We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First experience at Novotel Wien City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Wien City
Ranked #120 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“First experience at Novotel Wien City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Receptionists are clever, gentle, kind, and helpful. The room was clean; the bathroom was a bit cold. The garage is not in the building but it is not so far. It is a small disadvantage in winter. The hotel gave me a good first impression. I will stay a night at this hotel next week again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank water_lily189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for taking your time to express your experiences in the Novotel Wien City after your return home.

It was a pleasure for me to share your comments with my time, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna you rated our service attitude in a high level.

Finally we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
With our best regards from Vienna,

Linda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    654
    161
    34
    21
See reviews for
556
358
67
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights in February 2013 and was very disappointed. I am a regular Novotel user and even Accor loyalty card holder, but had very bad experience at this hotel. Wifi is advertsied but it did not work. The room's are extremely stuffy and airless and you can not open windows. Air conditioner or rather blow heating from vent in ceiling would not work with any power and made loud noise and dried air, then would not stop making noise even wehn turned off. Room was small and tight. Maids barged into room both nights without knocking early in morning and all for 4 star price. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliverAdelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for taking your time to post your comments concerning your stay in our hotel to the travel community.

Please take our apology for the uncomfortable feeling you had with the air condition in your room. Windows can be opened in most of the rooms, just in three of them we have been forbidden by the authorities to do so, for security reasons. Unfortunally these windows can only be tilted.

We are very sad, that our efforts, in offering a room change and upgrading did not compensate your discontent condition during your stay.

Finally we hope you accept our repeated apology and we would be happy to welcoming you again, to get a chance demonstate our service attitude to you.

Sending best regards from Vienna
Linda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I jgot robbed in this Hotel....I was having breakfast put my expensive bag in the chair, table really close to the buffet turned around to grab a glass of juice and the purse was GONE!! No cameras on the premises, just around the reception desk... WOW you are in Vienna in a good Hotel, kind of expensive and no cameras??? Your bag got stole??? They called the police... NOTHING:( Big dissapoinment form a city which I really like! Not comming back to this hotel, plus the review that I posted before was deleted as if was a lie.
Ah...in top of everything: The pillows were really bad... bad quality and nothing really good for the value of your money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cf0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all please take again my serious apology for the inconvenience you had to face with the theft of your hand bag in our restaurant!

Although we have cameras recording all doors and the lobby, this will not protect against such incidence. The restaurant and the hotel are popular meeting points for many people, not only for our hotel guests and we are happy to welcome each of them. As in any other public sector you have to keep an eye on your personal belongings.

I undestand your anger, as it is really an unpleasant experience to be robbed, but please except that the hotel has no possibility to prevent you for dishonest neighbours.

Finally I hope you had a good trip home and we would be happy to welcoming you again!

Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Well sited hotel just on the North side of the Danube canal. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was great: not the usual business cafeteria style of other hotels in the chain. Try the chef's taster of crossover dishes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and it has been a pleasure for me to share your feed back with my staff.

Finally we hope you had a trouble free trip home, looking foward to welcoming
you again in the future.

Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Novotel Vienna is located within walking distance to the conference center (Messe center) and the center of the city and the reception staff was very friendly.

However the hotel itself is rather ordinary. My guess is that it is an ordinary building from the 70's which they have tried to shine up.

The fitness room can really not be characterized as such. It is very small and only has three machines and no free weights.

Next time around I will be looking for a better alternative.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbj1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time posting your comment after your stay in Vienna.

We are very happy that you rated our staffs service attitude at a high level.

Concerning your addtional impressions, we are very sorry that you did not feel comfortable and we excuse for the inconveniences you had to face. Our Novotel is a modern design hotel and we know that this is not typical for Vienna.

The hotel has been completly rebuilt in 2007 and we are very proud that - as we are in a historical protection zone - the old facade built in the early last century - has been restored. To find a connection with the modern Novotel style, additional floors have been built up, covered with a structured glass facade - alltogether an exiting combination of architecture.

Finally we hope besides that you will keep good memories about your stay in Vienna and we will be very happy to welcoming you again!
Sending our best regards,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Novotel is located 3 stops from the centre of the city. The train station is only 100 metres away and it has a lift - good for us to take the train to the Airport. It is in a quiet area and expected of Accor chain, it is more a business hotel. Decor is plain unlike some boutique hotels I have stayed but it is quiet and most important comfortable. Vienna us a great city and one hour by train to another city in another country - Bratislava, Slovakia!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffmachoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for taking your time to express your experiences in the Novotel Wien City after your return home.

We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna you rated our service attitude in a high level.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
With our best regards from Vienna,

Linda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is located close to the city centre, not far from public transportation.
Staff is helpful but not particularly friendly. I had to ask twice for an iron, and was awaken in the morning for me to pass it along.
They did not ask me whether I wanted a room with a view that made me feel like being in a prison (see pictures). I did not get any discounted price for this room.
I had a drink at the bar, and the waitress's look made it clear she would have prefered being somewhere else.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing in terms of variety, and I had the privilege to taste an uncooked croissant. However, I was served a tasty double-expresso.
The room was large, clean, with a toilet seat to high above the ground to make it feel comfortable.
This hotel seriously lacks charm and friendliness. If you get room 518 (but there are more with a similar view), don't get in there or ask for a discount.

Room Tip: Refuse to get rooms with a "view" on the inside courtyard. 518 is one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mybloodyvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
many thanks for your feed back you shared with the travel community after your return home.

Please take my serious excuse for the uncomfortable feeling in our hotel. Following all the positive statements you are able to read I asure you that this is not the usual service attitude we offer to our guests.

I am very sorry that you did not ask for a room change during your stay, or gave us a short note that you did not feel comfortabel. We would have been pleased to change the room for you.
Besides the mentioned points we hope your overall memory of your trip to Vienna is a good one.

We set already a remark concerning your likes in your guest profil and would be pleased to welcoming you again in the future.

Sending our best regards
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#142 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#119 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hotel City Central
Hotel City Central
#54 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wien City

Property: Novotel Wien City
Address: Aspernbrueckengasse 1, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Vienna
#80 Business Hotel in Vienna
#82 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wien City enjoys a premium location in the heart of the historic city centre overlooking the Ringstrasse. This modern upper-midscale hotel offers 122 airconditioned rooms, 2 suites, 2 exclusive boardrooms, an exceptional restaurant with a bar, agym and sauna. Stephansplatz is only 500 m or 10 minutes walk away. Relax in the nearby Stadtpark (City Park) or on the lively banks of the Danube Canal. Parking is available nearby and there is an underground station right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wien City Hotel Vienna
Novotel Hotel Vienna
Novotel Vienna
Vienna Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing