We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Ranked #4 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a really good time here. Very clean, great service, and great breakfast! Felt very safe with the key cards and reception. Clean and modern, with a great bar area! Good location; a stone's throw from the train station and ten minutes walk into the centre. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    194
    69
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
125
155
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Without Wombat Lounge, Vienna would feel a lonelier place. I've been a regular for some years now and I couldn't really picture a trip to Austria without a stay here... be that some 6 hours in between connecting trains or indulging for an entire week in the hustle and bustle the city has to offer.

PROs
- 2 mins walk from the Westbahnhof Station/ U-Bahn and an intersection away from Vienna's liveliest street
- en-suite toilet (+shower) in all of the dorms
- fully equipped kitchen (always highly atmospheric!), 2 huge fridges to store your food in, free pasta & welcome drink
- clean rooms and laundry in the basement
- PC & WiFi access
- free safety lockers (with key card)

CONs
- early check out (but there is a luggage room in the lobby)
- can get quite crowded/ noisy at times

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank nomadinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Despite no air conditioning during a European heat wave Womabt's still doesn't let us down. This did seem like one of the older Wombat's hostels and the rooms and lobby were a little more run down, but still Wombat's is a great value for the money. Perfect for young travelers, really cool basement bar, awesome music playing in the lobby, secure and so close to the train station! Very relaxed and social. Staff is so helpful and friendly. You do need to take a metro to a lot of the sights, but being so close to the train it isn't inconvenient at all.

Room Tip: The first night my friends and I had a 2 bed private which was cozy and clean, not too much space at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights as part of an interrail trip aorund Europe. We really enjoyed our time at this hostel. Staff were friendly, decor was funky and it was well situated. Free wifi in the common areas which were very comfortable and relaxed unlike other hostels we stayed in were the common areas were noisy and crowded. Music from the bar is noisy but it's in the basement so if you request a room on the upper floors you are less likely to be disturbed. Liked the decor in the bar and the bar staff were friendly and welcoming. The only slight downside is that the rooms are a little more basic than some hostels but are clean and comfortable. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nobodycareslikeabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The hostel was perfect!clean, cosy and nicely decorated.free internet was provided, rooms were cleaned everyday and all the people were helpful and nice!it is really worth the money!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for five nights while backpacking through Europe with my wife on our honeymoon and it was excellent to say the least.

Upon checking in we were given a private suite with two single beds. I went down to the front desk and informed the clerk and he was very helpful. He ended up giving us a private room on the top floor (fifth). In my opinion, the top floor is the best place to stay in the hotel largely because it is quiet (you can't really hear the street traffic at all) and provides a nice view of the street below. Plus, the price, which, if I recall, was about 30-35 euro a night! This was for a private double-room with an ensuite!

Overall, the hotel is very clean and well maintained. Our room was very spacious and well kept. Free wi-fi is provided in the cafeteria and lobby area, which was very handy.

I would say the most redeeming quality of Wombats was its helpful, down-to-earth staff. It was raining one day as we were about to leave and the staff loaned us an umbrella to use during the day. It was the small things like this that they constantly thought of.

The meals in the morning were quite satisfying, relatively cheap (under 3 euros), and the best part: you could eat as much as you wanted (buffet-style). Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cereal, an assortment of cut up vegatables, bread, buns, cheese, cold-cut meats, hard-boiled eggs, and coffe and juice. A typical German/Austrian breakfast.

Finally, this hostel is in a great location. We were a little leery that it was too far from the city-centre; however, the old city is easily accessible by foot and by a nearby metro station. Moreover, Wombats is located on a trendy shopping street full of neat little cafes, restaurants, and shops.

I highly recommend staying here. It is well worth the price and the staff and location make it a highly coveted destination!

Room Tip: Try and get a room either on the top floor (quiet & slanted roof windows) or the first floor (yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillFould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Friendly staff, clean and modern accomodations, comfortable bed, fun bar, convinient location and very well priced. I highly recommend this hostel. Is by far the best priced hostel I've been so far.
I stayed in a 8-bed room and it was huge. The private bathroom was big and modern and it worked perfectly.
When visiting Vienna, stay at the Wombats!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracemarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#20 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge"
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 137, Vienna 1150, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL VIENNA "The Lounge" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s The Lounge Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing