We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contradictory mixture of obvious virtues and ‘flies in the ointment’”
Review of Novotel Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Wien City
Ranked #123 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Contradictory mixture of obvious virtues and ‘flies in the ointment’”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were looking for a modern, centrally located hotel for our 6 days special occasion family stay with a guaranteed late check out and restaurant on site. Novotel Wien City hotel had a good TA rating and was the only one among Accor Vienna hotels offering prepaid late check out. ‘5 Senses’ restaurant looked like an interesting option as well.

Positive sides:

- One of the main advantages is the location of the hotel: metro station ‘Nestroyplatz’ is just around the corner, at the same time it is 15 minutes walk to Stephansplatz, Prater, 20 minutes to Hundertwasser House.
- Another value of the hotel is that it has friendly personnel (majority) . We especially appreciate the attitude of the restaurant brunette waitress who remembered our drinks orders at breakfast – it’s a small but a very welcoming part of the whole atmosphere when you stay for 6 days at the hotel.
- The way from the airport took less than 20 minutes. The way to the airport took less than 15 minutes as we had an F1 driver from AirportDriver company who pressed other cars for his VIP way at the speed of 150 km/h.
- Effective soundproof windows – no noise from the street although there’s a busy crossroad.
- Reception calls taxi for guests.
- Bathroom is quite up-to-date.
- Bathroom cosmetics has a pleasant aroma and its set was always fully stocked.
- We had enough fresh towels every day except foot towel.
- Cleaning was fine everyday although no bed linen change after 3 days as we expected.
- The room was warm and dry, conditioner work was OK.
- We asked to empty our minibar so we could keep kid’s food and it was done with no problem.
- Double bed mattress and pillows were comfortable for us.
- We asked for the second blanket for our double bed and it was provided quickly.
- Complimentary mineral water (0.33) every day in the Executive room.
- Slippers and bathrobes are provided in the Executive room.
- Demmers tea bags in a tea facilities set.
- Nespresso machine in the room is just great.
- Table service for hot drinks at breakfast.
- Free breakfast for kids.
- It’s good to have a restaurant on site when it’s cold and your kids are tired to go out for food. The only better option would be to stay in apartments. Restaurant offers kids menu and 24 h in room service.

Unfortunately the hotel did not meet our major expectations in terms of room space layout:

- As we entered our Executive room it greeted us with a dirty carpet and the stain was there during all our 6 days stay,
- We felt a strong lack of space – it’s the 1st time when we felt that extra sleeping bed spoils the room – almost no pass to the window, no low coffee table. Later we were told that Standard and Executive rooms had the same size. I don’t know if it is an international Novotel standard size or just the size of this particular hotels rooms but we think it is ok only for 1-2 night stays or for no more than 2 persons.
- The wardrobe in a ‘up to 4 persons’ Executive room was like two kindergarten’s lockers – impossible for a 6 days stay of 3 people at cold time and no coat pegs in the corridor for outer clothing which would help,
- We felt the lack of space in the bathroom as well: no pegs or rails for face towels, no peg for clothes, just 2 pegs for bathrobes, there was little space around the sink - it looked nice on the photos but in the corner rooms it looks like a ‘cut’ one set against the wall with no space on the right side.
- The hairdryer was very weak and got very hot at the same time – shame for such a brand as Valera.
- Bathroom door design leaves no privacy for the person inside – the door has a vertical clearance space and no lock. Luckily the door was in the corridor so you could not see it from the room and WC is behind a separate door (again no lock).
We’d liked that bathroom door design on the photos but didn’t expect it would be a hole-ridden one. As we saw these doors on a few other Novotel hotels photos we understand it is Novotel design ‘point’ but we found it uncomfortable in reality.
- Extra sleeping place had sticking out springs – it was uncomfortable even to sit on it not to mention child’s sleep. As sofas are standard Novotel furniture we guess time was just up for that particular one ,
- It’s the 1st time there was only one blanket for a double bed, it was a rather discomfortable first night as we’d noticed it too late,
- Housekeeping/minibar personnel slam rooms doors early in the morning so that our wall was shakening. I thought it was some unadequate guest and came out to look what was going on just to see personnel delivering things to our neighbour rooms.
- But the main discomfort was at night as there was a constant noise coming from some technical system above in the ceiling. May be it’s because of the floor, may be because it’s a corner room, we asked to send a technician to check but were told there was no technician at the hotel, we asked to show us another room but as the only possible for a change was on the same floor we were not sure there wouldn’be the same noise at night and on top of that the bathroom door was looking at the room with the same hole. I had to convince my husband to try and tolerate the noise for another 4 nights. No need to say it was discomfortable for him for all 4 nights as he is a light sleeper.

Our kid didn’t care much about any of these shortcomings – just took it as it was but there were two things she was very disappointed about: kids corner appeared to be not a permanent one as we thought: one day she ran out there – but there was nothing – kids corner was reequipped as a business corner, no sign there was any playground before. As she never met in her life that a regular kids playground could suddenly disappear at night she was very sad about it. It’s a pity for a hotel positioned as a kids friendly to upset kids with no prior notice. Another disappointment was right on the first entrance of the hotel: she liked the deer (Hirsch) on the hotel’s site so much while we were booking that was looking forward to coming and getting a picture with this animal which looks really great oh the hotel’s major photo. But unfortunately ‘Hirsch has gone to the North’. At first we even thought the taxi driver left us at ‘another’ Novotel as this Hirsch became in our heads the integral part of the hotel entrance ambience.

Breakfasts: if there were breakfasts included in the price then we would say that for an included 4 * chain hotel breakfast this one was quite a sufficient one: variety and service were there as it should be. But as you pay 34 Euros per family every morning it would be difficult not to notice glasses with dangerous rough edges, preserved ananas and mandarin which gone sour, hardly warm scrambled eggs one morning and long waiting for orange juice carafe back.

Restaurant a la carte menu: I think they are still in the middle of their way to unconditional win over the common clients taste. We had 2 dinners and 1 lunch there. To our taste traditional cuisine is a good one: we tried chicken and veal Vienna style and it was fine. We ordered chicken strips and french fries for our kid (kartoffelbrei had a sauer taste which the kid was not used to and we couldn’t finish it either). It is convenient with a kid not to go out in cold weather but just to go downstairs to have dinner. So to be honest we came the other 2 times there just for our kid who was too tired to go and eat outside. For City Lunch we took pork and chicken grill. Pork was too hard & dry even for a grilled one, chicken grilled strypes were OK but they were served in some liquid sauer rice porridge with punishing for bad behaviour taste so that even the taste of chicken swimming there was punishing.
To our Russian taste beetroot is not really part of high cuisine as it is a cheap vegetable which is an everyday product for most Russian families and we had beetroot several times during our 2 dinners and 1 lunch... too much and not at the right place. We also don’t like foam which is very popular here. ‘Taste of the day’ which comes as a compliment was the same both days – we didn’t like it on the 1st day and were confused to see it again... We were offered the same ‘tastes’ at Pullman’s XXenia restaurant and firstly they asked us if we were interested to try it, secondly it was different every time we came there.
There was some unknown pieces of something drifting in the glasses with beer both times we ordered it.
If modern stylish ambience, eco design and quiet atmosphere are priority for the client then he will enjoy the place. The waiters are also nice people so we didn’t want to upset them straight into their face that we were struggling to eat some of the ordered dishes – it’s not their fault anyway. Our dinners were 50 Euros, city lunch 30 Euros.
Another place to eat next to the hotel is just around the corner – Vapiano self service pizzeria. Our bill was 25 Euros.

Food shops: there is Billa supermarket close to Nestroyplatz and some other small and normal supermarkets on the way to Prater.

Clothes, etc. shopping: we liked Donauzentrum, 10 min. by metro (Kagran), direct line. There are toys shops and a kid’s playground.

After our stay we received a standard Novotel questionnaire. I have to admit that Novotel is not indifferent to it guests opinion and it is a professional attitude. Our major discontents were not left unnoticed by the management and were compensated so that we are not left afterwards with sad feelings – our family appreciate this openness for improvements.

All in all I can advise this hotel 1/ for 1-2 persons stay, 2/ for one family night. In this case all shortcomings would be just temporary while as if you stay longer than 3 days then it depends on the amount you paid for the whole package. And although the hotel is proud of its kids stay free policy I would advise not to sacrifice space for the sake of this promo if you come with an active kid or 2 – there’s Accor Adagio aparthotel 200 m away from Novotel with 2 room apartments and kitchen for the same price as Novotel compact room. We took Novotel as it was a 4 star hotel (Adagio is rated as 3*) and Adagio couldn’t guarantee a late check out. But in the end I think space for 6 days is more important than a couple of extra hours in the room on the last day.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with no noise from the ceiling. If you need privacy in the bathroom don't take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarinaBA_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community.

We are very happy you overall enjoyed your stay and it has been a pleasure for me to share your feed back with my staff.

Concerning you comments about unsatisfying points, I hope that our explanations and on the spot help we offered was convenient for you.

Finally we hope you had a pleasant trip home and would be pleased to welcoming you again in 2013.

With our best wishes for New Years Eve
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    670
    168
    35
    22
See reviews for
576
364
69
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for five days and the service was great. The hotel is very central, just five minutes walk from the tube and ten minutes walk from Vienna centre. The breakfast was lovely and the staff was very helpful throughout!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Diane X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your wonderful review to your stay in our hotel!

We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and you rated our service attitude in a high level.

We hope you had a good trip home and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
With our best regards from Vienna,

LInda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have chosen this hotel because we were not able to find places at our regular one in Vienna and based on other TripAdvisor recommendations. We were not at all disappointed.
The location is quite good, at 5 min by tube from Stephansplaz, or 5 minutes walking to the Ring.
The atmosphere is quite typical for a Novotel with a modern rather minimalist Frenchie design which still felt warm and homey somehow.
The staff was quite friendly, professional and helpful. The friendliness factor was above Viennese standards which are on the cold side many times.
The room (a triple one has a quite comfortable expandable couch) was roomy enough with all the amenities and endowments one expects in a 4 star hotel. despite facing a quite busy road, the room was quiet enough.
The hotel restaurant, 5 Senses, was a very nice surprise with very good quite interesting and tasty food.
This is definitely a children friendly hotel, the staff not only acknowledge their presence in a very nice and genuine way, but also are ready to offer nice small gifts. Our boy received a brownie, a toy watch and a candy and we stayed only 4 days there! I have to mention the Chef, Eve, for the tasty food and also for being kind enough to come and greet my boy after he loudly appreciated the salad he was having. The genuine smile, the brownie and the whole gesture were a nice touch!
Not to forget the free wi-fi with decent speed in the room!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucianMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Each teammember was really happy with your highly appreciated feed back! For sure such nice words are the best way to motivate all of us hosting our guest with a warm welcome and making their stay a remarkable one.

Special Greeetings from Eve to your wonderful son, who's on thje best way to become a gourmet!

Finally we hope you had a fine trip home and we will be very pleased welcoming you again in Vienna,
with best regards,

Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have used this hotel, when visiting the Vienna Christmas markets, for the last two years. This year we had a "superior" room (having signed up for the Loyalty programme) which was a good size , with shower room and separate toilet. Only failing was the condition of the carpet - I would expect hotel room carpets to show some sign of wear and tear. This one had been severely attacked with fluids of some sort and it appeared that no attempt had been made to steam clean or address the matter - it looked dreadful.
Otherwise, the hotel is well positioned for sightseeing and transportation; facilities are good; the staff are very courteous and helpful (and speak good English). Despite the one complaint, we shall still use Novotel on our next visit to Vienna.

Room Tip: In the winter months, the hotel is very warm !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and it has been a pleasure for me to share your feed back with my staff.

Concerning you comments on the carpet, please take my personal excuse. We are doing our best to keep everything in best conditions, but sometimes we are not as quick as we have to.The carpet in the room you stayed at has been cleaned this week. Thank you again for your time and your openess!

Finally we are pleased to read, that you will return in the Novotel Wien City! We hope you had a fine trip home and we will be happy welcoming you again the next time,
with best regards,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very clean and modern hotel near center. I was there with my mother and we had really nice time. We both love Vienna and opera in this city. We visited Volksoper and by taxi it was about 15 minutes.
Stuff very helpful. Very good breakfast. Check in was perfect. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Each teammember was really happy with your highly appreciated feed back! For sure such nice words are the best way to motivate all of us hosting our guest with a warm welcome and making their stay a remarkable one.

Finally we hope you had a fine trip home and we will be very pleased welcoming you again in Vienna,
with best regards,

Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were very happy with this hotel. We stayed in July with our two children, and whilst the room was not very big, it was well laid out & adequate for the purpose. We booked breakfast, which was a good quality, and sufficiently varied in content. The hotel staff were very helpful, particularly the front desk, which makes a big difference when it is a first stay in a new city. Having a top quality espresso machine in the room was also a nice touch.
Would definitely return

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your wonderful review to your stay in our hotel!

We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and you rated our service attitude in a high level.

We hope you had a good trip home and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
With our best regards from Vienna,

LInda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The executive room was a bit small for four of us compared to other Novotel we have stayed in. The service at front desk and the restaurant was good, especially the guy with glasses who wears a different uniform at the breakfast. The hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk from the old town. It is a nice stroll if you don't mind walking. If you have young kids, they might complain like ours did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dami88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and it has been a pleasure for me to share your feed back with my staff.
Finally we hope you had a fine trip home and we will be very pleased welcoming you again in Vienna,
with best regards,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#136 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#124 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Adagio Vienna City
Adagio Vienna City
#120 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel City Central
Hotel City Central
#55 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#30 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wien City

Property: Novotel Wien City
Address: Aspernbrueckengasse 1, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Vienna
#80 Business Hotel in Vienna
#82 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#88 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wien City enjoys a premium location in the heart of the historic city centre overlooking the Ringstrasse. This modern upper-midscale hotel offers 122 airconditioned rooms, 2 suites, 2 exclusive boardrooms, an exceptional restaurant with a bar, agym and sauna. Stephansplatz is only 500 m or 10 minutes walk away. Relax in the nearby Stadtpark (City Park) or on the lively banks of the Danube Canal. Parking is available nearby and there is an underground station right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wien City Hotel Vienna
Novotel Hotel Vienna
Novotel Vienna
Vienna Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing