We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #18 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“this is value”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great location very close to U1 station, central railway, markets and Favoritenstrasse shops. Single room and bathroom are spacious, well furnished and impeccably clean. Buffet breakfast is fun and substantial. Staff are knowledgeable and attentive. There is even an underground secure garage. Oh, and the wifi is free and works well provided you are near the hotspot.

Room Tip: first floor is best as you can climb the stairs or use the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello

We are really thankful for your comment and rates.
It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.

We hope to see soon.

Thank you and kind regards

M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    196
    114
    32
    15
See reviews for
88
115
69
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
secret
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is good value for money.
Underground parking is very small.
Interior is interesting, rooms are spacious, lift is slow.
Morning breakfast buffet is great! They have cereals, milk, coffee, juice, ham, bread and various spreads.

Location is also good. Just a short walk to subway station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all_the_names_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hey :)

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast.

We hope to see you again.

Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in winter - december 2012

good thing: near hotel is a metro station (Keplerplatz) 3-4 station to city center, outside hotel there is market, restaurants, shops..etc so location of hotel is good.
Rooms are ok, furniture is good, only bad think about room is bathroom, it's stinks. Luggage room is story for it self :) it was smell like the fungus(like bad old cheese).. I don't know but something is dead there :D.
Safety box is terrible. It's in hotel lobby, like locker in stores with glass. We didn't try, it's not looks safe enough.
Sleep quality is good, there is a busy street outside but we slept very fell.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Maki_Maki_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you again.

Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Meininger hotel has double/twin ensuite rooms just like any other hotel. It also has dorms like some hostel. However, it's main feature are multibed ensuite rooms, which makes it perfect for groups of friends and (especially larger) families with children.

Rooms themselves are pretty basic, but nice, new, clean and spacious, all with separated toilet and shower. Nothing fancy, but also you don’t miss anything important.

The hotel provides a small bar, pool table, fussball table and some basic drinks/snacks/sandwiches available at the front desk 24/7. It also has its own garage for guests, which is pretty important in a city with parking problems like Vienna. You have to pay for it, but I’s still both better and cheaper than cruising for parking on the streets around the hotel. (Important: You have to book the garage spot prior to your arrival.)

Breakfast is not the best and not the worst I had. I’d say it’s on the level expected for this level of accommodation. It’s a buffet “all you can eat” breakfast, but no hot meals (like eggs or sausages). It’s very practical that it is usually not included in the room price, so you can choose every morning whether to eat at the Meininger, to eat out, or to skip the breakfast altogether.

The location is generally OK (only 8 minutes by U-Bahn from Stephans Platz, and the station is just around the corner) and perfect if your main point of interest is on the southern Vienna outskirts.

The stuff was friendly, helpful and efficient, both during our staying and prior (in our telephone contacts – for example about the garage spot and about the booking adjustments). All the stuff members working at the front desk and picking up the phone speak good English.

Being there in late August, we did not feel any problem due to lack of aircondition in the room, though this may affect your staying during those few extremely hot days that Vienna gest every Summer.

Safety, both of rooms and of garage, is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurgerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hey :)

Thank you very much for your nice and long review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We hope to see you again!

Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at our accommodation to be greeted by unhelpful staff. But the rooms are nice. No air con so it gets quite hot at night and if you.open the window you'll lots of noise....traffic,people etc.
Its near an underground...a3 minute walk. Id stay again but for a lesser price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamas87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello :-)

First of all we would like to apologize for this unpleasant welcome on your first day and about the air condition, which we do not have.

But we will definitely work on it.
We hope to welcome you another time.

Thank you and kind regards

Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is strategically located 30 seconds walk from the trains. The room was huge and very clean, great showers, etc. Very good breakfast for a very small fee, and above all, very friendly staf.. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Chai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

We hope to see you again.

Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#33 of 196 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
Address: Columbusgasse 16, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Vienna Central Station is situated in the heart of Vienna, directly by Hauptbahnhof station, Vienna's former South Station. The baroque palace Belvedere and the Karlsplatz are only round the corner. It's just a 10-minute train ride to the city centre. In addition to modern rooms, the hotel also offers free WiFi throughout the hotel, a bar and a gamesroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing