We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Ranked #7 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was in Vienna in May of 2011 and stayed at Wombat's for 2 nights. It's about a 20 minute walk to the city center and it is a nice walk if you have the time. The room was fairly large by European standards (I was in a 4 person room with 2 bunk beds) and we had our own bathroom. Breakfast was not included with the room price but it was a fairly decent price for being right on site. There is a great bar downstairs. The U-bahn is nearby and easy to take to attractions outside the city center (we went to Prater Park for the evening which was easy to find). Great hostel!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 624 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the 8-person dorm room. The bathroom got dirty quickly and people had to wait for the bathroom whenever someone was in it - I'm not a fan of having one dedicated bathroom for a dorm room, but c'est la vie. Otherwise the place was clean. They make you strip your own bed and breakfast isn't free. There is a common kitchen. Location is next to the Westbanhof, but otherwise far from the city center where most of the attractions are, so I suggest buying the mutli-day public transport passes if you stay here. A nice bonus is that you can go to the other Wombats to get a free walking tour of the city, and there isn't any other free tour we could find. It's a great hostel, people were generally quiet in the dorm. Beds were nice, had individual lights and plugs. Recommend staying here!

Thank LilyABuck
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in a double room, and it was clean and big enough. It was really well heated, that was good at the end of December. It's close to metro and train station. The weather was not very good for walking but seems that it's not so far from the city center even by foot. And it has a good buffet breakfast for 3.80 euro

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stay in Wombats each time I'm in Vienna (3 or 4 times a year). If you are looking for clean, quiet, friendly budget accommodation with brilliant links to the key bits of the city and the airport, then this is the place for you.

When I stay here, I'm traveling for work so I just want a safe clean place to lay my head after I'm done with my business, before heading home. Wombats offers that. The staff are very friendly, the hostel is immaculately clean and the kitchen is well equipped, with lots of freebies, if you are really on a budget and are considering self-catering.

This time round I stayed with my parents. They were a little concerned by the boisterous hustle and bustle going on around reception on the ground floor, but I reassured them that upstairs, in their private room, it would be peaceful and clean.

They do a great job here keeping the activity and the serenity separate. Which is why they attract an interesting mix of travelers. At breakfast you'll see an interesting mix of young solo backpacker types and older couples all having breakfast together in the dining room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrisJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here in October and had a great time, met so many other travellers around the lounge area. One bad thing for though was the wifi connection, maybe because there were a lot of people connected but it was very bad for me. Other than that the rooms were great, staff were very friendly and helpful, also helped me out with some local lingo!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I discovered this hostel via internet, I made a reservation and a couple of days later I was there. For just 35 eur I spent three nights in an 8 bed dorm.

Very central, close to the main train station and subway, Wombats The Lounge has a very friendly staff ready to help you with anything you want. For just 3.80 eur you can have an all-you can eat breakfast. The builiding itself is quite big, it has 4 floors and many many dorms, a nice place at the reception where you can read, chat or just relax enjoying a cold beer.

I recommend ths place when in Vienna, it´s definitely worth it. Central, clean and friendly. Once a wombat, always a wombat!

I´ll be back!!!:))

Matei/Bucharest, Romania

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A very clean hostel, good value, and good location close to Westbahnhoff. Overall a good hostel to stay in. I paid 54€ for two beds in a four person mixed dorm for two nights during the week. The toilets and showers are clean. The breakfast buffet (bread, meat, cheese, fruit,vegetables, spreads, cereal, orange juice, coffee, tea) for under 4€ is great value. There are lockers in every room and power outlets at every bunk. The staff are very helpful with any questions, and readily call cabs or restaurants if asked.
The only downsides are that you have to put on your own bedsheets and wifi only works on the main floor.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 222 in Vienna
971 reviews
Do Step Inn
#23 of 222 in Vienna
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#47 of 222 in Vienna
509 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
#44 of 222 in Vienna
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna 1150, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: $22 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Lounge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing