We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff was very friendly, but the rest was rather ordinary”
Review of Novotel Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Wien City
Ranked #125 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The staff was very friendly, but the rest was rather ordinary”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Novotel Vienna is located within walking distance to the conference center (Messe center) and the center of the city and the reception staff was very friendly.

However the hotel itself is rather ordinary. My guess is that it is an ordinary building from the 70's which they have tried to shine up.

The fitness room can really not be characterized as such. It is very small and only has three machines and no free weights.

Next time around I will be looking for a better alternative.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbj1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time posting your comment after your stay in Vienna.

We are very happy that you rated our staffs service attitude at a high level.

Concerning your addtional impressions, we are very sorry that you did not feel comfortable and we excuse for the inconveniences you had to face. Our Novotel is a modern design hotel and we know that this is not typical for Vienna.

The hotel has been completly rebuilt in 2007 and we are very proud that - as we are in a historical protection zone - the old facade built in the early last century - has been restored. To find a connection with the modern Novotel style, additional floors have been built up, covered with a structured glass facade - alltogether an exiting combination of architecture.

Finally we hope besides that you will keep good memories about your stay in Vienna and we will be very happy to welcoming you again!
Sending our best regards,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    681
    172
    35
    24
See reviews for
583
373
70
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Novotel is located 3 stops from the centre of the city. The train station is only 100 metres away and it has a lift - good for us to take the train to the Airport. It is in a quiet area and expected of Accor chain, it is more a business hotel. Decor is plain unlike some boutique hotels I have stayed but it is quiet and most important comfortable. Vienna us a great city and one hour by train to another city in another country - Bratislava, Slovakia!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffmachoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for taking your time to express your experiences in the Novotel Wien City after your return home.

We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna you rated our service attitude in a high level.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
With our best regards from Vienna,

Linda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is located close to the city centre, not far from public transportation.
Staff is helpful but not particularly friendly. I had to ask twice for an iron, and was awaken in the morning for me to pass it along.
They did not ask me whether I wanted a room with a view that made me feel like being in a prison (see pictures). I did not get any discounted price for this room.
I had a drink at the bar, and the waitress's look made it clear she would have prefered being somewhere else.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing in terms of variety, and I had the privilege to taste an uncooked croissant. However, I was served a tasty double-expresso.
The room was large, clean, with a toilet seat to high above the ground to make it feel comfortable.
This hotel seriously lacks charm and friendliness. If you get room 518 (but there are more with a similar view), don't get in there or ask for a discount.

Room Tip: Refuse to get rooms with a "view" on the inside courtyard. 518 is one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mybloodyvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
many thanks for your feed back you shared with the travel community after your return home.

Please take my serious excuse for the uncomfortable feeling in our hotel. Following all the positive statements you are able to read I asure you that this is not the usual service attitude we offer to our guests.

I am very sorry that you did not ask for a room change during your stay, or gave us a short note that you did not feel comfortabel. We would have been pleased to change the room for you.
Besides the mentioned points we hope your overall memory of your trip to Vienna is a good one.

We set already a remark concerning your likes in your guest profil and would be pleased to welcoming you again in the future.

Sending our best regards
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed 5 nights - metro train station close by - if you want to walk about 15 mins to centre of ity. A very clean, tidy and efficient hotel. Very helpful with all our request for travl information and taxis. reakfast also very good and Dinner quite reasonable. Enjoyable to stay there and would like to return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bareberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your wonderful review to your stay in our hotel!

We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and you rated our service attitude in a high level.

We hope you had a good trip home and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
With our best regards from Vienna,

Linda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is located just across the river from the city centre and takes 5 minutes to the metro/tram station. Also, airport bus leaves from the very same area (Schweden Platz if I can remember correctly). It's the cheapest and very quick airport connection if you're staying near by. Otherwise, metro is very good.

The hotel looks just like any other Novotel. Nothing special but nothing about it is bad. Staff are friendly. Our room was located on level one facing the street and because it was winter our window was closed so we had no problem with traffic noise. Also, the room was right near the lifts yet we never heard any noise from the lifts or the guests. The place is well built.

The room itself is quite comfartable but not too big. The bed is good which I only appreciated after I stayed at another hotel a few weeks later where the bed was attrocious. The bathroom was clean and quite big and housekeeping service was good.

The stay was really comfortable and we had no complaints. Everything was just right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch0gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your wonderful review to your stay in our hotel!

We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and you rated our service attitude in a high level.

We hope you had a good trip home and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
With our best regards from Vienna,

LInda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel wasn't bad, but the customer service was disastrous, notwithstanding repeated pleas and reminders. Be warned, if anything goes wrong, you'll be on your own. A number of items included in our rate were not in fact supplied, or were not working properly, and no amount of chasing, asking, reminding would solve the situation. Advice given to us was incorrect and led us to spend considerable amount of money in out-of-town trains uselessly - we were sent to the wrong destinations - and overall I wouldn't recommend the hotel at all.

That said, the hotel was clean, the rooms were good and breakfast was excellent (though again, it's pretty expensive seeing as it wasn't included in our room rate).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisg765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Customer,
many thanks in advance for taking your time to express your experiences after your return home and to share your impressions with community.
For all the inconveniences you had to face on your trip to Salzburg we express our serious excuses.
We are very sorry that the information concerning open hours, we found for you in the Internet concerning the attractions you wanted to visit in Salzburg had changed.
We hope besides this you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and the short trip to Salzburg.
Sending ou best regards,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Close walk (15min; it's 1.1km by Google Maps and not 500m as per Novotel website as of Dec '12) to Stephansplatz and good public transport options nearby.

Friendly reception greeting - most staff generally friendly - though no help offered with numerous large bags. Comfortable bed. Room was directly next to elevator and didn't notice any noise from elevators and/or other guests. Didn't use minibar or tea/kettle, but seemed like a reasonable selection.

Double superior big enough for two but not for longer than 3 nights, especially with winter luggage and small wardrobe. Rooms made up daily and as expected, however bathroom supplies not restocked when needed and bath towels very small. Large overhead showerhead (in a small shower) difficult to use as it floods the bathroom; hair dryer of insufficient strength and hadn't been cleaned for some time. Bathroom door offers little privacy

Not of the quality I would have expected for a four star Novotel.

Room Tip: Double superior only big enough for a couple of nights; no view to note from the third floor, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzCoffeelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for taking your time to review to your stay in our hotel!

We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and you rated our service attitude in a high level.

We hope you had a good trip home and wish you Good Luck for 2013!

LInda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 360 in Vienna
966 reviews
Inner City
Adagio Vienna City
Adagio Vienna City
#111 of 360 in Vienna
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#123 of 360 in Vienna
1,464 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#60 of 360 in Vienna
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wien City

Property: Novotel Wien City
Address: Aspernbrueckengasse 1, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Vienna
#80 Business Hotel in Vienna
#82 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#90 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wien City enjoys a premium location in the heart of the historic city centre overlooking the Ringstrasse. This modern upper-midscale hotel offers 122 airconditioned rooms, 2 suites, 2 exclusive boardrooms, an exceptional restaurant with a bar, agym and sauna. Stephansplatz is only 500 m or 10 minutes walk away. Relax in the nearby Stadtpark (City Park) or on the lively banks of the Danube Canal. Parking is available nearby and there is an underground station right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wien City Hotel Vienna
Novotel Hotel Vienna
Novotel Vienna
Vienna Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing