We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Little Boutique Hotel, Perfectly Situated for Exploring Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #5 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Great Little Boutique Hotel, Perfectly Situated for Exploring Vienna”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

My wife and I have never been disappointed with a hotel we've researched on Tripadvisor and this small gem is certainly no exception. And, after 15 or so hours of travel with all that it entails in this modern era - endless waiting, cramped airplanes, etc., it is comforting to know that a hotel experience like that provided by Hotel Das Tyrol is waiting at the end of that uncomfortable gauntlet.

We happily stayed there the first weekend of December and couldn't have been more satisfied. Any review I could write would only echo those previously submitted in terms of quality and service. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room and toiletries excellent, the spa a welcome extra, the breakfast plentiful and suited to many tastes, great coffee (why doesn't everyone provide warm cream?), excellent wireless connection, and almost perfectly situated to explore Vienna's many cultural charms. Reliable and easy to use public transportation is close by should you need it to explore areas not within easy walking distance, like the Schönbrunn Palace, for example. I would eagerly choose the Hotel Das Tyrol should I be lucky enough to find myself in Vienna again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you may want to request a room nearer the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    255
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
218
782
91
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

You start by being greeted friendly. The rooms are not so large, but cozy. The area is perfect (museums all around). Breakfast is fantastic. If you need earplugs in the middle of the night - someone will get it. And all that in a not too, but all-you-need-is-this-kind of luxury setting. Oh and then this: try the toilets downstairs. They are a treat!

Room Tip: any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 975manrey975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

A lot of museums in walking distance and really nice restaurants and shops. Staff recommended a nice local restaurant and I enjoyed wonderful dinner in the good mood. Very friendly and kind to any services.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

When travelling its great to stay in a hotel as good or better than your own home and this hotel fitted for us! It's well located with a luxury bed and pillows, bathroom was a bit tight with a nasty step out of the shower but otherwise well appointed. The staff are very professional, keep to themselves but very helpful if you ask. Breakfast is amazing, there is nothing left wanting here, champagne included if you desire. The steam room and sauna area is amazing, we couldn't believe how well we felt after a daily session in there over our 4 day stay, after 4 weeks travelling, this was a perfect remedy! The location is excellent, we recommend this hotel highly!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kanwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great location, very helpful staff, especially those on the front desk. Rooms were on the small size, but very comfortable and the location of the hotel was very central, yet quiet. Close to all the sights.

Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The front desk staff were very helpful in helping us sort out restaurants in a very busy city.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyra969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan,Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great location, close to museums and walking distance to Spittelberg area where you will find many small nice restaurants and small shops. The hotel has a great staff, very friendly and helpful. As many European small hotels go, the rooms, though nice, are somewhat small. After our first night we requested a change to a larger room and a firmer bed (two twin size beds side by side). (Not much larger, but more comfortable). Breakfast was good, quite a large selection and good coffee. Altogether it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megustaviajar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nice hotel and the staff was great including all of the wonderfully helpful front desk staff. The hotel includes a full breakfast which is fantastic and most of the time it was great. However there was one person that worked in the breakfast room (dark hair and glasses) that rude,short and we characterized as being the B word. It's unfortunate that this woman was a stain on what is a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Ramsbacher, Inhaber at Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Merrja,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us have your comments after your stay at The Tyrol in Vienna.
We highly value positive feedback and constructive criticism. Thank you very much for your kind feedback on our staff and breakfast!
The dark hair lady with glasses at breakfast service you mentioned is a lady, who did a temporary job and will not be rehired again. We are awfully sorry that your breakfast was not as relaxing and delightfull as it could and should be at our hotel.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you soon again at The Tyrol.

With kind regards,
Helena Ramsbacher, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#7 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing