We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals
Ranked #152 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Tolna
2 reviews
“Short stay for a weekend”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Everything was OK and really nice! (Except one little thing: no possibility to cook or only to store food in a fridge, for a few days this is not a problem, for longer stay may be a bit unconfortable)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Katalin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    54
    69
    43
    28
See reviews for
31
82
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A bit far from city center but you just need to ride one tram to Westbahnhof for about 15 minutes.
Refering to some reviews about this hotel, it's not the spectacular one but later it will depend on your luck and subjective opinion
We got a spacious room for 5 persons with bathroom and toilet inside. It's clean enough and comfortable and so far this was the best price that we could get..
I can't say the receptionist seemed rude cause he just talk as necessary.
There are mini market and restaurant nearby. It's a quiet area and quite live as well.

Room Tip: Some rooms for single or double only have shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Sometimes you just know from looking at the place while walking down the street, that this was going to be gross. Its is technically a hostel, most rooms have a shared bathroom in the hallway but we were fortunate to book a room with a private bathroom. There were three beds in our room and two were pushed together to make a big bed, he third was a really dirty looking mattress and box spring on the floor. The toilet was in a separate room from the bathroom and had a leak so there was mold on the wall and ceiling. Aside from the leak in the WC, the bathroom was clean by comparison and the room itself was large. When booking a 2 star "hotel" on the outskirts of town, you get what you pay for. Given that this was Vienna, it was expensive to other comparable accommodations in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

What I liked: the room for 2 wasn't expensive. The tram station is next to the hotel. The room was big enough. There were everything we needed, and the Internet. What I didn't like: unpleasant smell. The room had it every day we lived there (actually we stayed in the hotel 5 days). And also, there were no room-service for 5 days at all! How is it possible?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ae_idance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel/hostel gives the possibility to park at a reasonable price, but you must reserve your place if you don't want to park in the street (just 6 places are available for the numerous guests). The centre is pretty close, but the neighbourhood is one of the worst in Wien. Our bathroom was really dirty and stinky, but the room was quite good (it could have been cleaner, though).
Next time I will search better before making a reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ale_tuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is ok. If you only need a place to sleep this is a good choice. If you want to feel like a king this is not the right place. Great for young travelers, students and non-demanding guests.

The gentleman at the front desk was not particularly affable but he did his job correctly saying all the important information.
Our room was spacious and the bathroom was also large, but a little cold because of the big space and lack of furniture. We booked a room online and was the same as in the picture. The toilet could be cleaner.
Breakfast costs EUR 5 per person and we were disappointed: cheap salami, some cheese, jam, plain cornflakes, tea and coffee. I stayed in the same category of hotels that offered a much richer and more varied breakfast. In general we paid 119 euros for two nights with breakfast for two.
The hotel is 1 minute from the tram station and with public transport you need 10 minutes to reach the city center).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laraix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Senator Hotel Vienna
Senator Hotel Vienna
#188 of 360 in Vienna
855 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,419 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Wilhelminenberg Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals

Property: Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals
Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 86, Vienna 1170, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Pension Madara 2 - Hotel in Hernals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing