We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pension Vera
Nearby Hotels
$123
$116
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$134
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$202
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$202
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Vienna(Vienna)
$152
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$249
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$276
$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$225
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
10
23
25
14
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
23
25
14
16
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 88 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Location was just at the outskirts of Innere Stadt where the city center was located. Hotel was next to the tram and bus line, and a few stops from the metro (subway). Transportation was easy and hotel was probably 15 mins away from the city center.
Safe neighborhood with grocery store, restaurants and small shopping boutiques a few doors away.

A hotel with very limited amenities as to be expected for the price. Tiny room with no body soap, shampoo or conditioner, hairdryer or iron. However, free internet service and decent breakfast made up for the lack of amenities.

Hotel staff is excellent. Very helpful in giving directions and providing tips on restaurants, international calling, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

For the price, location and quality, Pension Vera is unbeatable. I stayed at this pension for four days while traveling through Europe. The pension is located right outside a tram station which can get you to the Metro station “Schottentor” in a few minutes.
Margaret who is the manager of Pension Vera, is one of the nicest people I have ever met. In fact, she was kind enough to let me use their washing machine to do some laundry as there is no Laundromat located near the Pension. The staff there is very helpful and cheerful. The rooms are extremely clean and neat.
I would recommend this pension to travelers wanting to visit Vienna, expecting great quality without needing to pay the Vienna price for it.
Samit

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveler98112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

A 2 star pension. It was spotlessly clean and very quiet-our room was downstairs. Breakfast was more than adequate with excellent coffee.

The owner, Margaret, spoke excellent English and everyone was extremely polite and helpful at all times.

The hotel was easily accessible; tramstops for 43 and 44 were outside the hotel and these were a 2 minute ride to a more central tram or 5 minute walk into the centre.

In all tremendous value for money and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonBuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Hotel wason second floor behind a locked door on Alser Strasse.
Access was not easy and we waited several minutes.
Hotel was poorly signposted inside the buiding but we found a small note inside the lift.
The breakfast was included and was good.
The situation of the hotel was excellent with trams and buses by the front door and several local fairly cheap restaurants.
The main complaints were about the room size and the cool if not unhelpful attutude of the reception staff.
The room was very small. We had ordered a double but it was small even for a single. The bed in the room was jammed against a wall so that I had to crawl over the end to get in. The TV was almost on the ceiling and was very small. The weather was very hot and the room was oppressive to the extent that i got very little sleep.
We had to catch a train on our departure day from one of the other stations in Vienna, the Sud Bahnhof at 6am. Two days beforehand, we asked if a taxi could be ordered for us. This request was refused. We were advised to find the taxi rank in a neighbouring street where a queue of taxis could be found throughout the night. This wasn't true-I checked the next day. Fortunately threre was a bus which went there. We had to find the stop which was not on Alser Strasse but on a street behind it. We got the bus times from the stop and luckily there was an early bus to get us to our station.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vinnieBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

This hotel provides the bare necessities at a reasonable price. The property was renovated within the last year or two, and is maintained very well. The single rooms are small but are clean and feature new furniture. The large rooms (#11 and #12) are spacious and fit a larger group comfortably. Overall, the hotel is small and offers few luxuries, however the rooms are like new and are extremely clean.

Pension Vera is in a great location. There is a tram stop directly in front of the hotel that will take you to Schottentor, where you can transfer to other trams or the underground, or walk over to Stephansplatz (where the famous cathedral is). This is all in the same vicinity as the University of Vienna and not far from Rathaus (city hall). Additionally, the 13A bus passes directly in front of the Pension Vera and goes to Maria Hilfer Strasse, which offers many shopping options (about 4-5 stops).

The best feature of Pension Vera, however, is Margaret and the rest of the staff. Everyone is extremely helpful in answering questions and providing and assistance you may need. The Pension Vera is lucky to have such a wonderful staff.

One word of warning: the Pension Vera locks their doors during the night - do not get locked out as it is not easy to get back in.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews