We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Ranked #5 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Bathurst, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good hostel, Great location.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Clean hostel, large rooms and good bathroom.
Awesome bar downstairs with good drink prices.
Just a couple of miniutes walk from shopping area and plenty or bars and restaurants near by.
A great hostel for young people to stay and meet people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesh1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    202
    77
    10
    7
See reviews for
23
128
165
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's right next to the town which is good. The wifi is slow. Friendly and helpful staff. Free towel is a bonus. You get a free drink from the bar. Good atmosphere, clean rooms, free breakfast if you enjoy the continental breakfast style which I don't, would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank 93Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in a private room on the 4th floor and was very impressed with this hostel. We got a great deal for 2 nights & I liked this hostel better than the hotel we stayed in Munich. Very close to Westbanhof and close to restaurants/sights. We felt really safe walking around at night. I haven't stayed in a hostel since college and was apprehensive at first but it was the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed at! The staff was really friendly and helpful and I loved the fact they had a laundry room that was right downstairs! Thanks Wombat's!

Room Tip: Try turkish food down the street :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHolly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I love it and definitely will come back here! It's close to the station Westbahnhof so i guess it's really a good location (you can eat and doing some shopping there!). Arrived at 9 am and im just waiting while relaxing a lil bit! The staffs are so friendly and helpful. Drop my bags at the luggage room and went to Schonbrunn. At 2 pm i came back and my room is ready :-). Stayed at their 4 bed dorms and really had a nice stay! Thanks Wombat's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a lovely stay here, the staff were really friendly and helpful. The place was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good, as was the bar downstairs. The hostel was conveniently located, which made it easy to enjoy Vienna.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wombats Lounge is located quite close to Westbahnhof, the main train station, where the airport bus stops. If you use the right exit to leave Westbahnhof, the hostel lies just a straight 2-minute walk away.

i found the people manning the reception generally quite friendly. Luckily my 8-bedroom dorm was full of quiet people, so no problem sleeping. Room/ensuite bath was average, clean, with lockers, keycard entry. Bed with sheets, blanket & pillow adequate.

Breakfast was extra, but for the price i was satisfied with the filling selection — not the type of hostel that gives you a croissant and coffee and calls it breakfast.

The ground floor has spots for you to sit & chill. As far as i recall, wifi was only available on the ground floor. i would just suggest more charging points for those browsing on their laptops or phones. Bar downstairs which i didn't explore much, but no noise from it reaching my room on the top floor.

On checkout i used the luggage room. If i need a reasonably priced dorm room in Vienna easily accessible by public transport, i would probably end back up @ Wombats Lounge. (i wasn't here for sightseeing on this trip, and i'd say if you must be within walking distance of tourist attractions, then this isn't the place for you. But the city center/touristic areas are about a 10 minute metro ride away).

Room Tip: The upper floors are visited less often by the elevator — i used the lift only when hauling my lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night (after staying in the wombats naschmarket for 3 nights as we couldnt get a double room for the 4 nights) The place is great is it a 2 minute walk from the westbahnhof which is one of the main stations making it very easy to get around Vienna.It feels safe and secure with a key card for all the corridors and a policy on quiet at night,making it easy to sleep at night.The room was fab very clean and spacious,the staff were really friendly and again you can lend pretty much anything you need from reception.The hostel is in a great location for many shops,bars and resturants.
The wombar was great,very friendly staff and a fun atmosphere there were lots of drinks offers and the cocktails were great! you also get a free drinks token on arrival! Really well thought out hostel an all round fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 360 in Vienna
950 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 205 in Vienna
911 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Do Step Inn
#20 of 205 in Vienna
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna 1150, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Lounge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing