We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another beautiful building in Vienna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathaus

Rathaus
Book In Advance
More Info
$390.00*
and up
Half-Day Private Ringstrasse Project History Tour in Vienna
Ranked #12 of 556 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another beautiful building in Vienna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Vienna is a bit overwhelming in that everywhere you look you are surrounded by immense cathedrals, monuments, palaces and public buildings worthy of a long gawk. The Rathaus is beautifully situated in the center of the historic district, with a park and a plaza. Even if you don't go in, take a few moments to walk past and study yet another example of Vienna's magnificent architecture.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_S_Dunwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,450
    1,223
    185
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This building is huge, and every bit of it is beautiful, the architecture is amazing both inside and out, and the location is very nice as well, it is not exactly in the center but a small walk from it and around it is a small park where you can sit and relax, and during the holidays there's always a festival full of activities and a big crafts and food market, as it was on the national holiday on the 26th of October. I'm not sure if I remember well but few years back when i was in the winter they had an ice-ski ring build right in front of the building as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Remember to checkout the lift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were contemplating whether to go in or not. We are glad that we did. To ride that lift alone was pretty cool.

There are also the usual impressive decor like other state buildings and the little courtyards in the middle.

CoryK

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
191 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of my favorite buildings in Vienna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

There is always a lot going on in front of the rathaus. The building is very impressive in the morning and especially at night. My favorite time to come here is when the christmas market is set up. Truly the best one in Vienna with the most beautiful decorations and lighting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressive gothic building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

you should go at Rathaus twice during your stay in Vienna: once by day and once by night. By night, the building totally transforms itself, being even more astonishing than during the day. Generally, there are lots of events taking place in front of the building, so you won't get bored.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rathaus also viewed

 

Been to Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing