We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #5 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Kensington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel was lovely from the room, decor, breakfast to the helpful and kind personnel. We had a very quiet corner room, facing the back two small streets with NO noise. The breakfast was amazing with a great selection and even eggs cooked to order, if desired. The Room decor and amenities were perfect. I love having the Nepresso machine in the room. The public rooms and hallways were decorated in a whimsical, but tasteful fashion. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: When you reserve please designate NON smoking if you desire. the corner rooms and upper floors are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    253
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
212
768
90
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I love some hotel chains but I love boutique hotels even more. Das Tyrol is one of the best of the boutiques! Its location is spectacular right near the Museum Quarter, Kunst, Hofburg, shopping, etc., etc. The rooms are comfortable and filled with all basic amenities as well as original art. The breakfasts are substantial and served in a sun filled room that is also an art gallery filled with contemporary treasures. The lift/elevator has probably one of the oldest and most charming "cages" in all of Vienna. And the sweet staff surpasses the variety of treats left on the pillow each day. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. However, if you are looking to be "royalty" you might want to go to a less intimate establishment where they will take your bags and pamper you in a number of superficial ways. For me, my heart is at Das Tyrol, an engaging hotel filled with treasures and that includes Bethne, Catherine, the owner and everyone else! Thank you all for being nothing less than delightful!

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room but the windows are among the best made and cut down on noise. Single rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The staff are so helpful and the rooms are decorated with such artistic thought and care. It is close to the centre of town without being in the bustle. It has a sauna and steam room and the most fantastic bathroom I have ever seen. The breakfast was excellent and can only highly recommend Das Tyrol. While we waited for our taxi to take us to the train station we were offered a complimentary glass of wine while we waited which was very nice. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: WE had a corner front room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri1Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Beautiful place, small enough to be cosy, contemporary decor with lovely art work all over, attractive lobby, cheerful and very helpful staff, spacious rooms with modern furnishings, excellent breakfast - what more can one ask for? Location: perfect in terms of proximity to the biggest collection of museums, the Museums Quartier, which is a 5-minute walk, and close to subway, trams, buses. In Vienna's commecial area on a quiet side street, with cafes, restaurants, ATM, shops all around - lively surroundings. Well worth the price. GAUTAM & JEAN SHAH, CO/MA USA.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEAN-GAUTAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had 4 nights in Vienna and were delighted with this place. Within walking distance to most historical sites,museums,galleries,opera and easy access to public transport to the others, this hotel is great. Rooms are compact but very adequate, clean (as is all of Vienna!) and quiet (sound sleep assured) . The breakfast room provides a great start to the day with a full array of offerings to suit all tastes. The public spaces of the hotel are also very tastefully decorated with original art work. Most importantly the staff are cheerful, efficient and happy to help with any request regarding bookings for restaurants, attractions etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This was a wonderful hotel. The staff was so helpful and friendly. We very much appreciated the assistance of the front desk person, Nadine, who was very helpful. She was always there to help. The rooms are decorated beautifully and clean. The breakfast was nice as well. We loved the use of the sauna which provided a nice way to relax after a long day of sightseeing in chilly Vienna. Would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v2000f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I traveled with both of our older parents and stayed for 4 nights here. We all enjoyed the stay. Nice staff and breakfast was very good. The room is small but all the details make a difference and it's very clean...all made the room very comfortable. Location is a plus, close to most palace, metro station and makes it very easy to go around in Vienna. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alixier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,299 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
2,034 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing