We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #16 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    196
    114
    32
    15
See reviews for
88
116
69
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've stayed here several years ago with some friends and it was really nice and clean hotel.

This time we were staying here for 1 night only. The room was extremely dirty. The floor was covered with dust balls and stains, all the furniture was covered with dust as well. Windows were dirty.

I would not go there again. There are much better located and cleaner places to stay in Viena.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in May 2012; it was our 5th stop on our euro trip. We chose this hotel because of its modern look and the price.

The location of the hotel is just off a shopping street in what felt like a Turkish district. The area seemed a little dodgy but we had no problems and the hotel was a good young vibrant hotel. It was easy to find and reach as there are large signs and it is close to the metro.

The room was very clean, plenty of space and overall very pleasant. The rest of the hotel had seemed to be used by students of all ages from a school trip to university students such as our selves. My advice is that it’s idea for travellers and students; I’m not so sure it would be so ideal for older or quieter couples. A must visit in the area for us was the zoo (it’s the oldest I was told) and the centre, although very expensive.

Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanillaaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for five days with two friends of mine . We were totally satisfied .
The personnel was very helpful and kind ,our room was cleaned every day and the metro station was one minute on foot.

Room Tip: i think you should get in contact with the hotel so as to ask anything you want.They are very helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xarapolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A very nice hotel in center that gives you the opprtunity to go around center and see all!Very helpful and very nice enviroment!!!The decoration surprizes me and i will go again definetly there!They have clean and nice rooms but every place in Vienna the buildings that reconstructed are noizy!I think this is because of the original construction and not from reconstruction but anyway this is another story!I wish you nice holidays to a beautiful city and this nice hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Great location (2 metro stations from city center), and the staff is extremely nice. The rooms were clean and the sheets too. My only complainment is about the little bit old noisy beds. But a good place, I will definately come here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndakwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in December 2012. Everything was really good. There was wifi (which was fast enough to browse the web on my phone) in the room. The room was very clean. The bathroom was clean too. The city center is 30 minutes on foot but the metro station is quite close and you can reach the downtown in a few minutes by using the public transport. There is an underground garage for the cars as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 360 in Vienna
1,572 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 201 in Vienna
898 reviews
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#38 of 201 in Vienna
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
Address: Columbusgasse 16, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Vienna Central Station is situated in the heart of Vienna, directly by Hauptbahnhof station, Vienna's former South Station. The baroque palace Belvedere and the Karlsplatz are only round the corner. It's just a 10-minute train ride to the city centre. In addition to modern rooms, the hotel also offers free WiFi throughout the hotel, a bar and a gamesroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing