We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - you should stay here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #15 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, and loved it! We were expecting a hostel, but to us this felt like a hotel - this is a good point! The room was absolutely massive, spotless and very modern. You could not want a nicer room than what we had! The staff were great, and there was a small bar area at reception. You can buy drinks and snacks to take to your room at reception too. We were at first worried about the location, as it was not on the map we had, and we thought it would be miles from anything. We did not need to worry though - the location is very good, right next to a metro, and you can be at the main sights in 5 mins. This place was fantastic, we wil recommend it to anyone who is coming to Vienna, and we will always look out for other Meininger hotels/hostels in other cities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emc420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 536 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

I just stayed for a night but the staff was friendly, the rooms were clean. Especially the bath rooms. A plus is that toilet and shower are separated. The location is also very good. just 15 minutes by underground from the city center. The price is also almost unbeatable if booking at least 2 weeks in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b20_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I only stayed here for one quick night (needed a cheaper place at the end of a business/personal trip since I actually had to foot the bill that night). The room was far more spacious than my expensive hotel's had been. Bed was comfortable, hostel and street below were quiet all night. The 24-hour reception is very helpful. The U-bahn is really just outside of the door, and you're three stops away from the city center. It was perhaps more casual than a hotel, but was clean, functional, and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. Wi-Fi worked great in my room on my Mac.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is OK. It's a budget hotel very closer to center, shopping area.
In room we had enough space (four beds room), but it could be more cleaner. Wi-fi available everywhere.
I don't recommand the breakfast.

Room Tip: Preferably, for 10 euros more, with parking place reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurentiu_Pavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Meininger has all that you need for stay in a hotel: big, comfortable and clean rooms, very near to the centre of the town and the subway close to the hotel. We have our own bathroom (it wasn´t a shared room) and it was fantastic also!
I recomend it sincerelly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was my 3rd times to stay in Meininger's. What makes me impressed? Its simplicity, budget oriented and of course excellent wifi in the room. For those who seek for comfortable sleep after spending more time to explore the city it is a perfect choice. One more thing, it's location so close to U bahn station and shopping street around Keplerplatz. You may say that I'm a Meiningerholic.

Room Tip: There are lots of food stalls belong to Turkish for those who want halal food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Its very close to the center, and the metro station, once we walked up, it just appeared in front of us. The staff were very nice and friendly and willing to help. We lived in a 6-persons room, the room was very clean and comfortable with Wi-fi available everywhere (except in Kitchen). Prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanShing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#56 of 359 in Vienna
1,066 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 222 in Vienna
971 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#48 of 222 in Vienna
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Address: Columbusgasse 16, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: $27 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Vienna Central Station is situated in the heart of Vienna, directly by Hauptbahnhof station, Vienna's former South Station. The baroque palace Belvedere and the Karlsplatz are only round the corner. It's just a 10-minute train ride to the city centre. In addition to modern rooms, the hotel also offers free WiFi throughout the hotel, a bar and a gamesroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing