We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel at the city of music!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #5 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
RH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel at the city of music!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Das Tyrol was a wonderful experience for my wife and I, on our 3 day vacation in Vienna. The hotel location is very good, centrally located next to the Museum quarter for culture, next to the best shopping street, next to great restaurants and coffee shops, next to the nice nach-market and very close to a U-bahn (metro) station.
The Hotel itself is also a sensational experience. The staff is polite, very helpful and always smiling. The breakfast buffet is excellent and much more than continental (meats, vegetables, fruits, cheese, eggs, grains, breads, sweets and great coffee or tea. So don't miss that.
The room is convenient, clean and quiet (double glazing where needed) so our stay was a dream.
I did not personally use it, but the hotel also has a beautiful sauna and steam room for guest use.
Definitely a recommended stay!!!
Many thanks to the staff and management for an extraordinary experience.
Benny

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    255
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
218
782
91
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here in April 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Wonderful location in museum district, excellent and friendly service, breakfast extra special - fab Bircher muesli, interesting and appealing artwork, great bedding and very comfortable. Also features a sauna and steam room which you can book privately for an hour. Couldn't have had a better start to our trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah258_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Selected through TP, and not disappointed! Beautifully appointed hotel, helpful attentive staff and lovely rooms. Couldn't have been better really. We've stayed in many places and different types of hotel all over the world. But this is one of the those we will always remember and return to.

The ladies who run the breakfast room are smashing and make sure everything is always perfect. (some of the best soft boiled eggs ever!) They could open this room up as a cafe!!

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed wherever you are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! We were welcomed on arrival and given all the information we needed to get around. The hotel is walking distance to all the major attractions in the middle of the city, plus near some great shops. The staff on reception can never do enough for you. They are wonderful. We had to leave at 4.50am to catch a flight and Christophe made sure we had our boarding passes printed the night before, arranged the lift to the airport, and even arranged for us to have a packed breakfast to take with us, giving us so many choices. It was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble.
Like all the other reviews say, great hotel, great staff, great beds, great breakfast......you can't go wrong. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is an excellent small hotel, ideally placed minutes from the heart of the city. Whilst the rooms are not large they are a good size for a city centre hotel. A key feature was the bathroom which was outstanding. All rooms have newly renovated bathrooms and they have been done to a very high standard. Tea and coffee facilities were provided.
Breakfast was very good indeed, a generous buffet with great choice and the staff were very helpful and efficient.
Front desk staff were great, my German was non existent and fortunately their English was excellent and they kindly booked restaurants on my behalf.
This is a great value city centre hotel, well run and of a very high standard.

Room Tip: Make sure the room you have has the renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Das Tyrol was the find of the century in Vienna. It is located very close to the Museum Quarter and the Hofburg Palace on Mariahilfer Strasse, a good shopping street.
When we arrived, Nadine gave us the warmest, friendliest greeting and marked our maps with all the best to see - and the best Viennese coffee houses!
We had a beautiful, large room overlooking the street. Huge bed with fluffy down comforters, bathrobes and all of the amenities. The bath was great, and the shower/tub worked perfectly. The decor was stylish and tasteful. Even the lighting, which has been rather unsatisfactory in some of our hotels on this trip, was stellar.

Everyone working at at Das Tyrol was friendly and supremely helpful. Charming Christophe gave us excellent restaurant suggestions and even chatted with us and gave us pointers when we ran into him on the Metro. Lajos and Bettina expertly helped us with train info and other important details, and Antonela made breakfast delightful, whipping up fantastic lattes and melanges for us. In fact, breakfast is not to be missed at Das Tyrol. This is a great spread, with fresh fruits, yogurts, cheese and meats, smoked salmon and delicious breads and pastries, plus eggs and omelets to order. A great was to start your day in Vienna.
I highly and enthusiastically recommend Das Tyrol. It's a wonderful small hotel with a great personal touch.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oregoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Das Tyrol has a nondescript exterior a commercial section of Mariahilfer Strasse. However, it's location, clever interior décor, sumptuous breakfasts, and extraordinarily helpful staff, more than make up for things. The hotel is a few minutes stroll from the Hofburg palace complex, major art and natural history museums, and major tram and subway lines. The hotel's walls are lined with original artwork. Our room (for three adults) had a large queen bed and a pull out sofa. It was very comfortable, and had a balcony overlooking the street. Everything was very clean, and the bathroom looked more like a showroom model than a working WC. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee machine, honor bar, and the many luxury amenities (robes, slippers, toiletries) that came with the room. Breakfasts were wonderful - eggs to order, and all manner of meats, cheeses, fruit, cereals, yogurt, and pastries. We want particularly to thank Christophe (we hope we are spelling that correctly) at the front desk. He did everything to help us with our visit and make it truly enjoyable.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#7 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing