We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Ranked #5 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hostel”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location 2 blocks from the Metro. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm that was generally clean, with nice lockers and beds. My only compliant was the bathroom floor was Soaked after anyone took a shower and you pretty much needed shoes to use the bathroom at this point. It was cleaned daily so this was helpful. Generally a great experience.

Also great breakfast and a nice in-hostel bar to socialize. Great restaurant nearby to have some wiener schnitzel and a beer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    202
    77
    10
    7
See reviews for
23
128
165
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a private room with a private bathroom for four nights on our recent trip to Vienna and had a good experience. The Lounge is in a great location, less than a five minutes' walk to the Westbahnof metro stop. This isn't super close to major attractions, but the metro system in Vienna is ridiculously easy to use, and the location was still super convenient. The area the hostel is in has lots of cheap options for quick food (lots of Turkish and kebab places, pizza, coffee, Chinese, etc).

Wombats is a chain, and our hostel definitely had a large feel to it. Our room was bare bones, but clean and comfortable. There is free wifi offered, but if you want to use one of their computers there is a small charge. The hostel has a bar in it and when you check in you are given a couple of coupons for free drinks. The bar was pretty fun, and it was nice to have that option right in the hostel. One night when the wifi wasn't working, the very cute young gentlemen at reception apologetically gave me an extra coupon for a free drink at the bar, which was very appreciated. Overall, the staff at the front desk was pretty helpful. They recommended a bus that we take from Vienna to Budapest, but it would have been nice if they had given us a heads up that the pick up stop for the bus is pretty hard to find.

We tried the hostel's breakfast one morning but wasn't that impressed, so we ended up going to coffee shops for breakfast the other mornings during our stay.

The hostel offers a free walking tour of Vienna, which was fun and informative.

This hostel is a good value, in a good location, and clean and comfortable. It feels pretty big, which maybe is why my friend and I didn't really meet any fellow travelers, but maybe we just didn't try hard enough. Overall, I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the start of an Interrailing trip in scorching August. We arrived late and left very early, which is why we'd chosen a cheap dorm room, but we were very pleased indeed with our choice.
The hostel is less than a minute's walk from Westbahnhof, from where our train was leaving.
We received a very warm welcome, and my bad German was well received too! It took us a while to figure out which beds were free in the dorm, but the laundry all smelled and felt very clean, and the bathroom was clean too. The in-room lockers were a nice addition, as was the free beer in the downstairs (soundproofed?!) bar. We also appreciated free wifi.
I did struggle to sleep due to my proximity to an open window and loud traffic, but I think this was exacerbated because it was so warm and we had a loft room, so all windows were open!
All in all, a very cool place to hang out, exemplified by the fact that people were coming home when we left for our train at 5.30am!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelMary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hostel has the perfect location, close to the metro station/tram station and right next to the mall  the shopping street is down the lane. The hostel is huge and commercial. It’s different from the other cozy hostel you come across in Europe, but that isn’t a reason to complain. It’s just 2 minutes from the train station so it’s easy to get to the major site seeing places. There are 2 departmental stores next door so it’s easy to get basic eatables/water etc. The hostel has an underground bar with some limited food items, we tried the pasta which was filling and cheap. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with no noise from outside disturbing you. Before going to this hostel I read a lot about the breakfast at this place. But to be honest I was a bit disappoint with it. It was an all you can eat breakfast but the spread wasn’t that great. The wifi works in the rooms and in the 6 bed female dorm that we were in there were individual plug points for each bed along with a reading light, which I thought was really cool
The staff are friendly and help you with the information and maps you require to go around the beautiful city of Vienna

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_desi_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very nice and large hostel close to the train station, the rooms were clean and had private bathrooms within the dorms. The communal area was really big with a kitchen and a bar / club down in the basement. It was also quiet upstairs in the dorm room despite this which was a bonus. One of the better hostels we stayed in throughout our Europe trip. Free wifi.
We had to pay extra for the breakfast (but there was a good selection). The location is a bit out of the way and it was about a 40 minute walk to the central museum area unless you get the metro (which is close) but most of the hostels seemed to be quite far out anyway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Strawberry3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

really lovely. having stayed in the Munich Wombats the night before I wondered if it would be as good, but was very pleasantly surprised! i did feel it was a little darker and pokier than the munich one but overall very pleased with it. stayed int he 6 bed female dorm and had realy lovely roommates and had a really easy time getting to know them. I would be interested to try out the other vienna wombat hostels just to see which ones would be best for solo travelers as i didnt feel like the bar in the Lounge was really made for meeting new people - far too dark and small for that. great stay though - and best beds so far!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehoyermillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in the Wombat's hostel in Berlin so we were looking forward to coming again! We had a pleasant stay, the staff are friendly and its close to the city. It's value for money and the bar downstairs is a great way to meet people :) The rooms are big and clean, its almost like a hotel just bunkbeds instead of normal beds. It's quiet and there is a good community atmosphere! Great for people travelling alone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidfoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 360 in Vienna
950 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 205 in Vienna
911 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Do Step Inn
#20 of 205 in Vienna
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna 1150, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Lounge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing