We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, bright and good location.”
Review of Novotel Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Wien City
Ranked #122 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, bright and good location.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on a city break. The hotel was clean, bright and airy. Rooms were comfortable and air-conditioned which was welcome in the warm weather. The monsoon style shower in the room was good.

The hotel is just 30 seconds around the corner from Neoplaytz U-Bahn (metro/tube station) so well placed for getting to the hotel from the airport or visiting all the sights should you not fancy the walk.

Tip: Make sure you get a good detailed map as we found it easy to get lost even though our map was fairly detailed.

Also get the S-Bahn train from the Airport to Wien Nord/Praterstern which is close to the hotel (1 stop from Neoplaytz) and only 4EUR one way.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to write down your personal experiences during your visit in our hotel.

We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay. We hope your trip home was comfortable and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Vienna!

Sending our best regards
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    670
    168
    35
    22
See reviews for
576
364
69
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed in for two nights with my partner on weekend, the hotel location is good close to Metro but we did not use it as we walked around the town. It’s really close to river and also tram 68 which you can catch it from the other side of the river to the palace direct.

Reception nice and clean also the staff helpful

Rooms are good size and clean, big bed on the room I guess king size there was no bath in on shower room and toilet separate.

We did not have breakfast so we don’t know how the service and breakfast is.

Two downsides are the windows extra small no natural light and also the wifi not strong on the rooms, but was for complimentary so no complain.

City was ok nothing special, museum quarters is good and also the palace

Room Tip: ask not the front of the hotel wher the tv offices are on main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SyleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all many thanks for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay...

We hope you had a good trip home and we will be pleased welcoming you again in the Novotel Wien City!

Best regards,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nicely decorated modern hotel, good location - 3 minutes walking to the U red station, close to the city center (wich is not realy matters in vienna as long as you have close U station), good breakfast with a lot of choice, they even gave to our children a little toy on check in.The stuff was nice and helpful. The only thing is that 1 room is too small for family of 2+2 but well - this is how it works in big cities... Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateSh_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Family,
thank you very much indeed for your motivating words and the time you spend to post them.
For our team, always trying hard to improve services, your review is the best confirmation to be on the right way.
We hope you had a trouble-free trip home and we would be very happy to welcoming you again in Vienna.
Kind regards,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we have booked 2 night nonrefundable double executive at Novotel City Wien in august 2012.
we had a very bad experience with an austrian air company pilot.
due to this unpleasant incident, we arrived at the hotel in the last night only, by about 1 AM.
unfortunatelly, by mistake, one of the receptionists accommodated someone in our full prepayed room.
after 24 hours spent on an island airport, we found have not a bed to rest.
the boy at reception desk did the best to find a room in the another hotel in vienna and succeded.
after a very bad experience with an austrian air company pilot, we were as upset as possible.
in the morning we made a complaint to the general manager.
we were very well impressed and we appreciated how the general manager resolved our problem by personal involving.
they apologize and give us compensation in the best adequate way.
beside of this, they offered us the opportunity to stay there 1 night for free.
all our best regards to the general manager.
she succeded to make the end of our holiday happy.
on a scale from 1 to 10 we give 10 POINTS FOR MANAGEMENT AND FOR THE ADEQUATE WAY TO RESOLVE THE INCIDENTS.

we high reccommend this hotel.
a really 4 stars hotel.
the hotel is not so far the ground zero.
take a walk for 10 minutes and you are near the Stephansdom.
rooms are clean and adequate even if you need an extra bed for child.
air conditioning works properly.
free wi-fi, excellent in room signal.
the receptionists are very polite, kind and helpfull.
they do the best in order to help you.
good car parking garrage, plenty of places there.
breakfast good and many choice of cold/hot food and fresh fruits.
bio natural juices.
you can enjoy a late dinner in the hotel restaurant.
we definitelly will come back.
we give 8,5 points for the hotel room and the public area.

Room Tip: ask for an executive at 8 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovigalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your highly apreciated words. I am so happy that I got the chance to save the rest of your holidays, after thebad experiences you had to face.

We hope you had an uncomplicated trip home and we will be very pleased welcoming you again in Vienna,

All the best for you and your nice family!
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on a dull and rainy Viennese evening, however on interacting with the friendly staff and the positive vibe and aura coming from the hotel and its people it changed our mood for the better.
Each and every staff member we encountered was awesome and always carried a smile on their face no matter the time, they were well informed about the area,

the location of the hotel to everything is just brilliant

All my requests ranging from a higher floor room to the late Sunday evening check out as promised on their website were honored.

The only minor complaint is the room i had booked says complimentary water and apples, however for 2 persons they give only a single 300ml bottle of water and apples are given only on the day you arrive, the quantum should be looked into or they should remove this particular added feature of the room from the website.

All in all a great stay will definitely be back again

Room Tip: The hotel offers complimentary late check out on Sundays till 1800 hrs which is very beneficial if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Each Teammeber enjoyed your highly appreciated feed back!
Your remark concerning the water is well received! Will think about it...
Finally we hope you had a fine trip home and we will be very pleased welcoming you again in Vienna,
with best regards,

Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Helpful and friendly staff who speaks fluent english, clean rooms, delicate bathroom, healthy and well-balanced breakfast, walking distance to the city center and easily accesible with public transport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much indeed for your motivating words and the time you spend to post them.
For our team, always trying hard to improve services, your review is the best confirmation to be on the right way.
We hope you had a trouble-free trip home and we would be very happy to welcoming you again in Vienna.
Kind regards,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#137 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#123 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Adagio Vienna City
Adagio Vienna City
#118 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel City Central
Hotel City Central
#56 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#30 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wien City

Property: Novotel Wien City
Address: Aspernbrueckengasse 1, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Vienna
#80 Business Hotel in Vienna
#82 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#88 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wien City enjoys a premium location in the heart of the historic city centre overlooking the Ringstrasse. This modern upper-midscale hotel offers 122 airconditioned rooms, 2 suites, 2 exclusive boardrooms, an exceptional restaurant with a bar, agym and sauna. Stephansplatz is only 500 m or 10 minutes walk away. Relax in the nearby Stadtpark (City Park) or on the lively banks of the Danube Canal. Parking is available nearby and there is an underground station right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wien City Hotel Vienna
Novotel Hotel Vienna
Novotel Vienna
Vienna Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing