Adagio Vienna City
Adagio Vienna City
#136 of 359 in Vienna
832 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 359 in Vienna
1,120 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#116 of 359 in Vienna
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wien City

Address: Aspernbrueckengasse 1, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Vienna
#80 Business Hotel in Vienna
#82 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#93 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $108 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wien City enjoys a premium location in the heart of the historic city centre overlooking the Ringstrasse. This modern upper-midscale hotel offers 122 airconditioned rooms, 2 suites, 2 exclusive boardrooms, an exceptional restaurant with a bar, agym and sauna. Stephansplatz is only 500 m or 10 minutes walk away. Relax in the nearby Stadtpark (City Park) or on the lively banks of the Danube Canal. Parking is available nearby and there is an underground station right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wien City Hotel Vienna
Novotel Hotel Vienna
Novotel Vienna
Vienna Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing