We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class, but very unusual, hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DO & CO Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Ranked #33 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First class, but very unusual, hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Vienna a couple weeks ago (July 2013).

First of all, location - the location is probably the best in all of Vienna, it's right in the middle of the city center, across from St. Stephen’s Cathedral and Stephansplatz. As soon as you exit the hotel you're in the middle of absolutely everything (cafes, shops and more).

This is not your typical 5 star hotel. When we entered the hotel, we were almost sure we came in through a back door entrance or something. Finally we saw a sign printed on a plain white piece of paper: "the reception is located on the 6th floor". So basically, the hotel entrance is on street level, and the rooms levels are UNDER the reception. It's ok, just not a very warm welcome and a bit strange. Especially with no door man or hotel representative greeting you at the entrance.

The lobby is also a bit strange. Most of the floor is occupied by the hotel bar, which is a very busy place at night the "lobby" is surrounded by people who are out clubbing and aren't hotel guests. Also, there is about 1 (one) single chair to sit on at the lobby - so not really a place to relax and have a drink before / after going out. Also, if you call the front desk at night to request something, he might have a hard time hearing you because of the noise from the bar - ANNOYING!

The rooms are VERY nice, modern (Bang & Olufsen TV and cordless phone) and spacious. We were upgraded to a room facing Stephansplatz which is a very busy street. Although our room was on the 3rd floor, you could not hear a thing with the windows closed (important to me since I'm a light sleeper). The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was super clean. Also, the shower is very cool and fun - it's all clear glass in the middle of the room, but you can move a privacy wall to block it if you're uncomfortable. Also, cakes and treats served daily from the famous Cafe Demel in Vienna.

Breakfast was also superb, freshly baked breads, omelets made to order, freshly squeezed juices (orange, banana, grapefruit...).

No fitness center at the hotel, but they gave us free vouchers to a gym about 7 min walking distance.

The service here is first class and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

This is a great hotel, but might not be for everyone. We might look into something more relaxed and traditional if we come back to Vienna.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Stephansplatz - very fun to see all the action up close
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Ayalm,

thanks for your kind review and for having chosen the DO & CO Hotel Vienna during your recent visit in our beautiful city.

Indeed our location is the very best and you can watch all the tourist and business on St. Stephens Square. Due to this we have decided to move the lobby on 6th floor and away from ground floor. We tried to provide our guests the feeling that the check in and move around "above the masses". Of course our doorman crew should be at ground floor opening the door and assisting you with the luggage. It might happen, that they are somewhere around in the hotel doing jobs for guest like parking cars, taking care on the luggage etc.

I truly hope that you will not chose a traditional hotel when you are in Vienna again because where ever you move around in our city, there is tradition anyway. So isn't great being in a unusual contemporary hotel with outstanding service and when ever you look out of the window, you see tradition and history around you?

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Businsess Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    161
    47
    11
    9
See reviews for
83
332
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is as amazing as it looks in the photos. The views of St Stephens are fantastic from the bar and rooftop restaurant. Bedrooms are brilliantly designed, shower excellent, beds comfortable and mini-bar not stupidly expensive! Just expensive! The only negative was the attitude of the staff. Sometime people seem too cool to smile or be polite - well it felt like that here. I think it's a haunt for the uber-cool Viennese and regular folk may feel a little ordinary! Other than that it's excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Ty G!

thanks for taking time to share your expriences you made during your recent stay with us. We feel very happy that you have enjoyed your time with us and we were able to fulfil your exectations. Indeed both our bars (the mini & the maxi bar) in our rooms are very well equipped and not stupidly expensive. We think it makes more sense to sell the mini bar with rates that are worth for you and for us of course.

Please accept my sincere apologise for the attitude of our staff. This is totally not our style. In our hotel everybody is welcome and we treat everybody same. You are our guests and we are your hosts so we need to do our utmost to make you feel happy. This beginns with the greating already because we all know that "you never get a second chance for the first impression".

I truly hope that you will consider the DO & CO Hotel Vienna in the future again and please feel free contacting me personally at any time so I can take care on your reservations.

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I heard of this hotel from a friend and since it was a short trip, I decided to stay there given the fact that it is in the center of the city. I was surprised to notice that the underground station is under the hotel, and the door access is in the same building.
The hotel is just amazing. Room design is quite modern and very elegant. Windows are facing Stephansplatz which provide you with a great view, day and night. Staff are very friendly, and the 6th floor lounge is super.
I had an indecent with laundry, but was surprised with how they reacted and the apology was unbelievable. I found an apology card with a bag filled with chocolates, since the 3rd part laundry company did not pick up the bags on the same day.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick or ask for a room that is facing Stephansplatz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hisham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Hisham,

thanks for your fantastic review.

Indeed it's great having the Underground underneath the hotel. Even tough nearly all major sights are within walking distance you can reach Schönbrunn Castle by underground very easy from us :-)

Please excuse the matter with your laundry. I just had a talk to our front office manager and she confirmed to me again, that the laundry company hasn't picked up your clothes. But I hope the chocolate tastes good :-)

If you plan to visit Vienna again, please feel free contacting me directly at any time and I'll take care on your reservations personally.

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I knew this hotel was centrally located, but that is an understatement. We were met at the airport by a driver who took us to the hotel area. As you cannot drive right up to the hotel, we were met by hotel staff to assist with luggage and direct us to check-in. I was lagging behind because even though it was late at night I had to take some photos. The ground level entry is unassuming, and the front desk is on the 6th floor. Our room on the 4th floor was lovely - small and beautifullly detailed. A lot of thought went into making everything fit beautifully and efficiently. St. Stephen's Cathedral was right outside our window. Service was excellent, and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. It was fantastic having breakfast on the balcony overlooking the plaza. The bar was lively with an incredible view. Staying there was a treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timetobeinspired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic review! We are excited that you had a great time with us and we were able to fullfil all your wishes.

Of course we will share your comments with our entire team!

If you ever plan to visit Vienna again, please feel free contacting me personally at any time and I'll take care on your reservations.

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

DO&CO is one of the best hotels we live. This is one of our favorite hotel in the world. Nice rooms are designed in a delightful style. The staff is pleasant and quite accomodating. There is a good restaurant with delicious cuisine and beautiful view. We stay at the hotel every time when we visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic comments! We feel more than happy that you enjoyed your stays with us and we are always able to fulfil all your expectations set into us!

Please feel free contacting me personally in the future so I may arrange a special rate for you and take care on your reservations personally.

Thanks and see you in Vienna

Michael
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Its one of the best hotels i live , its in the middle of the downtown in front of Cathedral , its have a nice bar and a good restaurant as well , usually i live there when i visit Vienna .

There is one bad thing that there is no enough complementary water in the rooms , and ask the hotel to offer for the guests that thing please .

Room Tip: I prefer Suite .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We feel more than happy that we are your favourite hotel in Vienna.

Indeed our suites are outstanding and very special and we hope to have the chance welcoming you with us soon again.

Please be so kind and let me know directly as soon as you plan to visit Vienna again so I may take care on your reservations personally.

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Right outside of st stephansplatz vienna, center of everywhere. I was going to sightsee with Vienna card and metro. When I got there, seeing the awesome location, I didn't even have to buy any metro ticket, and was able to walk. Mind you the walk was VERY nice too.
Giving the location is in the middle of the sq, it was not noisy at all at night.
Hotel staff was nice and helpful. Room was big (compare to a typical europe hotel), has everything you need, and did I mention the show was a rainfall shower head! To my suprise, they offer turndown service which they give you bottle water and petit chocolate. I don't usually drink water after dinner so I saved the bottle of water for my next day touring. Save some money in buying water.
I am very happy with the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloKitty_KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time sharing your experiences with us. We are more than happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the DO & CO Hotel Vienna. Our aim is to really be different and to suprise our guests. I think we made it with you as you liked the sweets and the free bottle of water at turn down service :-)

Please feel free contacting me personally if you ever plan to return to Vienna so I can take care on your reservations (but we have to find a new suprise for you :-))

Thanks and best regards from sunny Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#34 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#16 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DO & CO Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DO & CO Hotel Vienna

Property: DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Address: Stephansplatz 12 | Haas Haus, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Vienna
#28 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#40 Business Hotel in Vienna
#41 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — DO & CO Hotel Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of Vienna in front of St. Stephens cathedral the DO & CO Hotel is the perfect starting point for your stay. Whether being on a business trip or on holidays the hotel is in walking distance from Vienna’s most famous attractions; the Viennese opera house, the HofburgImperialCastle or the Albertina museum. Shopaholics will find themselves in paradise as our boutique hotel is situated on corner to Graben, Kärntner Strasse and Kohlmarkt.The Design Hotel with its 43 rooms and suites offers round the clock personalised service and plenty of luxurious details to make you feel at home.At the DO & CO Restaurant on the top floor of the building you can enjoy a magnificent view to the cathedral while you indulge yourself with the best tastes of the world.On the 6th floor the ONYX Bar is the perfect location to have an afternoon coffee cup and becomes the hot-spot in town at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your DO & CO Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do And Co Hotel
Do Co Hotel
Do Co Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing