We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlike any other Hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Ranked #4 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unlike any other Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in a private room on the 4th floor and was very impressed with this hostel. We got a great deal for 2 nights & I liked this hostel better than the hotel we stayed in Munich. Very close to Westbanhof and close to restaurants/sights. We felt really safe walking around at night. I haven't stayed in a hostel since college and was apprehensive at first but it was the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed at! The staff was really friendly and helpful and I loved the fact they had a laundry room that was right downstairs! Thanks Wombat's!

Room Tip: Try turkish food down the street :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHolly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    193
    69
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
125
154
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I love it and definitely will come back here! It's close to the station Westbahnhof so i guess it's really a good location (you can eat and doing some shopping there!). Arrived at 9 am and im just waiting while relaxing a lil bit! The staffs are so friendly and helpful. Drop my bags at the luggage room and went to Schonbrunn. At 2 pm i came back and my room is ready :-). Stayed at their 4 bed dorms and really had a nice stay! Thanks Wombat's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a lovely stay here, the staff were really friendly and helpful. The place was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good, as was the bar downstairs. The hostel was conveniently located, which made it easy to enjoy Vienna.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wombats Lounge is located quite close to Westbahnhof, the main train station, where the airport bus stops. If you use the right exit to leave Westbahnhof, the hostel lies just a straight 2-minute walk away.

i found the people manning the reception generally quite friendly. Luckily my 8-bedroom dorm was full of quiet people, so no problem sleeping. Room/ensuite bath was average, clean, with lockers, keycard entry. Bed with sheets, blanket & pillow adequate.

Breakfast was extra, but for the price i was satisfied with the filling selection — not the type of hostel that gives you a croissant and coffee and calls it breakfast.

The ground floor has spots for you to sit & chill. As far as i recall, wifi was only available on the ground floor. i would just suggest more charging points for those browsing on their laptops or phones. Bar downstairs which i didn't explore much, but no noise from it reaching my room on the top floor.

On checkout i used the luggage room. If i need a reasonably priced dorm room in Vienna easily accessible by public transport, i would probably end back up @ Wombats Lounge. (i wasn't here for sightseeing on this trip, and i'd say if you must be within walking distance of tourist attractions, then this isn't the place for you. But the city center/touristic areas are about a 10 minute metro ride away).

Room Tip: The upper floors are visited less often by the elevator — i used the lift only when hauling my lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tipu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night (after staying in the wombats naschmarket for 3 nights as we couldnt get a double room for the 4 nights) The place is great is it a 2 minute walk from the westbahnhof which is one of the main stations making it very easy to get around Vienna.It feels safe and secure with a key card for all the corridors and a policy on quiet at night,making it easy to sleep at night.The room was fab very clean and spacious,the staff were really friendly and again you can lend pretty much anything you need from reception.The hostel is in a great location for many shops,bars and resturants.
The wombar was great,very friendly staff and a fun atmosphere there were lots of drinks offers and the cocktails were great! you also get a free drinks token on arrival! Really well thought out hostel an all round fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a pretty decent hostel by any standards. Across from the rail station and metro and not to far of a walk to other part of Vienna. Warm welcome and friendly atmosphere my favourite part about the lobby was the giant bed in the lounge that I used whenever possible. We liked this place especially for the free welcome drink at the bar downstairs! Rooms were ok too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

One of the best things about this hostel is the location – it’s conveniently located at a 5-minute walk from West Bahnhof (West Station) and about 20 minutes walk straight down Mariahilfer Straße to the old square. The rooms are clean and spacious, but don’t expect any Wi-Fi connectivity in the rooms unless you have one right next to the lobby or front desk.

I had booked a private room in Wombats “The Lounge” for 2 nights and needed to stay an extra night. Upon checking with the desk-staff, I was initially told that all rooms were booked, but after some conversation, the person told me that they usually keep one private room as “a spare” in case if someone wants to book at the last minute, which they would not give it to me! Why? “This is inside information and we don’t tell our customers, but you may check at 10am (check out time) to see if the room is available.”

The breakfast menu is elaborate, but unlike other hostels outside of Europe, this is not free! You pay EUR 3.80 at the front desk, get a ticket and hand it over to the lady at the breakfast counter to get the plates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOnTheDollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#20 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna 1150, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Lounge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing